Best CISSP Books (2026): 5 Study Guides Compared
We compared five CISSP study guides by exam fit, contents and edition, value and practice material, using only what each listing publishes.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The best CISSP books for a certification candidate match the current exam outline and the way you study: a full guide for the long read, practice tests for the final weeks. We compared five CISSP books by exam fit, contents and edition, value and practice material, using only what each listing publishes.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall CISSP Study Guide Bundle by Chapple: 2024 bundle: study guide plus practice tests, 1300+ questions. Check price on Amazon
Best Study Guide CISSP Official Study Guide by Chapple: Official 10th edition, 900+ questions, audio review included. Check price on Amazon
Best Concise Guide Destination CISSP by Witcher: Second edition, 532 pages, diagrams and summary tables. Check price on Amazon
Best Comprehensive Volume CISSP All-in-One Guide by Maymi: 1360 pages, 1400+ questions; follows the 2021 exam. Check price on Amazon
Best Mindset Supplement Think Like a Manager by Ahmed: 66 pages, 25 scenario questions on thinking like a manager. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CISSP Study Guide Bundle by Chapple | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | CISSP Official Study Guide by Chapple | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Destination CISSP by Witcher | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | CISSP All-in-One Guide by Maymi | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Think Like a Manager by Ahmed | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

CISSP Study Guide Bundle by Chapple
For the candidate who wants the official study guide and practice tests together in one 2024-aligned set.
Pros
- Updated for the 2024 CISSP outline, per the listing.
- More than 1300 practice questions stated.
- Flashcards, audio review and online tests included.
Cons
- Two volumes to carry instead of one.
- Overlaps the standalone study guide also on this list.
- The practice-tests volume is the 4th edition.

CISSP Official Study Guide by Chapple
For the candidate who wants the official 10th-edition study guide with online practice exams and audio review.
Pros
- Fully updated for the 2024 CISSP outline.
- Over 900 practice questions with answer explanations.
- More than 1000 flashcards and 2 hours of audio.
Cons
- 1,248 pages is a long read.
- Overlaps the bundle also on this list.
- Online features need the Sybex online environment.

Destination CISSP by Witcher
For the candidate who wants a concise 2024-aligned guide with diagrams and summary tables.
Pros
- Second edition aligned with the 2024 exam outline.
- Concise at 532 pages.
- Diagrams and summary tables throughout, per the description.
Cons
- No practice question count is stated.
- No online practice environment is stated.
- Fewer pages than the Sybex guides.

CISSP All-in-One Guide by Maymi
For the candidate who wants a single comprehensive volume, noting its 9th edition follows the 2021 exam.
Pros
- 1,360 pages, the longest volume here.
- More than 1400 practice questions stated.
- Test engine with full-length exams and flashcards.
Cons
- Ninth edition follows the 2021 exam, an older outline.
- The listing does not state 2024 outline coverage.
- 1,360 pages is a long read.

Think Like a Manager by Ahmed
For the candidate who wants a short mindset supplement of 25 scenario questions, not a full guide.
Pros
- Focuses on manager-level thinking for scenario questions.
- 25 practice questions with detailed explanations.
- Short at 66 pages for a final mindset check.
Cons
- Not a full study guide; states no domain coverage.
- 2020 publication predates the 2024 outline.
- Only 25 questions, far fewer than the other picks.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
CISSP Study Guide by FeldmanFor exam takers wanting all domains covered concisely, per the listing.Check on Amazon
CISSP Certification Guide by AventisFor senior security professionals wanting scenario-based practice across eight domains.Check on Amazon
CISSP For Dummies by MillerFor readers wanting the Dummies guide updated to the 2024 outline.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Published | Practice tests | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CISSP Study Guide Bundle by Chapple | 9.8/10 | Mike Chapple et al. | 1248 | June 2024 | 1300+ | View on Amazon |
| CISSP Official Study Guide by Chapple | 9.7/10 | Mike Chapple et al. | 1248 | June 2024 | 900+ | View on Amazon |
| Destination CISSP by Witcher | 9.7/10 | Rob Witcher et al. | 532 | May 2024 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| CISSP All-in-One Guide by Maymi | 9.6/10 | Fernando Maymi, Shon Harris | 1360 | Dec 2021 | 1400+ | View on Amazon |
| Think Like a Manager by Ahmed | 9.4/10 | Luke Ahmed | 66 | Aug 2020 | 25 | View on Amazon |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. None of these five listings states a reading age or grade level, so no points were awarded there. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CISSP Study Guide Bundle by Chapple | 9.8 | 33 | 24 | 21 | n/a |
| CISSP Official Study Guide by Chapple | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 20 | n/a |
| Destination CISSP by Witcher | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 20 | n/a |
| CISSP All-in-One Guide by Maymi | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
| Think Like a Manager by Ahmed | 9.4 | 23 | 16 | 16 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best CISSP books
Match the edition to the exam outline
Edition year matters more than page count for a certification book. The Sybex bundle and study guide and the Destination CISSP guide are aligned with the 2024 outline, per their listings. The All-in-One guide follows the 2021 exam, and the manager book dates to 2020. See our best ASVAB book list for another certification-exam roundup.
Decide between a full guide and a supplement
The bundle pairs the official study guide with a practice-tests volume; the standalone guide covers the same 2024 material alone. Destination CISSP is the concise option at 532 pages, while Think Like a Manager is a 66-page supplement of 25 scenario questions. Browse every certification exam prep list when comparing across exams.
Check what practice material is included
The bundle states more than 1300 questions, the All-in-One more than 1400, and the study guide over 900 with explanations. Destination CISSP states no question count, and the manager book states 25. See our best ACT books for how another exam list handles practice volume.
Before you buy
Before you buy
- Check the edition and publication date against the current exam outline; these listings range from 2020 to 2024.
- Confirm the practice material: question counts, answer explanations and online access differ by listing.
- Note whether the listing points to a newer edition before buying an older one.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which book should I start with for the CISSP exam?
The listings position the official study guide as the core text; the bundle adds the practice-tests volume for the same 2024 outline.
Do these books include practice questions?
The bundle states more than 1300 questions, the All-in-One more than 1400, the study guide over 900, and the manager book 25. Destination CISSP states no count.
Which edition should I buy?
The Sybex bundle, study guide and Destination CISSP follow the 2024 outline, per their listings. The All-in-One follows the 2021 exam.
Related lists
See every licensing and certification list and all test prep lists. Also see our best MCAT books. Also see our best LSAT books.
More lists: best MCAT books, best LSAT books, graduate test prep.