Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Math Workbooks

Best Common Core Math Books (2026): 5 Picks by Grade

Five common core math workbooks and a reference guide compared by grade, page count, practice volume and answer support, from grade 3 to grade 8.

Best Common Core Math Books (2026): 5 Picks by Grade

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Homework time goes smoother when practice matches classwork, and the best common core math books are the workbooks that line up with those standards. This list compares them by grade, page count, practice volume and answer support.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Math 4 Today 3rd Grade by McCarthy
    Best Overall Math 4 Today 3rd Grade by McCarthy: 40 weeks of activities, weekly assessments, answer key, grades 3 and up. Check price on Amazon
  • 3rd Grade Math Workbook by Ace Academic
    Best Practice Volume 3rd Grade Math Workbook by Ace Academic: 232 pages of comprehensive 3rd grade practice. Check price on Amazon
  • 4th Grade Math by Argo Brothers
    Best Video Support 4th Grade Math by Argo Brothers: 1000+ practice questions with video explanations and answer key. Check price on Amazon
  • 7th Grade Math by Argo Brothers
    Best for Grade 7 7th Grade Math by Argo Brothers: 1000+ practice questions with video explanations for grade 7. Check price on Amazon
  • Math Common Core 8th Grade by Yablonsky
    Best Quick Reference Math Common Core 8th Grade by Yablonsky: Laminated 6-page guide of tables and lists for grade 8. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Math 4 Today 3rd Grade by McCarthy

Math 4 Today 3rd Grade by McCarthy

Erin McCarthy9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 3rd grade workbook with 40 weeks of activities covering addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, time and graphs.

Pros

  • 40 weeks of activities, weekly assessments
  • Answer key and standards matrix included
  • Ages 8 - 9, grade 3 and up

Cons

  • 2013 date, an older edition
  • 96 pages, shorter than the 232-page Ace pick
  • Grade 3 only
3rd Grade Math Workbook by Ace Academic

3rd Grade Math Workbook by Ace Academic

Ace Academic Publishing9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A comprehensive 3rd grade workbook with varied question types.

Pros

  • 232 pages, the longest workbook
  • Variety of question types, including multiple-choice
  • Comprehensive practice for mastery in 3rd grade math

Cons

  • No reading age stated
  • No answer key stated
  • 2020 date, no newer edition stated
4th Grade Math by Argo Brothers

4th Grade Math by Argo Brothers

Argo Brothers9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 4th grade workbook with 1000+ questions, video explanations and an answer key.

Pros

  • 1000+ questions with video explanations
  • Answer key included for each question
  • Reading age 8 - 9 years, marked as from customers

Cons

  • 2026-2027 edition named, but date reads May 1, 2019
  • Spec table Ages 5-6 and counting topics do not match grade 4
  • Part I only
7th Grade Math by Argo Brothers

7th Grade Math by Argo Brothers

Argo Brothers9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 7th grade workbook with 1000+ questions, video explanations and an answer key.

Pros

  • 1000+ questions with video explanations
  • Answer key included for each question
  • Daily practice format for 7th grade math

Cons

  • 2026-2027 edition named, but date reads January 5, 2019
  • Spec table Ages 5-6 and counting topics do not match grade 7
  • No reading age stated
Math Common Core 8th Grade by Yablonsky

Math Common Core 8th Grade by Yablonsky

Ken Yablonsky9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A laminated 6-page guide of tables and lists for 8th grade math.

