Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Licensing and Certification

Best Study Guide for AFOQT (2026): 4 Picks by Content and Edition

Nine AFOQT study books compared by edition date, page count and listed practice tests, with who each one suits and who should skip it.

Best Study Guide for AFOQT (2026): 4 Picks by Content and Edition

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

A candidate with an AFOQT test date needs the best study guide for AFOQT, one with the right sections and a clear edition date. This list is for a candidate who wants a book to study from, and it compares nine listings by edition, page count and the practice tests each one states.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Military Flight Aptitude Tests by Duran
    Best Overall Military Flight Aptitude Tests by Duran: Six practice tests, with 2 practice AFOQTs plus SIFT and ASTB-E Check price on Amazon
  • AFOQT Study Guide by Spire
    Best Question Bank AFOQT Study Guide by Spire: Over 500 practice questions in an AFOQT-only guide Check price on Amazon
  • AFOQT Study Cards by Test Prep Books
    Best Quick Review AFOQT Study Cards by Test Prep Books: Color-coded study cards for short review sessions Check price on Amazon

The picks

Military Flight Aptitude Tests by Duran

Military Flight Aptitude Tests by Duran

Terry L. Duran9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

One volume for the AFOQT, SIFT and ASTB-E, a fit for a candidate weighing more than one military aviation test; skip it if you need only the AFOQT.

Pros

  • The listing states six practice tests, including two practice AFOQTs.
  • The description says the test questions come with detailed answers and explanations.
  • Adds a glossary and aircraft summaries beyond the test sections, per the description.

Cons

  • Covers SIFT and ASTB-E too, so part of the 708 pages is not AFOQT material.
  • The fifth edition is dated October 3, 2023, and the listing does not say a newer edition exists.
  • At 708 pages, it is a long read for a short study window.
AFOQT Study Guide by Spire

AFOQT Study Guide by Spire

AFOQT Study Guide Team9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

An AFOQT-only study guide with over 500 practice questions, a fit for a candidate who wants a large question bank; skip it if you need full practice tests.

Pros

  • The description says it has over 500 intermediate and advanced practice questions.
  • The review list covers each AFOQT subject, including instrument comprehension and block counting.
  • Its publication date, January 4, 2025, is newer than the dates of the other three picks.

Cons

  • The listing does not state how many full-length practice tests are included.
  • The description says 2026-2027, but the publication date is January 4, 2025.
  • The description does not say whether answer explanations come with the questions.
AFOQT Study Cards by Test Prep Books

AFOQT Study Cards by Test Prep Books

Test Prep Books9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A set of color-coded study cards for short review sessions, a fit for a candidate who already has a full guide; skip it if you need full practice tests.

Pros

  • The listing says the cards are color-coded by subject area.
  • Portable format with study tips, according to the listing.
  • Covers each section the listing names, from verbal analogies to aviation information.

Cons

  • The title says 2026-2027, but the publication date is December 10, 2020.
  • The listing does not state a practice test count or answer explanations.
  • Cards cover the material in short bursts, so they do not replace a full-length practice test.
AFOQT Guide by Military Prep Academy

AFOQT Guide by Military Prep Academy

Military Prep Academy9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A study guide with 300+ practice test questions and a detailed answer guide, suited to a candidate who wants explanations; check the 2020 publication date first.

Pros

  • The listing states 300+ practice test questions plus a real-length practice test for each section.
  • A detailed answer guide follows each practice test and explains how to reach the answer.
  • Includes Exam Success 2.0, with test-day strategy tips, according to the listing.

Cons

  • The title says 2026-2027, but the publication date is December 13, 2020.
  • The listing offers a money-back promise if the book does not raise your score, which is its own claim.
  • The listing does not state how many full practice tests it includes.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • AFOQT Study Guide by HettingerAFOQT Study Guide by HettingerFor a quick review and two practice tests with explanations, 8th edition.Check on Amazon
  • The FastPrep Protocol by HunterThe FastPrep Protocol by HunterFor timed drills and a thirty-day plan; the listing describes an AI tutor app.Check on Amazon
  • AFOQT Study Guide by BowlingAFOQT Study Guide by BowlingFor video tutorials and two practice tests, one printed in the book.Check on Amazon
  • AFOQT Math for Beginners by NazariAFOQT Math for Beginners by NazariFor AFOQT math topics only, with two full-length practice tests.Check on Amazon
  • AFOQT Study Guide by MorrisonAFOQT Study Guide by MorrisonFor a 12th edition with four practice tests, two of them online.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Published Practice tests Amazon
Military Flight Aptitude Tests by Duran 9.5/10 708 October 3, 2023 6 Check price
AFOQT Study Guide by Spire 9.5/10 340 January 4, 2025 Not stated Check price
AFOQT Study Cards by Test Prep Books 9.4/10 308 December 10, 2020 Not stated Check price
AFOQT Guide by Military Prep Academy 9.4/10 326 December 13, 2020 Not stated Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for an AFOQT candidate, contents and edition, value, and any listed reading age or level. Only one of the four picks states a reading level, 16 years and up. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Military Flight Aptitude Tests by Duran 9.5 29 21 21 0
AFOQT Study Guide by Spire 9.5 29 20 21 0
AFOQT Study Cards by Test Prep Books 9.4 24 15 16 7
AFOQT Guide by Military Prep Academy 9.4 29 19 20 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best study guide for afoqt

Check the edition date first

Test prep goes out of date, so check the publication date before anything else. Dates in this list run from July 2020 to April 26, 2026, and two listings with 2026-2027 titles show 2020 dates.

Count the practice tests and answers

Barron’s states six practice tests with detailed answers, while three of the four picks state no practice test count. For another military entrance exam, see our ASVAB book list, or browse all test prep books.

Before you buy

  • Check the publication date and edition year on the listing before you order.
  • Look for a stated practice test count and answer explanations.
  • Compare the title year with the publication date.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which edition should I buy?

Check the publication date on the listing. The newest of the nine is the 12th edition by Morrison, dated April 26, 2026.

Does the book include an answer key?

Barron’s and the Military Prep Academy listing include answers and explanations. The Spire and Test Prep Books listings do not state one.

Is a math-only book enough?

No. The Nazari math book covers AFOQT math topics only, so pair it with a full guide.

Military Flight Aptitude Tests by Duran
Still deciding? Our top pickMilitary Flight Aptitude Tests by Duran
Check price on Amazon

See every Licensing and Certification list and all Test Prep lists.

More lists: SAT prep books, nursing exam books, graduate test prep and GRE verbal books.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Study Guide for CCRN?

    Four adult CCRN prep books compared by publication date, practice tests, page count and format, with edition dates and gaps flagged for each.

  2. What is the best Study Guide for Anatomy and Physiology?

    Ten anatomy and physiology study titles compared by edition, page count and answer keys, from workbooks to laminated reference cards.

  3. What is the best Study Guide for LCSW Exam?

    Four LCSW exam guides compared by edition date, page count, practice questions and scope, for readers choosing one main study book.

  4. What is the best Study Guide for Part 107?

    Five study books for the Part 107 knowledge exam compared by edition year, publication date, page count and practice questions, with who each suits.