Best Phlebotomy Book for Self Study (2026): 5 Compared
Textbooks, a study guide, a workbook and quick-reference guides for phlebotomy self study compared by pages, practice questions, exams and edition.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Studying for a phlebotomy certification on your own means picking a book that teaches the procedures and drills the exam, and the best phlebotomy book for self study is the one that matches how you learn. We compared textbooks, a study guide, a workbook and quick-reference guides by pages, practice questions, exams and edition, using only what each listing publishes.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall NHA Phlebotomy by Newstone: 3600 questions, 30 full-length exams and a 305 page review Check price on Amazon
Best Textbook Phlebotomy Essentials by McCall: 516 page 8th edition text for procedures, theory and certification Check price on Amazon
Best Workbook Student Workbook by McCall: 352 page companion with chapter exercises and skills logs Check price on Amazon
Quick Reference Phlebotomy Guide by Almquist: Laminated quick-reference guide for fast review Check price on Amazon
Pocket Guide Phlebotomy Notes by Strasinger: Pocket guide to blood collection for quick checks Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | NHA Phlebotomy by Newstone | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Phlebotomy Essentials by McCall | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Student Workbook by McCall | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Phlebotomy Notes by Strasinger | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Phlebotomy by Almquist | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

NHA Phlebotomy by Newstone
A 2026-2027 NHA CPT study guide with a 305 page review, 3600 questions and 30 exams.
Pros
- 3600 questions with detailed answer explanations
- 30 full-length exams plus an online exam simulator
- 305 page review and 700 digital flashcards
Cons
- Shorter review than the textbook at 305 pages
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- Answer extras need a code inside the book

Phlebotomy Essentials by McCall
An 8th edition phlebotomy textbook with 516 pages of procedures, techniques and theory.
Pros
- 516 pages covering procedures, techniques and theory
- Text or reference for certification study
- New images and expert contributions in the 8th edition
Cons
- No practice exams are listed
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- 8th edition from August 2023, not the newest year

Student Workbook by McCall
A 352 page workbook companion to Phlebotomy Essentials with chapter exercises and skills logs.
Pros
- Chapter exercises reinforcing the textbook
- Realistic scenarios, skills logs and assessment tools
- Key terms matching, review questions and crosswords
Cons
- Companion to the textbook, not a standalone study guide
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- 8th edition from August 2023, not the newest year

Phlebotomy Notes by Strasinger
A 216-page pocket-sized reference on phlebotomy techniques with photos and illustrations, suited to students on clinical rotations who need a quick guide.
Pros
- Pocket-sized with write-on, wipe-off pages
- Step-by-step procedures with photos and illustrations
- Second edition from medical publisher F.A. Davis Company
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- December 19, 2019 edition is the oldest of the four
- No practice tests or question counts are stated

Phlebotomy by Almquist
A 6-page laminated quick-reference on phlebotomy procedures and tube order, suited to students who want a durable chart for fast look-ups.
Pros
- Laminated card stock for durability
- Covers order of draw and tube color-coding
- Published May 1, 2025
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- Six pages cover only the essentials
- No practice questions are listed
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Hartman's Complete GuideSecond edition guide for entry-level phlebotomy technician courses and certification.Check on Amazon
Workbook for Hartman's Complete GuideWorkbook with chapter activities, skills checklists, practice exam; answer key for instructors only.Check on Amazon
NHA Study Guide by Clinical BridgeNHA CPT prep book with exam-style questions and full-length practice tests.Check on Amazon
NHA Phlebotomy Visual Cheat SheetsColor-coded charts, step-by-step procedures and practice questions for exam study.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NHA Phlebotomy by Newstone | 9.8/10 | Newstone Test Prep | 305 | View on Amazon |
| Phlebotomy Essentials by McCall | 9.7/10 | Ruth E. McCall | 516 | View on Amazon |
| Student Workbook by McCall | 9.7/10 | Ruth E. McCall | 352 | View on Amazon |
| Phlebotomy Guide by Almquist | 9.7/10 | Kathryn Almquist | Not stated | |
| Phlebotomy Notes by Strasinger | 9.7/10 | Susan King Strasinger | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and reading age or level where given. None list a reading age or grade level. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NHA Phlebotomy by Newstone | 9.8 | 32 | 22 | 22 | n/a |
| Phlebotomy Essentials by McCall | 9.7 | 30 | 22 | 21 | n/a |
| Student Workbook by McCall | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best phlebotomy book for self study
Textbook or study guide
The McCall Essentials text covers procedures and theory in 516 pages as an 8th edition, while the Newstone guide gives a 305 page review for the NHA CPT exam. The Student Workbook pairs with the Essentials text.
Practice volume
The Newstone guide lists 3600 questions, 30 full-length exams, 700 digital flashcards, 13 video lessons, an audiobook and a simulator. The Essentials text and workbook offer chapter review questions instead. For beginner guides, see the best phlebotomy study guide for beginners.
Edition and date
The Newstone guide is the 2026-2027 version from February 18, 2026, while the McCall books are 8th editions from August 2023. Match the edition to your exam. For another self-study guide, see the best hesi book for self study.
Before you buy
- Check the edition: Newstone is the 2026-2027 version; the McCall books are 8th editions from August 2023.
- Check the book type: the Student Workbook pairs with Phlebotomy Essentials, Eighth Edition.
- Check practice extras: the Newstone guide lists an audiobook, simulator access and flashcards by code.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which book should I start with for self study?
Start with the Newstone guide for exam practice, with 3600 questions and 30 exams, or with Phlebotomy Essentials for procedures and theory.
Do I need the workbook too?
The Student Workbook pairs with Phlebotomy Essentials, Eighth Edition, for chapter exercises and skills logs.
Is there an answer key?
The Newstone guide includes detailed answer explanations; the other listings do not state an answer key.
Related lists
See every licensing and certification list and all test prep lists.
More lists: browse college admission test prep, graduate test prep and licensing and certification.