Best Comptia A+ Study Guide (2026): 5 Compared
Five CompTIA A+ study guides for Core 1 (220-1201) and Core 2 (220-1202) compared on edition currency, practice material and format.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
A help-desk hopeful staring at the CompTIA exam objectives needs a guide that matches the current test, which is where this best comptia a+ study guide list comes in. Five study guides are compared below for the A+ Core 1 (220-1201) and Core 2 (220-1202) exams, on edition currency, practice material and format, with every figure taken from the listings.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield: 5,000+ question pool, 1,300+ flashcards, 2026 Check price on Amazon
Best All-in-One CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Walker: labs, 1,200+ questions, access never expires Check price on Amazon
Best 2-Volume Set A+ Complete Study Guide by Docter: two volumes covering 220-1201 and 220-1202 Check price on Amazon
Best for Network+ Next CompTIA Network+ Study Guide by Lammle: Network+ N10-009 guide after A+ Check price on Amazon
Best for Security+ Next CompTIA Security+ Kit by Chapple: Security+ SY0-701 kit after A+ Check price on Amazon
The picks

CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield
An exam-focused A+ study guide for Core 1 and Core 2 with an e-learning platform, exam simulations and IT case studies.
Pros
- Covers 220-1201 and 220-1202
- 5,000+ question pool and 1,300+ flashcards
- 261 pages, published March 5, 2026
Cons
- Platform access terms not stated
- Shorter print length than the Exam Cram
- Video lessons cover study technique only

CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Walker
An all-in-one A+ manual for Core 1 and Core 2 with labs, practical exercises and an AI trainer platform.
Pros
- 1,200+ questions, 1,100+ flashcards, 60-question sessions
- Platform access does not expire
- Labs and exercises included
Cons
- 165 pages, shortest print length here
- Published June 30, 2025
- No answer key details stated

Security+ Certification Kit by Chapple
Suits exam takers who want a study guide and a practice test book together; skip it if you want a single volume.
Pros
- The description names a 9th Edition study guide and a 3rd Edition practice tests book
- The listing states one year of complimentary access to the Sybex online learning environment after activation
- The description says the study guide was completely revised to align with the latest exam objectives
Cons
- The spec table lists a 7th edition, which does not match the 9th and 3rd editions named in the description
- The listing gives two page counts, 704 pages and 1,008 pages, so check the count before you buy
- The listing shows two publication dates, November 2023 and January 11, 2024

A+ Complete Study Guide by Docter
For readers taking the A+ 220-1201 and 220-1202 exams, not Security+, in two volumes.
Pros
- Two volumes cover the A+ Core 1 and Core 2 exams in one set
- Lists 1920 pages, a sixth edition and a complimentary online test bank
- The spec table states an audience level of Beginner
Cons
- Aimed at A+ exams, not Security+ SY0-701, so skip it for Security+ study
- At 1920 pages, it has the longest page count of all ten listings compared
- The listing says only hundreds of practice questions, with no exact count

Network+ Study Guide by Lammle
For readers taking the Network+ N10-009 exam, not Security+, with domain-by-domain review.
Pros
- Covers Network+ N10-009 objectives domain by domain, as the listing states
- Lists hundreds of practice questions, flashcards and a glossary of key terms
- Sixth edition dated May 7, 2024, with 1024 pages
Cons
- Covers Network+, not Security+ SY0-701, so skip it for a Security+ exam
- At 1024 pages, it is far longer than the Security+ books listed here
- The kit listing bundles this same guide, so buying both repeats content
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Quentin Docter A+ Certification KitStudy guide, practice tests and review guide bundle for both coresCheck on Amazon
A2 Learning A+ Flashcards430+ flashcard deck for Core 1 and Core 2 reviewCheck on Amazon
David Bayne A+ Exam CramCram-style review with four complete practice examsCheck on Amazon
Audrey O'Shea A+ Practice TestsHundreds of domain-by-domain practice questions with online test bankCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield | 9.7/10 | Hopperfield Education | 261 | March 5, 2026 | View on Amazon |
| CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Walker | 9.7/10 | Shawn Walker | 165 | June 30, 2025 | View on Amazon |
| A+ Complete Study Guide by Docter | 9.2/10 | Quentin Docter | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| CompTIA Network+ Study Guide by Lammle | 9.2/10 | Todd Lammle | Not stated | Not stated | |
| CompTIA Security+ Kit by Chapple | 9.7/10 | Mike Chapple | Not stated | Not stated |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. None of the five picks lists a reading age or grade level. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | n/a |
| CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Walker | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best comptia a+ study guide
Match the edition to the exam
Both full guides target Core 1 (220-1201) and Core 2 (220-1202). The Hopperfield was published March 5, 2026 and the Walker on June 30, 2025. See all certification exam prep lists for related exams.
Count the practice material
The Hopperfield platform draws on a pool of over 5,000 questions with 1,300+ flashcards; the Walker platform offers 1,200+ questions, 1,100+ flashcards and 60-question timed sessions. The Exam Cram in the more options adds four complete exams.
Pick the format that fits
The Walker listing says its platform access does not expire. The Hopperfield platform works across devices with video lessons on study technique. For the Security+ exam that often follows A+, see best study guide for security plus certification.
Before you buy
- Check the edition covers 220-1201 and 220-1202, the exam versions these listings target.
- Check whether the online platform access expires; the Walker listing says it does not.
- Check the print length against the study time available: 261 pages against 165 pages stated.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which exam versions do these guides cover?
The Hopperfield and Walker guides both state Core 1 (220-1201) and Core 2 (220-1202), and the Docter 2-volume set states exams 220-1201 and 220-1202.
How many practice questions do the listings state?
The Hopperfield platform draws on a pool of over 5,000 questions; the Walker lists 1,200+ questions and 1,100+ flashcards. The Exam Cram in the more options includes four complete exams.
Are the Network+ and Security+ books A+ guides?
No. The Lammle book targets Network+ exam N10-009 and the Chapple kit targets Security+ exam SY0-701; both are listed here as next steps after A+.
Related lists
See every licensing and certification list and all test prep lists.
More lists: security plus certification guides, CISSP books and security+ study guides.