Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Test Prep

Best Accuplacer Study Guide for Self Study (2026): 4 Compared

Four ACCUPLACER study guides compared by section coverage, practice tests, online study tools and edition date, for self-paced placement test prep.

Best Accuplacer Study Guide for Self Study (2026): 4 Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

A placement test can decide whether a student starts in college-level courses or in classes that do not count toward a degree, so choosing the best accuplacer study guide for self study carries real weight. We compared four guides by coverage, practice material, online tools and edition date.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • ACCUPLACER by NS Publications
    Best Overall ACCUPLACER by NS Publications: Newest edition, with online simulations, 3,600+ questions and flashcards. Check price on Amazon
  • ACCUPLACER by Miller Test Prep
    Best Comprehensive Pick ACCUPLACER by Miller Test Prep: 291 pages covering every section, with detailed answer explanations. Check price on Amazon
  • ACCUPLACER Secrets by Mometrix
    Best Video Support ACCUPLACER Secrets by Mometrix: Video tutorials plus practice questions with in-depth explanations. Check price on Amazon
  • ACCUPLACER Math by TPB
    Best Math-Only Pick ACCUPLACER Math by TPB: Focused math review with two practice tests and answer explanations. Check price on Amazon

The picks

ACCUPLACER by NS Publications

ACCUPLACER by NS Publications

NS Publications9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 2026 guide for self-starters: no-fluff review plus online simulations, questions and flashcards.

Pros

  • Published April 25, 2026, the newest edition here
  • Online simulations, 3,600+ questions and 1,400 flashcards stated
  • Covers reading, writing and math with exam-style practice

Cons

  • 202 pages, the shortest full guide here
  • Online tools need a purchase; no standalone answer key described
  • No practice test count stated for the book
ACCUPLACER by Miller Test Prep

ACCUPLACER by Miller Test Prep

ACCUPLACER Study Guide Team9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 291-page all-section guide with worked examples and detailed answer explanations.

Pros

  • 291 pages covering all ACCUPLACER sections
  • Detailed answer key explanations stated
  • Step-by-step examples for every concept

Cons

  • Says 2026-2027 but published November 18, 2019
  • No online resources or video support stated
  • No practice test count stated
ACCUPLACER Secrets by Mometrix

ACCUPLACER Secrets by Mometrix

ACCUPLACER Exam Secrets Test Prep Staff9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A secrets-style guide with video tutorials and detailed answer explanations.

Pros

  • Step-by-step video tutorials included
  • Practice questions with detailed answer explanations
  • Covers arithmetic, algebra, math, reading, sentence skills

Cons

  • Published March 15, 2016, the oldest edition here
  • 212 pages, shorter than the Miller guide
  • No online question bank stated
ACCUPLACER Math by TPB

ACCUPLACER Math by TPB

TPB Publishing9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A math-only 2nd edition with two practice tests for focused math prep.

Pros

  • Math-only: arithmetic, reasoning, algebra, statistics
  • Two practice tests with detailed answer explanations
  • 2nd edition, published November 23, 2020

Cons

  • Math only; no reading or writing review
  • No video or online resources stated
  • Older than the NS Publications guide

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • ACCUPLACER Math by Test Prep BooksACCUPLACER Math by Test Prep BooksMath-only review with practice questions and answer explanations.Check on Amazon
  • ACCUPLACER Study Guide by OpenfieldACCUPLACER Study Guide by Openfield2026-2027 guide with 310 questions and 2 full-length exams.Check on Amazon
  • ACCUPLACER Study Guide by MorrisonACCUPLACER Study Guide by Morrison9th edition with 30 practice tests and an online exam simulator.Check on Amazon
  • ACCUPLACER Study Guide 2025-2026ACCUPLACER Study Guide 2025-20263rd edition with 8 full-length practice tests and 250+ video tutorials.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Published Practice tests Amazon
ACCUPLACER by NS Publications 9.7/10 NS Publications 202 April 25, 2026 Unlimited online simulations View on Amazon
ACCUPLACER by Miller Test Prep 9.6/10 ACCUPLACER Study Guide Team 291 November 18, 2019 Not stated View on Amazon
ACCUPLACER Secrets by Mometrix 9.5/10 Mometrix 212 March 15, 2016 Not stated View on Amazon
ACCUPLACER Math by TPB 9.5/10 TPB Publishing 213 November 23, 2020 2 View on Amazon

Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where given. None of the four lists a reading age or grade level, so that part scores zero. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
ACCUPLACER by NS Publications 9.7 32 21 20 n/a
ACCUPLACER by Miller Test Prep 9.6 30 18 20 n/a
ACCUPLACER Secrets by Mometrix 9.5 29 16 19 n/a
ACCUPLACER Math by TPB 9.5 26 18 18 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best accuplacer study guide for self study

Match the edition to the exam

The NS Publications guide is the newest, published April 25, 2026; the Mometrix guide dates to 2016 and the Miller guide says 2026-2027 but was published in 2019. Our college admission test prep guides apply the same edition check to SAT and ACT books.

Count the practice material

NS Publications lists online simulations, 3,600+ questions and 1,400 flashcards; Mometrix lists video tutorials and TPB includes two practice tests. For weak math, add drills from our ACT math study guide picks.

All sections or math only

Three guides cover every section; the TPB guide covers math only. Pick it only if the other sections are solid.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition year: the Miller guide says 2026-2027 but was published in 2019.
  • Check answer explanations: Miller, Mometrix and TPB state detailed answer explanations.
  • All-section or math-only: only the TPB guide is math-only.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which guide is the newest?

NS Publications, published April 25, 2026; the Miller guide says 2026-2027 but was published in 2019.

Which guides include online practice?

NS Publications lists online simulations, 3,600+ questions and 1,400 flashcards, and Mometrix lists video tutorials.

Is there a math-only guide?

Yes, the TPB Publishing guide, with two practice tests; the other three cover all sections.

ACCUPLACER by NS Publications
Still deciding? Our top pickACCUPLACER by NS Publications
Check price on Amazon

See every test prep list.

More lists: ACT math study guides, GED test study guides, MCAT books for self study, graduate test prep.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best LSAT Books for College Students?

    Five LSAT books for college students compared by section coverage, practice questions, page count and edition date, from a Logical Reasoning bible to a simple approach.

  2. What is the best Phlebotomy Book for Self Study?

    Textbooks, a study guide, a workbook and quick-reference guides for phlebotomy self study compared by pages, practice questions, exams and edition.

  3. What is the best PMP Exam Book for IT Project Managers?

    Four PMP exam guides for IT project managers compared by mock exams, question banks, study plans and online tools, from current July 2026 editions to a…

  4. What are the best Clep History Books for College Credit?

    Four REA CLEP prep books compared by fit, contents, value and listed reading level, from a history volume to government, composition and biology.