Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Test Prep

Best MCAT Books for Self Study (2026): 5 Compared

MCAT self-study books compared by books included, practice questions and full-length tests, from all-in-one systems to practice banks.

Best MCAT Books for Self Study (2026): 5 Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Studying for the MCAT alone takes structure, and the best mcat books for self study give that structure on the page. This list compares prep books by what each listing actually states: books included, practice questions, full-length tests and publication date. Self-studiers get all-in-one systems, content review sets and practice banks to build around.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Kaplan Self-Study Toolkit
    Best Overall Kaplan Self-Study Toolkit: 7-book set with 3,000+ Qbank questions and 6 practice tests. Check price on Amazon
  • Kaplan 7-Book Review
    Best Content Review Kaplan 7-Book Review: 7-book review with 3 tests and 5,500+ practice questions. Check price on Amazon
  • AureliusMind QBank
    Best Practice Bank AureliusMind QBank: Full-length exams in the book with detailed explanations. Check price on Amazon
  • MCAT Exam Prep: LuxMentis
    Best All-in-One LuxMentis MCAT Prep: Complete guide with 5 practice exams and 1000+ questions. Check price on Amazon
  • MCAT Prep: Quantum Prep
    Best Explanations Quantum MCAT Prep: Step-by-step explanations with full-length practice exams. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Kaplan Self-Study Toolkit

Kaplan Self-Study Toolkit

Kaplan Test Prep9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Suits self-studiers wanting books, Qbank and tests in one system; buyers wanting a single book should skip it.

Pros

  • The listing states a 7-book set with a 3,000+ question Qbank and 6 full-length practice tests.
  • 500+ new full-color science images and an all-new CARS book, per the listing.
  • 12-month online access with interactive eBooks and a flashcard builder.

Cons

  • The listing states no reading age or skill level.
  • Online access expires after 12 months, per the listing.
  • The listing states 3596 pages, a heavy load for short timelines.
Kaplan 7-Book Review

Kaplan 7-Book Review

Kaplan Test Prep9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Suits self-studiers wanting full content review with online tests; Qbank-focused buyers should skip it.

Pros

  • The listing states a complete 7-book subject review with 3 full-length online practice tests.
  • Over 5,500 total practice questions with High-Yield Badges and concept summaries.
  • 12 months of online access with interactive eBooks.

Cons

  • The listing states no reading age or skill level.
  • Online access expires after 12 months, per the listing.
  • The 2027-2028 Toolkit is a newer edition from the same maker.
AureliusMind QBank

AureliusMind QBank

AureliusMind Press9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Suits self-studiers who learn by doing full-length exams; content-review seekers should skip it.

Pros

  • The listing states real full-length exams printed inside the book, no downloads required.
  • Thousands of practice questions with detailed explanations.
  • A downloadable 7-in-1 study guide with 600+ pages of theory is included, per the listing.

Cons

  • The listing states no reading age or skill level.
  • Practice-focused, so content review lives mostly in the downloadable guide.
  • The listing states no total question count beyond thousands.
MCAT Exam Prep: LuxMentis

MCAT Exam Prep: LuxMentis

LuxMentis Press9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

The LuxMentis Press MCAT Exam Prep all-in-one guide, 587 pages with 5 full-length practice exams and 1000+ questions with explanations.

Pros

  • 5 full-length practice exams
  • One volume, 587 pages
  • High-yield topics strategy

Cons

  • Fewer questions than Kaplan
  • February 2025 edition
  • Independent press, smaller name
MCAT Prep: Quantum Prep

MCAT Prep: Quantum Prep

Quantum Prep Publishing9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

The Quantum Prep Publishing MCAT prep book, 373 pages with full-length practice exams and step-by-step explanations, published December 2025.

