Best Study Guide for CEN Exam (2026): 8 Books Compared
Eight CEN study guides ranked by Shelf Score, compared by publication date, page count, practice tests and edition notes for emergency nurses preparing.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
An emergency nurse with a test date close at hand needs a different book than one with months to prepare, so start with your timeline when you choose the best study guide for cen exam. We compared every CEN guide on this list by publication date, page count, practice volume and what each description says.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall CEN Study Guide by Newstone: 3000 questions and 10 full-length exams, per the listing Check price on Amazon
Best for Printed Review CEN Study Guide by Preparix: 1,800+ printable questions and 450 digital flashcards Check price on Amazon
Best for Busy Nurses CEN Study Guide by Ellsworth: Plan the description says covers readiness in under 30 days Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CEN Study Guide by Newstone | 9.8/10 | Buy |
| 2 | CEN Study Guide by Preparix | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 3 | CEN Study Guide by Ellsworth | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 4 | CEN Study Guide 2025 by Bartley | 9.6/10 | Buy |

CEN Study Guide by Newstone
For a reader who wants a full review and a large question bank with an online simulator.
Pros
- 3000 questions with detailed answer explanations
- Lists 10 full-length exams and a topic simulator
- Includes an audiobook of the review and questions
Cons
- Several bundled items need a code from inside the book
- Online access length is not stated
- The 'unlimited' simulator is the publisher's claim

CEN Study Guide by Preparix
For a reader who wants printed review, a large question pool and the updated exam outline.
Pros
- 1,800+ printable practice questions
- 1,800+ questions in the online simulator
- 450 digital flashcards and memory strategy videos
Cons
- Description says July 2026 edition, but the publication date is November 4, 2025
- Digital platform access length is not stated
- Mindset and video content is described, not itemized

CEN Study Guide by Ellsworth
For a busy emergency nurse who wants a focused review and a short study plan.
Pros
- 1500+ questions with detailed rationales
- 10 full-length exam simulations, per the description
- 159 pages, published July 7, 2025
Cons
- Pass-rate promises are the publisher's claims
- No outline update is mentioned in the listing
- Simulator access terms are not stated

CEN Study Guide 2025 by Bartley
For a nurse who wants a short physiology refresher and sample questions with rationales.
Pros
- Physiology review and key points summaries
- 175 sample questions and a 175-question post-test
- 100 critical thinking questions with answers
Cons
- Title says 2025, but the publication date is November 7, 2024
- Listing references Sheehy's Manual of Emergency Nursing, 8th ed
- The listing does not label any test as full-length
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Mometrix CEN Guide, 5th Ed by BowlingFor a reader who wants a long review with video tutorials, 5th edition.Check on Amazon
Mometrix CEN Guide, 6th Ed by BowlingFor a reader who wants chapter quizzes and the newer 6th edition.Check on Amazon
CEN Study Guide by MorrisonFor a reader who wants 30 practice tests and an updated outline.Check on Amazon
CEN Study Guide by BennettFor a nurse who wants study plans of 12, 6 or 4 weeks.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Published | Pages | Practice tests | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CEN Study Guide by Newstone | 9.8/10 | January 2, 2026 | 320 | 10 full-length exams | Check price |
| CEN Study Guide by Preparix | 9.7/10 | November 4, 2025 | 148 | Not stated | Check price |
| CEN Study Guide by Ellsworth | 9.7/10 | July 7, 2025 | 159 | 10 full-length exams | Check price |
| CEN Study Guide 2025 by Bartley | 9.6/10 | November 7, 2024 | 134 | Not stated | Check price |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and any listed reading age or level. None of these picks lists a reading age or grade level, so that part adds nothing here. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CEN Study Guide by Newstone | 9.8 | 32 | 21 | 22 | n/a |
| CEN Study Guide by Preparix | 9.7 | 32 | 20 | 22 | n/a |
| CEN Study Guide by Ellsworth | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | n/a |
| CEN Study Guide 2025 by Bartley | 9.6 | 29 | 19 | 21 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best study guide for cen exam
Start with your test date
A close test date favors a shorter book you can finish, such as the Ellsworth guide, with 159 pages and a plan its description says suits busy nurses. A longer runway leaves room for the 3000 questions in the Newstone guide, if you can use its online bundle.
Check the edition before counting practice
Publication dates in this list run from November 7, 2024 to January 2, 2026. When a listing names a new exam outline, as the Preparix listing does, check that outline before you count practice questions. For more nursing exam picks, see nursing exam study guides and CCRN study guides.
Before you buy
- Check the publication date and any edition note, since these listings range from 2024 to 2026.
- Check whether online practice needs a code from inside the book or a separate sign-up.
- Check whether the listing states an answer key, since the listings describe explanations and rationales.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which CEN study guide edition should I buy?
Start with the publication date, which ranges from November 7, 2024 to January 2, 2026 among these picks. The Preparix description mentions a July 2026 update, while its listed publication date is November 4, 2025.
How many practice questions do these guides include?
Newstone lists 3000 questions and Ellsworth lists 1500+. Preparix lists 1,800+ printable questions.
Does a CEN guide include an answer key?
The listings describe answer explanations and rationales. Check the full listing for a separate answer key before you buy, since the descriptions here do not name one.
Related lists
See every Licensing and Certification list and all Test Prep lists.
More lists: LCSW exam guides, HESI A2 guides and anatomy and physiology guides.
