Best ACT Math Study Guide (2026): 4 Picks Compared
Four ACT math study guides compared by page count, practice exams, math topics and calculator guidance, from 241-page math focus to 422-page all-section.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Facing the math section with a ticking clock rattles even strong students, and the best act math study guide is the one that turns formulas into reflexes before exam day. We compared four guides by page count, practice exams, math topics, calculator help and publisher, to match the book to the student.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Quantum Prep 2-in-1: 50 practice exams, 422 pages, all sections Check price on Amazon
Best Math Focus Math ACT Guide: 38 topics, 500-plus problems, calculator help Check price on Amazon
Also Listed ACT Prep Step-by-Step: Step-by-step ACT prep title Check price on Amazon
Also Listed Official ACT Guide 2026-2027: Official ACT guide 2026-2027 Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Quantum Prep 2-in-1 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Math ACT Guide | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT
The official guide from the test maker, featuring four authentic full-length practice tests and answer explanations for the Enhanced ACT.
Pros
- Includes 4 authentic full-length ACT practice tests straight from the test maker
- Provides clear answer explanations for every question across all sections
- Updated with writing samples and prompts reflecting the Enhanced ACT experience
- The listing states it includes online companion materials alongside the print book
Cons
- 752 pages is bulky to carry to study sessions or school
- Provides 4 practice tests, which is fewer than some independent drill collections claim
- Does not list a specific reading age separate from grade level
- Focuses on official questions rather than broken-down pacing drills for beginners

Quantum Prep 2-in-1
A 2-in-1 study system with lessons and 50 full-length practice exams across all sections.
Pros
- 50 full-length practice exams included
- Covers English, math, reading and science
- 422 pages with explanations
Cons
- All-in-one means less math depth
- No calculator guidance listed
- Independently published
Pros
- 38 math topics with lessons
- Over 500 homework problems with solutions
- Calculator screenshots for TI-84 and Desmos
Cons
- Math only, no other sections
- 241 pages, shorter than the 2-in-1
- No practice exams listed

ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning
A compact prep book providing section-by-section drills, pacing tips, and flexible multi-week study schedules.
Pros
- Description lists 4,000+ questions with step-by-step answer explanations
- Provides five structured study schedules ranging from 7 days to 4 months
- Features checklists for test day and the night before covering logistics and warm-ups
- Published March 28, 2026 with targeted section strategies and trap breakdowns
Cons
- Listing claims 50+ full-length practice tests inside 238 pages, an obvious contradiction
- No reading age or grade level is listed
- Earliest publication date among the 2026 listings in this comparison
- Independently published without authentic questions from the exam maker
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Official ACT SetFor five official guides including math, 2026-2027.Check on Amazon
Official Math GuideFor the official math guide, 304 pages.Check on Amazon
Vibrant Math PracticeFor 650-plus questions and 2 practice exams.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Guide | Shelf Score | Pages | Practice Exams | Focus | Publisher | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quantum Prep 2-in-1 | 9.7/10 | 422 | 50 | All sections | Independently published | View on Amazon |
| Math ACT Guide | 9.7/10 | 241 | Not stated | Math | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| ACT Prep Step-by-Step | 9.4/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Official ACT Guide 2026-2027 | 9.8/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs math depth, practice material, value and publisher. Two listings give full details; two give title only. The Quantum Prep lists 50 practice exams and the math-focused guide lists 500-plus problems. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quantum Prep 2-in-1 | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | n/a |
| Math ACT Guide | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best act math study guide
Math-only or all sections
The Math ACT Guide covers 38 math topics and nothing else, while the Quantum Prep 2-in-1 covers all sections with math strategies inside. A student who needs only math should pick the focused guide. For all subjects, see college admission prep.
Practice exams vs problem sets
The Quantum Prep includes 50 full-length practice exams for stamina. The Math ACT Guide offers 500-plus homework problems for drilling topics. A student who fades late in the section needs exams; a student with topic gaps needs problems.
Before you buy
- Two listings give title only; the details below come from the two full listings.
- Check whether you need a calculator guide; only the Math ACT Guide lists one.
- Match the page count to your study timeline.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which guide has the most practice exams?
The Quantum Prep 2-in-1 lists 50 full-length practice exams. The Math ACT Guide lists homework problems rather than full exams.
Do these cover calculator use?
The Math ACT Guide includes screenshots for Desmos and TI-84 calculators. The Quantum Prep does not list calculator guidance.
Are the official guides detailed?
The two official ACT titles list no details beyond their titles here. The third-party guides above list full contents.
Related lists
See every college admission list and all prep lists.
More lists: ACT books.
