Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

How We Pick

This page explains how ShelfAnswers builds a book list, and just as importantly, what our process does not include. Read it before you trust anything else on this site.

What our process is

Our lists are research based. For every book we consider, we work through the publisher listing: title and author, edition and publication date, page count, formats on offer, reading age or grade level, series position and the description of what is inside. For test prep and workbooks we also note the number of practice tests or pages of practice, whether answers come with explanations, and whether an answer key is included or sold separately.

We then compare each book against the reader the list is written for. A list of chapter books for a seven year old is judged differently from a list of GRE prep books for someone with eight weeks to study.

What our process is not

We do not claim to have read every book on every list, and we do not run our own reading trials. When you read that a book has 320 pages, a grade level of 3 to 7 or three full practice tests, that detail comes from the retailer listing, and we label it that way. Where a listing does not state something, we write “not stated” rather than guess.

The Shelf Score

Every book we recommend carries a Shelf Score from 0 to 10. The same criteria apply to every book on a list, and the points are fixed and published here. The score is the share of available points a book earns, shown on a 10 point scale.

Criterion Points What it covers
Fit 35 How directly the book serves the reader or goal of the list, judged from the title, description, stated audience and level: the right genre and tone for a fiction list, the right age band for a kids list, the right exam and section coverage for a test prep list.
Contents and edition 25 What the listing says is inside: page count, illustrations, practice tests, answer explanations, answer keys, glossaries and online extras, and whether the edition is current for books that change between editions.
Value 25 How much the book gives for its format: a box set against single volumes, practice volume against page count, and whether you will need to buy a companion book such as a separate answer key or teacher guide.
Reading age or level 10 Whether the listing gives a grade level, reading age or skill level that matches the list. Amazon often marks the reading age as coming from customers, and we say so when it does. This counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero here, because a buyer cannot compare what is not stated. On a list where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points.

Books do not carry a warranty, so warranty is not part of the Shelf Score. So a list is scored over 95 points when the reading age or level counts, and over 85 points when it does not.

How we choose which books to include

We start from books that are in print and available to buy in the United States, then narrow the list to the ones that best fit the reader. Each list uses its own set of books where possible. A list of six books we can explain is more useful than a list of thirty.

Reading ages and sensitive content

A listed reading age or grade level describes the level a book is aimed at. It does not say whether a book suits a particular child. Our Reading Age Disclaimer explains how to use these ages.

Updates and corrections

Editions change, especially for test prep. Every article shows the date it was last updated, and we revisit a list when a new edition or a new book in a series appears. If you find something wrong, write to [email protected]. Our approach to accuracy and sourcing is in the Editorial Policy.