Pros

  • Tables and lists for quick lookup
  • Laminated format
  • Covers 8th grade Common Core math in one guide

Cons

  • Only 6 pages, no practice questions stated
  • 2012 date, the oldest pick
  • Reference guide only, not a practice workbook

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • 5th Grade Math by Argo Brothers5th Grade Math by Argo Brothers1000+ practice questions with video explanations for grade 5.Check on Amazon
  • Common Core Math For ParentsCommon Core Math For ParentsGrade-by-grade walk-through with sample problems and video lessons for parents.Check on Amazon
  • Parent's Guide to Common Core MathParent's Guide to Common Core MathCommon Core math for grades K-5 explained for parents helping with homework.Check on Amazon
  • Math 4 Today Grade 4 by McCarthyMath 4 Today Grade 4 by McCarthy96 pages of daily skill practice for grade 4.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Age or grade Amazon
Math 4 Today 3rd Grade by McCarthy 9.8/10 Erin McCarthy 96 8 – 9 / 3+ View on Amazon
3rd Grade Math Workbook by Ace Academic 9.7/10 Ace Academic Publishing 232 3 / Not stated View on Amazon
4th Grade Math by Argo Brothers 9.7/10 Argo Brothers 139 8 – 9 / 4 View on Amazon
7th Grade Math by Argo Brothers 9.6/10 Argo Brothers 150 7 / Not stated View on Amazon
Math Common Core 8th Grade by Yablonsky 9.4/10 Ken Yablonsky 6 8 / Not stated View on Amazon

Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level. All five picks name a grade; two list a reading age. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Math 4 Today 3rd Grade by McCarthy 9.8 32 22 21 9
3rd Grade Math Workbook by Ace Academic 9.7 29 20 21 7
4th Grade Math by Argo Brothers 9.7 30 21 21 5
7th Grade Math by Argo Brothers 9.6 30 21 20 4
Math Common Core 8th Grade by Yablonsky 9.4 24 16 18 7

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best common core math books

Match the grade, not just the title

Grades run from 3 to 8: Carson Dellosa covers grade 3 and up, Argo covers grades 4 and 7, and QuickStudy covers grade 8. Check the title grade against the spec table, since the Argo tables list Ages 5-6 and counting topics. See also math workbooks.

Practice volume and answer support

Argo offers 1000+ practice questions with video explanations and an answer key. Carson Dellosa offers 40 weeks of activities with weekly assessments, an answer key and a standards matrix. Ace runs 232 pages, while QuickStudy runs 6 pages of tables and lists with no practice stated.

Edition and publication date

Check the edition against the publication date. Argo names a 2026-2027 edition while the dates read 2019. Carson Dellosa dates to 2013 and QuickStudy to 2012. See also workbooks and homeschool lists.

Before you buy

  • Check edition against publication date: Argo names 2026-2027, dates read 2019.
  • Check title grade against the spec table: Argo tables list Ages 5-6 and counting topics.
  • Check answer key support: Carson Dellosa and Argo list one; Ace and QuickStudy do not.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a Common Core math workbook?

A workbook aligned to Common Core State Standards, with practice by grade, such as 40 weeks of activities or 1000+ practice questions.

Do these workbooks include answer keys?

Carson Dellosa and Argo list an answer key; the Ace and QuickStudy listings do not state one.

Which edition should I buy?

Check the publication date: Argo names 2026-2027, dates read 2019.

Math 4 Today 3rd Grade by McCarthy
Still deciding? Our top pickMath 4 Today 3rd Grade by McCarthy
Check price on Amazon

See every Workbooks and Homeschool list and all Math Workbooks lists.

More lists: reading and phonics workbooks, homeschool curriculum and test prep books.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Math Books for Machine Learning?

    5 books for machine learning math, from a narrative history to rigorous textbooks with Python code, compared by fit, contents and stated level.

  2. What are the best Word Problem Worksheets for Kindergarten?

    Five word problem workbooks for kindergarten compared by fit, contents, value and listed age or grade level, with answer key details.

  3. What is the best Statistics Workbook?

    Five statistics workbooks compared by practice volume, worked solutions and edition, for students, tutors and self-learners.

  4. What is the best Pre Calculus Workbook?

    Five pre-calculus books for high schoolers and self-studiers, from a 128-page workbook with an answer key to a 550-page self-teaching guide.