Best Workbook for Math (2026): 5 Top Picks Compared
Five math workbooks compared by grade level, page count, answer keys and curriculum topics, from elementary skill builders to middle school problem solving.

On this page
Whether a student is reinforcing fifth-grade fractions after school or a family is mapping out a full homeschool curriculum, finding the best workbook for math depends on matching practice pages to the learner’s current grade level. We compared five math workbooks by published grade level, print length, included answer keys, curriculum coverage and customer-listed reading age. From comprehensive elementary review books to targeted middle school algebra and early sticker practice, each pick serves a distinct learning stage. This comparison outlines what each listing provides so you can choose the right math practice for your student.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall Spectrum 5th Grade Math by Spectrum: 192 pages covering fractions, algebra prep and parent support pages Check price
- Best Comprehensive Practice IXL 4th Grade Math by IXL Learning: 224 pages covering multiplication, division, fractions and geometry Check price
- Best for Middle School Spectrum 7th Grade Math by Spectrum: Middle school algebra, geometry and integers with chapter parent pages Check price
- Best for Targeted Skills 100 Days of Math by Humble Math: 100 days of practice for money, fractions and telling time with an answer key Check price
- Best with Stickers Math Skillbuilders by Golden Books: 64 pages of adding, subtracting and fractions with over 70 stickers Check price
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Reading age or grade | Published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spectrum 5th Grade Math by Spectrum | 8.9/10 | Spectrum, Carson Dellosa Education | 192 | Grade 5 and up, ages 10-11 | May 6, 2024 |
| IXL 4th Grade Math by IXL Learning | 8.9/10 | IXL Learning | 224 | Grade 4 and up, ages 9-10 | December 1, 2019 |
| Spectrum 7th Grade Math by Spectrum | 8.5/10 | Spectrum, Carson Dellosa Education, Elise Craver | 192 | Grade 7 and up, ages 11-12 | May 6, 2024 |
| 100 Days of Math by Humble Math | 7.6/10 | Humble Math | 107 | Grades K-4, ages 6-11 | June 14, 2020 |
| Math Skillbuilders by Golden Books | 6.8/10 | Golden Books | 64 | Grades 2-3, ages 6-8 | September 1, 2000 |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 15 October 2026.
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Spectrum 5th Grade Math by Spectrum | 8.9/10 | Buy |
| 2 | IXL 4th Grade Math by IXL Learning | 8.9/10 | Buy |
| 3 | Spectrum 7th Grade Math by Spectrum | 8.5/10 | Buy |
| 4 | 100 Days of Math by Humble Math | 7.6/10 | Buy |
| 5 | Math Skillbuilders by Golden Books | 6.8/10 | Buy |

Spectrum 5th Grade Math by Spectrum
A fifth-grade math workbook providing 192 pages of practice in fractions, decimals, algebra preparation and geometry, with chapter parent support pages and an answer key.
Pros
- 192 pages covering fractions, decimals, graphing, geometry and algebra preparation
- Parent support pages at the start of each chapter include definitions, tools and tips
- Includes an answer key in the book
- Lesson Skill IDs link to optional online practice on IXL.com
Cons
- Reading age of 10 to 11 years is marked as from customers rather than publisher guidance
- Published May 6, 2024, so check for newer curriculum updates before buying
- At 192 pages and 8.4 by 10.9 inches, it is bulkier to carry than slim drill booklets
- Online IXL practice awards and certificates require separate internet access
Detailed Review
The publisher describes this workbook as focused math practice for fifth-grade mastery, covering fractions, decimals, graphing, geometry and algebra preparation. The listing states a print length of 192 pages, a fourth edition publication date of May 6, 2024, grade level 5 and up, and a customer-listed reading age of 10 to 11 years. It also states an answer key and parent support pages are included at the start of each chapter, along with IXL Skill IDs for online practice.
Who it's for: a fifth grader needing structured homeschool curriculum or targeted classroom reinforcement across core math topics. Who should skip it: a student who only needs rapid mental arithmetic drills or one who already works well above fifth-grade math.
