Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Licensing and Certification

Best Study Guide for Cset Multiple Subject (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four study guides for the CSET Multiple Subjects exam compared by subtest alignment, practice questions, page count and edition year for prospective California teachers.

Best Study Guide for Cset Multiple Subject (2026): 4 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

California teacher candidates looking for the best study guide for cset multiple subject exams face a rigorous battery of credential requirements. This guide is for prospective elementary educators preparing for the subtests covering language arts, history, math, science, and the arts. We compared published prep books by page count, subtest coverage, practice questions, and edition dates as stated on each Amazon listing.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • CSET Test Prep by Tpb Publishing
    Best Overall CSET Test Prep by Tpb Publishing: Subtests I, II, and III review with practice questions and answer explanations. Check price on Amazon
  • CliffsNotes CSET by Fisher
    Best for Content Review CliffsNotes CSET by Fisher: A 624-page review with two model practice exams aligned to Common Core. Check price on Amazon
  • Barron's CSET by Postman
    Best for Online Practice Barron’s CSET by Postman: Three complete practice tests including one online exam with automatic scoring. Check price on Amazon
  • Praxis II 5001 by Jasper
    Best for Question Volume Praxis II 5001 by Jasper: Over 600 practice questions and two tests per subtest for the Praxis 5001 exam. Check price on Amazon

The picks

CSET Test Prep by Tpb Publishing

CSET Test Prep by Tpb Publishing

Tpb Publishing9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

This study guide covers Subtests I, II, and III with subject reviews, practice questions, and test-taking strategies for California teacher candidates.

Pros

  • The listing states it includes reviews and practice questions for Subtests I, II, and III.
  • Detailed answer explanations follow every single problem according to the description.
  • The 4th edition provides 538 pages of prep material published on August 14, 2020.

Cons

  • The listing does not state how many full-length practice exams are included.
  • The description states it was published in 2020, so buyers should check whether a newer edition exists.
  • No reading age or grade level is stated on the Amazon listing.
CliffsNotes CSET by Fisher

CliffsNotes CSET by Fisher

Stephen Fisher M.A.9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

This revised fourth edition offers 624 pages of subject reviews and two model practice exams aligned to Common Core standards for California elementary teaching candidates.

Pros

  • The description states it includes subject-review chapters and two model practice exams.
  • The listing gives a print length of 624 pages covering all three CSET subtests.
  • The publisher states the content is aligned to California Common Core State Standards.

Cons

  • The publication date is May 23, 2017, which makes it an older edition.
  • The listing does not state whether online practice materials or video tutorials are provided.
  • No reading age or grade level is stated on the Amazon listing.
Barron's CSET by Postman

Barron's CSET by Postman

Robert D. Postman Ed.D.9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

This Barron's guide provides 624 pages of subject reviews, over 200 additional practice items, and three complete practice tests including one online test with automatic scoring.

Pros

  • The description states it includes three complete CSET practice tests with all answers explained.
  • The listing includes a full-length online CSET with automatic scoring and mobile device access.
  • The print length of 624 pages includes over 200 additional practice items across all test areas.

Cons

  • The publication date from Barrons Educational Services is July 15, 2016.
  • Online features require scanning links or accessing internet resources that may change over time.
  • No reading age or grade level is stated on the Amazon listing.
Praxis II 5001 by Jasper

Praxis II 5001 by Jasper

Kathleen Jasper Ed.D.9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

This study guide provides 520 pages with over 600 practice questions and two practice tests after each subtest, designed for the Praxis 5001 exam.

Pros

  • The description states it includes over 600 practice test questions with detailed answer explanations.
  • The listing states it provides two complete practice tests after each subtest.
  • A recent publication date of August 11, 2023, provides 520 pages of structured content.