Pros

  • Reasoning-first approach stated
  • Step-by-step explanations
  • Recent, December 2025

Cons

  • Thinnest book here, 373 pages
  • Question count not stated
  • Independent publisher

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Preston Masterprep MCATPreston Masterprep MCAT3,000+ questions and 10 full-length tests with a study plan.Check on Amazon
  • Examkrackers MCAT PackageExamkrackers MCAT Package7 books, 3 full-length tests and 44 mini-MCATs.Check on Amazon
  • Ultimate MCAT MasteryUltimate MCAT Mastery8 books with 7 practice tests for 2025-2026.Check on Amazon
  • Mometrix MCAT 8-Book SetMometrix MCAT 8-Book Set8 books, 3 tests and 150+ video tutorials.Check on Amazon
  • Princeton Review MCAT SetPrinceton Review MCAT Set7 books and 3 online tests, 5th edition.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Practice tests Published Amazon
Kaplan Self-Study Toolkit 9.8/10 Kaplan Test Prep 3596 6 July 14, 2026 View on Amazon
Kaplan 7-Book Review 9.7/10 Kaplan Test Prep 3596 3 July 8, 2025 View on Amazon
AureliusMind QBank 9.6/10 AureliusMind Press 359 Not stated November 21, 2025 View on Amazon
LuxMentis MCAT Prep 9.5/10 LuxMentis Press Not stated 5 Not stated
Quantum MCAT Prep 9.4/10 Quantum Prep Publishing Not stated Not stated Not stated

Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. None of the picks states a reading age, so the level score stayed at zero across the list. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Kaplan Self-Study Toolkit 9.8 33 24 22 n/a
Kaplan 7-Book Review 9.7 32 21 21 n/a
AureliusMind QBank 9.6 28 19 19 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best mcat books for self study

Pick the system: books, Qbank or both

The Kaplan Toolkit bundles a 7-book set with a 3,000+ question Qbank and 6 full-length tests, while the AureliusMind book puts full-length exams in print with no downloads. The Kaplan 7-book review focuses on content with 3 online tests. For the broader category, the best MCAT books list covers more options.

Count the practice tests

The listings state 6 tests for the Kaplan Toolkit, 5 for the LuxMentis guide and 3 for the Kaplan 7-book review, with 10 more in the Preston Masterprep more-option. Match the test count to the study timeline, since each full-length test takes a full day. Self-studiers in other fields can see the same approach in the AP psychology prep book for self study list.

Check the edition date

The Toolkit is dated July 14, 2026 and the 7-book review July 8, 2025, so the Toolkit is the newer edition from the same maker. The AureliusMind book is dated November 21, 2025. A newer edition tracks the latest AAMC outline changes.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition on the listing: the Kaplan Toolkit is the 2027-2028 edition and the 7-book review is the 2026-2027 edition.
  • Confirm how tests are delivered: online with 12-month access for the Kaplan sets, printed in the book for the AureliusMind bank.
  • Compare the stated contents: 7-book sets against single-book guides, and note which listings state a question count.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many full-length practice tests do the picks include?

The listings state 6 for the Kaplan Toolkit, 5 for the LuxMentis guide and 3 for the Kaplan 7-book review.

Which book lists the most practice questions?

The Kaplan listings state over 5,500 total practice questions and a 3,000+ question Qbank.

Do the listings state answer explanations?

The Kaplan Toolkit listing states detailed rationales for every question, and the AureliusMind listing states detailed explanations.

Kaplan Self-Study Toolkit
Still deciding? Our top pickKaplan Self-Study Toolkit
Check price on Amazon

See every Graduate Test Prep list and all Test Prep lists.

More lists: MCAT books, AP psychology prep for self study, CompTIA A+ study guide, CISSP books.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best LSAT Books for College Students?

    Five LSAT books for college students compared by section coverage, practice questions, page count and edition date, from a Logical Reasoning bible to a simple approach.

  2. What is the best Phlebotomy Book for Self Study?

    Textbooks, a study guide, a workbook and quick-reference guides for phlebotomy self study compared by pages, practice questions, exams and edition.

  3. What is the best PMP Exam Book for IT Project Managers?

    Four PMP exam guides for IT project managers compared by mock exams, question banks, study plans and online tools, from current July 2026 editions to a…

  4. What are the best Clep History Books for College Credit?

    Four REA CLEP prep books compared by fit, contents, value and listed reading level, from a history volume to government, composition and biology.