Its Shelf Score of 8.9/10 comes from fit 32/35, contents and edition 22/25, value 21/25 and reading age or level 9/10.
Book Details
| Publisher | Spectrum |
|---|---|
| Print length | 192 pages |
| Published | May 6, 2024 |
| Grade level | 5 and up |
| Reading age | 10 - 11 years, from customers |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Grade level 5 and up and a reading age of 10 to 11 years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 9 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

IXL 4th Grade Math by IXL Learning
A 224-page fourth-grade math workbook covering multiplication, division, fractions, decimals and geometry, printed on 60 lb Text Smooth paper with links to online practice.
Pros
- 224 pages covering multiplication, division, fractions, decimals, measurement and geometry
- Printed on sturdy 60 lb Text Smooth paper sized at 8.5 by 10.875 inches
- Connects with the IXL website and mobile app for additional online questions
- Wide curriculum breadth includes multi-digit operations, factors, prime numbers and angles
Cons
- Spec table overview contradicts the title by listing Grade 3 and ages 8 to 9
- Published December 1, 2019, making it an older edition than recent curriculum workbooks
- Reading age of 9 to 10 years is marked as from customers on the listing
- Full online features such as growth plans and instant feedback depend on app or web access
Detailed Review
The listing presents this book as an activity-based workbook guiding fourth graders through must-know skills such as multi-digit multiplication, division, fractions, measurement and geometry. The listing states a print length of 224 pages, printed on 60 lb Text Smooth paper, with a publication date of December 1, 2019, and a customer-listed reading age of 9 to 10 years. Notably, the spec table contains a contradiction, noting Grade 3 and ages 8 to 9 under overview details despite the title and bullets designating fourth grade.
Who it's for: a fourth grader who benefits from colorful, varied practice problems spanning an entire school year curriculum. Who should skip it: a buyer looking for a slim, single-topic booklet or someone seeking a newly released 2026 edition.
Its Shelf Score of 8.9/10 comes from fit 32/35, contents and edition 22/25, value 22/25 and reading age or level 8/10.
Book Details
| Publisher | IXL Learning, Inc. |
|---|---|
| Print length | 224 pages |
| Published | December 1, 2019 |
| Grade level | 4 and up |
| Reading age | 9 - 10 years, from customers |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Grade level 4 and up and a reading age of 9 to 10 years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 8 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Spectrum 7th Grade Math by Spectrum
A 192-page middle school math workbook covering geometry, algebra, ratios and integers, with chapter parent support pages and an answer key.
Pros
- 192 pages covering middle school geometry, algebra, ratios and integers
- Parent support pages at the beginning of each chapter provide definitions and skills lists
- Answer key is included in the back of the book
- Fourth edition published May 6, 2024 offers up-to-date middle school curriculum alignment
Cons
- Listing details give a reading age of 11 to 12 years from customers, whereas the title specifies ages 12 to 13
- Grade level is listed as 7 and up, which may prove challenging for struggling sixth-grade transition students
- Online practice via IXL Skill IDs requires separate web access
- Focused middle school scope excludes earlier arithmetic review topics
Detailed Review
The description outlines a middle school curriculum covering algebraic equations, geometric problem solving, ratios and integers. The listing states a print length of 192 pages, a fourth edition publication date of May 6, 2024, and grade level 7 and up. There is a minor contradiction in age guidance: the title targets kids ages 12 to 13, while the spec table lists a reading age of 11 to 12 years marked from customers. The listing confirms an answer key and parent support pages are included.
Who it's for: a seventh grader transitioning into pre-algebra concepts who needs guided chapter reviews and an included answer key. Who should skip it: an elementary learner who has not yet mastered basic fractions or decimals.
Its Shelf Score of 8.5/10 comes from fit 30/35, contents and edition 21/25, value 21/25 and reading age or level 8/10.