Cons

  • The book targets the Praxis II 5001 exam with four subtests rather than California's three-subtest CSET exam.
  • It does not cover California-specific standards or the CSET visual and performing arts requirements.
  • No reading age or grade level is stated on the Amazon listing.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • CSET Secrets Prep by BowlingCSET Secrets Prep by BowlingFor test takers seeking a 560-page review with step-by-step video tutorials.Check on Amazon
  • CSET Study Guide by ConnerCSET Study Guide by ConnerFor candidates wanting a 208-page guide with three full-length practice tests.Check on Amazon
  • McGraw-Hill CSET by KnableMcGraw-Hill CSET by KnableFor candidates preparing for Multiple Subjects and the CSET Writing Skills test.Check on Amazon
  • CSET Test Prep by MorrisonCSET Test Prep by MorrisonFor candidates seeking ten practice tests with one in print and nine online.Check on Amazon
  • CSET Study Cards by TPBCSET Study Cards by TPBFor candidates wanting color-coded study cards in a durable box for quick review.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Published Amazon
CSET Test Prep by Tpb Publishing 9.8/10 Tpb Publishing 538 August 14, 2020 Check price
CliffsNotes CSET by Fisher 9.7/10 Stephen Fisher M.A. 624 May 23, 2017 Check price
Barron’s CSET by Postman 9.7/10 Robert D. Postman Ed.D. 624 July 15, 2016
Praxis II 5001 by Jasper 9.4/10 Kathleen Jasper Ed.D. 520 August 11, 2023 Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for California teacher candidates, contents and edition recency, prep value, and the listed reading age or grade level where one is published. None of the four picks lists a reading age or grade level on its Amazon listing. Books directly covering California’s three CSET subtests scored highest, while cross-exam titles earned lower fit ratings. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
CSET Test Prep by Tpb Publishing 9.8 32 22 22 n/a
CliffsNotes CSET by Fisher 9.7 30 21 22 n/a
Barron’s CSET by Postman 9.7 29 20 22 n/a
Praxis II 5001 by Jasper 9.4 18 21 20 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best study guide for cset multiple subject

Check edition dates and Common Core alignment

Because California updated its curriculum standards, recent editions reflect current test specifications better than older releases. For instance, the CliffsNotes CSET guide by Fisher was published in 2017 with Common Core updates, while the Tpb Publishing guide offers a 2020 fourth edition. Candidates preparing for professional licensing tests can also consult our LCSW exam study guide for another look at structured prep editions.

Verify coverage across all three subtests

The CSET Multiple Subjects exam divides into three distinct subtests covering reading, history, math, science, and the arts. Comprehensive guides like Barron’s CSET by Postman and CliffsNotes CSET cover all three subtests in single volumes of 624 pages. For additional credentialing materials across different teaching paths, explore our broader certification exam prep guides.

Confirm the exact target exam blueprint

Ensure the guide you select matches the California Subject Examinations for Teachers rather than a different state assessment. For example, the Praxis II 5001 guide by Jasper offers over 600 practice questions across four subtests, but it follows the Praxis blueprint rather than the California CSET. Checking that the table of contents matches CSET Subtests I, II, and III ensures you study the exact subjects on the exam.

Before you buy

  • Check the publication date and edition on the listing to ensure the content reflects recent California exam standards.
  • Confirm whether the guide covers all three CSET subtests or targets an alternative exam like the Praxis 5001.
  • Verify whether practice tests include detailed answer explanations in print or require online access.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which edition of the CSET Multiple Subjects study guide is most recent?

The Tpb Publishing study guide is a 4th edition published on August 14, 2020, making it more recent than the 2017 CliffsNotes and 2016 Barron’s editions.

How many practice tests are included in these CSET study guides?

Barron’s CSET includes three complete practice tests with one online, while CliffsNotes provides two model exams. The Praxis 5001 guide by Jasper includes two complete practice tests after each subtest along with over 600 practice questions.

Can a Praxis 5001 study guide be used for the CSET Multiple Subjects exam?

The Praxis II 5001 guide by Kathleen Jasper covers elementary education content across four subtests, but it does not align with California’s three-subtest CSET structure. Candidates taking the California exam should choose a guide written specifically for the CSET Multiple Subjects blueprint.

CSET Test Prep by Tpb Publishing
Still deciding? Our top pickCSET Test Prep by Tpb Publishing
Check price on Amazon

See every licensing and certification list and all test prep lists.

More lists: explore our CEN exam guide, CCRN study guide, GED test prep, and AFOQT study guide.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Study Guide for CEN Exam?

    Eight CEN study guides ranked by Shelf Score, compared by publication date, page count, practice tests and edition notes for emergency nurses preparing.

  2. What is the best Study Guide for CCRN?

    Four adult CCRN prep books compared by publication date, practice tests, page count and format, with edition dates and gaps flagged for each.

  3. What is the best Study Guide for Anatomy and Physiology?

    Ten anatomy and physiology study titles compared by edition, page count and answer keys, from workbooks to laminated reference cards.

  4. What is the best Study Guide for LCSW Exam?

    Four LCSW exam guides compared by edition date, page count, practice questions and scope, for readers choosing one main study book.