Best Study Guide for GED Test (2026): 6 Books Compared
Six GED study guides compared by edition date, practice tests and video support, for adults who want one book that covers every subject.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
If your GED test date is set, the best study guide for ged test covers every subject and gives you enough practice for the real exam. We compared six books for adult learners and GED retakers by edition date, practice tests and online support.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall GED Test Prep by Kaplan: Built for adult learners, with two full-length tests and 40+ video lessons Check price on Amazon
Best for Listening GED Study Guide by Newstone: Audiobook reads each question and explanation, with 10 full-length exams in the title Check price on Amazon
Best for Practice Volume GED Exam Prep by Horizon: 50 full-length practice tests and a February 2026 publication date Check price on Amazon
Best for Video Lessons GED Study Guide by Bowling: Over 300 video tutorials, three practice tests and end-of-chapter quizzes Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | GED Test Prep by Kaplan | 9.8/10 | Buy |
| 2 | GED Study Guide by Newstone | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 3 | GED Study Guide by Bowling | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 4 | GED Exam Prep by Horizon | 9.7/10 | Buy |

GED Test Prep by Kaplan
Suits an adult learner who wants one book with a pretest, practice tests and video lessons.
Pros
- Two full-length practice tests, one in the book and one online with scored feedback
- Opens with a diagnostic pretest to plan study across all GED test areas
- 40+ online video lessons and a TI-30XS MultiView calculator walkthrough
Cons
- States alignment with current GED objectives, which is the publisher's claim
- Two practice tests is fewer than the three or more in other picks here
- The description mentions a refund, but the listing does not state its terms

GED Study Guide by Newstone
Suits a listener who wants a long review and many full-length exams in one bundle.
Pros
- Audiobook of about 11 hours reads each question, then the answer and explanation
- Published September 5, 2025, with 1700+ questions and extra weekly tests
- Online exam simulator lets you hide the timer or view one question at a time
Cons
- Title lists 10 full-length exams, but the description counts 15 complete exams
- Some bonus content unlocks by scanning a QR code inside the book
- The description links to a 2023-2024 edition, so confirm you are buying the 2025 version

GED Study Guide by Bowling
Suits a reader who wants every subject explained in detail, with several practice tests and many videos.
Pros
- Covers all four GED subject areas with examples the description calls step-by-step
- Over 300 video tutorials aimed at difficult concepts
- Three practice tests, one printed in the book and two online
Cons
- Published September 14, 2024, older than the 2025 editions in this list
- The listing does not state a question count
- The printed guide has one practice test, so most practice happens online

GED Exam Prep by Horizon
Suits an adult out of school for years who needs heavy math practice and many practice tests.
Pros
- Lists 50 full-length practice tests, the most of the four scored picks
- Math section starts from fractions and builds to algebra, per the description
- Published February 28, 2026, the newest of the four scored picks
Cons
- Title says 'All 4 Subjects in 2 Weeks', but the description offers plans of 30 to 90 days
- Video lessons, e-cards and practice tests come through a code in the paperback
- Says it is updated for the current GED format, which is the publisher's claim
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
GED Test Prep by CollinsFor new GED readers who want study plans and three online practice tests.Check on Amazon
GED Study Guide 2026-2027 by KingsFor adults and ESL students who want many practice questions with step-by-step answer explanations.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Published | Pages | Practice tests | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GED Test Prep by Kaplan | 9.8/10 | December 2, 2025 | 780 | 2 | Check price |
| GED Study Guide by Newstone | 9.7/10 | September 5, 2025 | 310 | 15 per description | Check price |
| GED Study Guide by Bowling | 9.7/10 | September 14, 2024 | 439 | 3 | Check price |
| GED Exam Prep by Horizon | 9.7/10 | February 28, 2026 | 268 | 50 | Check price |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and any listed reading level. None of the four scored picks lists a reading age or grade level, so that part is zero for each, and the two more options are unscored. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GED Test Prep by Kaplan | 9.8 | 32 | 22 | 21 | n/a |
| GED Study Guide by Newstone | 9.7 | 29 | 22 | 22 | n/a |
| GED Study Guide by Bowling | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 22 | n/a |
| GED Exam Prep by Horizon | 9.7 | 29 | 22 | 20 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best study guide for ged test
Check the edition date first
The scored picks range from a September 14, 2024 publication to a February 28, 2026 one, so compare the listing’s date with the edition named in its title. A newer date helps only if the contents match your plan.
Match practice volume to your timeline
Kaplan lists two full-length tests, while the Horizon listing names 50. A reader with a few weeks may prefer a book with a pretest and a plan over one with many tests to work through. Browse all test prep books for other exam types.
Pick print, audio or video
Newstone’s audiobook reads each question and explanation aloud, which suits a listener. Mometrix lists over 300 video tutorials for a reader who wants concepts shown on screen. Readers preparing for a licensing exam rather than the GED can compare certification exam prep.
Before you buy
- Check the edition year and publication date on the listing against the dates shown here.
- Confirm whether practice tests or videos need a code or QR scan, as the Horizon and Newstone listings state.
- Confirm how many practice tests are printed and how many are online, since the Mometrix listing has one printed and two online.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which edition should I buy?
Choose the newest edition whose contents match your plan. Kaplan’s listing names a Tenth Edition published December 2, 2025.
Does a GED guide include an answer key?
The scored picks describe explanations for practice answers, but none states a separate answer key. Check the contents on the listing before you buy.
Is 1000+ questions enough to prepare?
Question counts run from 1000+ in the Kaplan listing to 4000+ in the Horizon listing. A count does not show how clearly a book explains each answer, so compare how each listing describes its explanations.
Related lists
See every college admission test prep list and all Test Prep lists.
More lists: SAT prep books, GRE verbal books and ASVAB books for Army.