Book Details
| Publisher | Spectrum |
|---|---|
| Print length | 192 pages |
| Published | May 6, 2024 |
| Grade level | 7 and up |
| Reading age | 11 - 12 years, from customers |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Grade level 7 and up and a reading age of 11 to 12 years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 8 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

100 Days of Math by Humble Math
A 107-page workbook offering 100 days of reproducible practice pages covering coins, bills, beginner fractions and telling time, including an answer key.
Pros
- 100 days of reproducible practice pages focused on money, fractions and telling time
- Includes a complete answer key in the workbook
- Progresses sequentially from counting coins to making change and from basic fractions to mixed numbers
- 107 pages provide a lightweight format that is easy to carry
Cons
- Contradiction in listing: spec table states grade level Preschool -, while the title states Grades K-4
- Narrow focus covers only three math topics rather than a comprehensive grade curriculum
- Published June 14, 2020, without notes indicating newer revisions
- Reading age of 7 to 10 years is marked as from customers
Detailed Review
The description describes 100 days of practice targeting three specific math areas where students often need extra practice: money, beginner fractions and telling time. The listing states a print length of 107 pages, a publication date of June 14, 2020, and confirms an answer key is included. A clear contradiction appears on the listing: the spec table lists the grade level as Preschool -, whereas the title and cover specify Grades K-4 with an age range of 6 to 11 years and a customer reading age of 7 to 10 years.
Who it's for: an early elementary learner needing focused daily drills on counting currency, reading analog clocks and understanding basic fractions. Who should skip it: a family seeking an all-in-one comprehensive grade-level curriculum covering general arithmetic and geometry.
Its Shelf Score of 7.6/10 comes from fit 28/35, contents and edition 20/25, value 20/25 and reading age or level 5/10.
Book Details
| Author | Humble Math |
|---|---|
| Print length | 107 pages |
| Published | June 14, 2020 |
| Reading age | 7 - 10 years, from customers |
| Practice pages | 100 Days |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Preschool grade level in listing details, Grades K-4 on cover, and reading age 7 to 10 years from customers, so reading age or level scores 5 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Math Skillbuilders by Golden Books
A 64-page early elementary math workbook covering addition, subtraction, money and fractions, packaged with over 70 stickers.
Pros
- Includes over 70 colorful stickers to motivate early elementary learners
- Covers key early skills including greater than, less than, addition, subtraction, money and fractions
- 64 pages provide a manageable length for young students without overwhelming them
- Designed by teachers to complement early elementary school curriculum
Cons
- Contradiction in listing: spec table states Preschool - 2 grade level, whereas title specifies Grades 2 - 3
- Published September 1, 2000, making it an older edition
- Listing does not state whether an answer key is included
- Reading age of 6 to 8 years is marked as from customers
Detailed Review
The description frames this workbook as a teacher-planned skill builder covering greater than and less than, addition, subtraction, money and fractions, accompanied by over 70 stickers. The listing states a print length of 64 pages and a publication date of September 1, 2000, with a customer-listed reading age of 6 to 8 years. The listing contains an internal contradiction: the spec table records the grade level as Preschool - 2, while the book title specifies Grades 2 - 3, and the listing does not state whether an answer key is included.
Who it's for: a second or third grader who enjoys sticker rewards while reinforcing early addition and subtraction. Who should skip it: an older student who needs advanced problem solving or a parent who requires a verified answer key.
Its Shelf Score of 6.8/10 comes from fit 26/35, contents and edition 18/25, value 18/25 and reading age or level 4/10.
Book Details
| Publisher | Golden Books |
|---|---|
| Print length | 64 pages |
| Published | September 1, 2000 |
| Reading age | 6 - 8 years, from customers |
| Grade level | Preschool - 2 |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Preschool to 2 grade level in listing details, Grades 2-3 in title, and reading age 6 to 8 years from customers, so reading age or level scores 4 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for grade-level math instruction, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level where one is given. All five listings state both a grade level and a reading age, though three listings contain internal contradictions between their titles and technical details. Newer editions with included answer keys and chapter support pages score higher on contents. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spectrum 5th Grade Math by Spectrum | 8.9 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 9 |
| IXL 4th Grade Math by IXL Learning | 8.9 | 32 | 22 | 22 | 8 |
| Spectrum 7th Grade Math by Spectrum | 8.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 8 |
| 100 Days of Math by Humble Math | 7.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 5 |
| Math Skillbuilders by Golden Books | 6.8 | 26 | 18 | 18 | 4 |
Scores run from 0 to 10. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best workbook for math
Match the workbook to the grade level
Elementary math skills build sequentially, so buying for a student’s actual skill stage matters more than age alone. Spectrum 5th Grade Math Workbooks focuses on fifth-grade fractions, decimals and geometry for ages 10 to 11, while the Spectrum 7th Grade book targets middle school pre-algebra and ratios for grade 7 and up. For younger elementary learners, Math Skillbuilders from Golden Books covers basic addition and subtraction. Always check whether the listing lists a grade level or only an informal customer reading age.
Comprehensive curriculum versus targeted drills
A student preparing for a full school year needs broad topic coverage, whereas a learner struggling with one concept benefits from focused daily drills. The IXL Ultimate 4th Grade Math Workbook delivers 224 pages spanning multiplication, division, fractions and geometry across an entire curriculum. In contrast, Humble Math dedicates 107 pages specifically to 100 days of money, fractions and telling time. If a child needs help with equations, consider whether a dedicated workbook for algebra serves them better than a general review book.
Check page count, answer keys and practice tools
| Workbook | Pages | Answer key | Published |
|---|---|---|---|
| IXL 4th Grade Math | 224 | Not stated | December 1, 2019 |
| Spectrum 5th Grade Math | 192 | Included | May 6, 2024 |
| Spectrum 7th Grade Math | 192 | Included | May 6, 2024 |
| Humble Math 100 Days | 107 | Included | June 14, 2020 |
| Golden Books Skillbuilders | 64 | Not stated | September 1, 2000 |
Thicker workbooks like IXL and Spectrum offer enough exercises for daily practice across several months, while slimmer 64-page booklets provide quick summer review. For homeschool families structuring a full year of study, see our guide to workbooks for homeschooling, or browse more math workbooks.
Before you buy
- Check whether an answer key is included in the book: Spectrum and Humble Math list answer keys, while Golden Books and IXL do not state one.
- Verify the publication date on the listing: Spectrum offers fourth editions from May 6, 2024, whereas older workbooks date back to 2019 or 2000.
- Look for contradictions between the title and listing spec table regarding grade level and suggested ages.
- Confirm whether online practice tools like IXL Skill IDs require separate internet access or subscriptions.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best workbook for math for elementary students?
Spectrum 5th Grade Math Workbooks provides 192 pages covering fractions, decimals, graphing and geometry, with chapter parent support pages and an answer key. The IXL Ultimate 4th Grade Math Workbook offers 224 pages covering multiplication, division and word problems for learners ages 9 to 10.
Do math workbooks come with an answer key included?
Both Spectrum fifth-grade and seventh-grade workbooks state that an answer key is included, as does Humble Math 100 Days of Money, Fractions, & Telling the Time. The listings for IXL 4th Grade Math and Golden Books Math Skillbuilders do not state whether an answer key is included.
Which math workbook is best for middle school algebra?
Spectrum 7th Grade Math Workbooks covers middle school algebra, geometry, ratios and integers across 192 pages. It was published on May 6, 2024 and lists a grade level of 7 and up.
How many practice pages are included in daily math workbooks?
Humble Math provides 100 days of practice pages across 107 total pages, focusing on coins, bills, beginner fractions and telling time. Larger curriculum workbooks from Spectrum and IXL offer 192 to 224 pages.
Related lists
See every Math Workbooks list and all Workbooks and Homeschool lists. Also see our best workbook for algebra and best workbooks for homeschooling. Also see our best workbook for multiplication.
More lists: browse handwriting workbooks, spelling workbooks, phonics workbooks and preschool homeschool books.




