Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Test Prep

Best Comptia A+ Study Guide for Beginners (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four CompTIA A+ study guides for beginners compared by fit, contents and value, from a platform-based latest-objectives guide to a full reference.

Best Comptia A+ Study Guide for Beginners (2026): 4 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

A beginner facing a first IT certification often wonders where to start, and the best comptia a+ study guide for beginners turns that uncertainty into a clear study path. This list compares four guides for new IT learners by fit, contents and reader, so you can pick the one that matches how you study.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • A+ Study Guide by Bridge
    Best Overall A+ Study Guide by Bridge: Latest objectives with an online study platform Check price on Amazon
  • A+ All-in-One by Everett
    Best Comprehensive Reference A+ All-in-One by Everett: 1472 pages covering every exam topic Check price on Amazon
  • CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield
    Core 1 and 2 Guide A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield: A Core 1 and Core 2 guide with e-learning Check price on Amazon
  • CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Walker
    Labs and AI Trainer Guide A+ Study Guide by Walker: A guide with labs and an exam AI trainer Check price on Amazon

The picks

A+ Study Guide by Bridge

A+ Study Guide by Bridge

Walker Bridge9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A beginner-friendly guide to the latest Core 1 and Core 2 objectives, paired with an online platform of mock exams, labs and flashcards.

Pros

  • Fully updated to the latest 220-1201 and 220-1202 objectives
  • Plain-language explanations written for beginners with no prior IT experience
  • Online platform adds mock exams, labs and flashcards

Cons

  • Print length of 171 pages relies on the online platform for depth
  • Online platform access depends on the code inside the book
  • Platform features require a browser and internet access
A+ All-in-One by Everett

A+ All-in-One by Everett

Travis A. Everett9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A comprehensive 1472-page reference and exam guide covering the 220-1101 and 220-1102 exams, with practice exams and video training.

Pros

  • 1472 pages covering all exam topics, from CPUs to networks and security
  • Practice exam questions with in-depth explanations in every chapter
  • Online content adds practice exams, video training and simulations

Cons

  • Covers the older 220-1101 and 220-1102 exams, not the latest 220-1201 and 220-1202 objectives
  • 1472 pages makes it a heavy reference to carry and finish
  • No reading age or grade level stated in the listing
CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield

CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield

Hopperfield Education9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

An exam-focused A+ study guide for Core 1 and Core 2 with an e-learning platform, exam simulations and IT case studies.

Pros

  • Covers 220-1201 and 220-1202
  • 5,000+ question pool and 1,300+ flashcards
  • 261 pages, published March 5, 2026

Cons

  • Platform access terms not stated
  • Shorter print length than the Exam Cram
  • Video lessons cover study technique only
CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Walker

CompTIA A+ Study Guide by Walker

Shawn Walker9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

An all-in-one A+ manual for Core 1 and Core 2 with labs, practical exercises and an AI trainer platform.

Pros

  • 1,200+ questions, 1,100+ flashcards, 60-question sessions
  • Platform access does not expire
  • Labs and exercises included

Cons

  • 165 pages, shortest print length here
  • Published June 30, 2025
  • No answer key details stated

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • CompTIA A+ Certification Kit by DocterCompTIA A+ Certification Kit by DocterFor beginners wanting a full bundle of study guide, review guide and practice testsCheck on Amazon
  • CompTIA A+ Review Guide by McMillanCompTIA A+ Review Guide by McMillanFor beginners wanting a concise review companion to a study guideCheck on Amazon
  • CompTIA A+ Definitive GuideCompTIA A+ Definitive GuideFor beginners wanting labs and practical exercises for Core 1 and 2Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Published Amazon
A+ Study Guide by Bridge 9.7/10 Walker Bridge 171 October 13, 2025 View on Amazon
A+ All-in-One by Everett 9.7/10 Travis A. Everett, Andrew Hutz 1472 January 25, 2023 View on Amazon
A+ Study Guide by Hopperfield 9.7/10 Hopperfield Education Not stated Not stated
A+ Study Guide by Walker 9.7/10 Shawn Walker Not stated Not stated

Book details as published on each listing, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. None of the four picks lists a reading age, grade level or skill level. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
A+ Study Guide by Bridge 9.7 32 21 21 n/a
A+ All-in-One by Everett 9.7 28 22 20 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best comptia a+ study guide for beginners

Match the guide to the current exams

The Bridge guide is fully updated to the latest 220-1201 and 220-1202 objectives, while the All-in-One guide covers the older 220-1101 and 220-1102 exams. A beginner starting now should check the exam numbers on the listing first. For a broader look at beginner guides, see this comptia a+ study guide list.

Decide how you want to practice

The Bridge guide pairs its pages with an online platform of mock exams, labs and flashcards, while the All-in-One guide adds practice exams, video training and simulations. A reader who learns by doing may prefer the platform, while a reader who wants one big reference may prefer the All-in-One. Beginners in other fields can compare approaches in this study guide for security plus certification list.

Before you buy

  • Check the exam numbers on the listing: 220-1201 and 220-1202 are the latest objectives here.
  • Check whether online extras are included, and whether they need a code or a browser.
  • Check the edition and publication date, since older editions cover older exam versions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which guide covers the latest CompTIA A+ exams?

The Bridge guide is fully updated to the latest Core 1 (220-1201) and Core 2 (220-1202) objectives. The All-in-One guide covers the older 220-1101 and 220-1102 exams instead.

Which guide suits a reader with no IT experience?

The Bridge guide uses plain-language, step-by-step explanations written for beginners, career changers and first-time candidates. Its online platform adds mock exams, labs and flashcards for practice.

Does the All-in-One guide cover the latest exams?

No. The All-in-One guide is fully revised for the 2022 exam objectives, covering exams 220-1101 and 220-1102. A beginner starting now should check the exam numbers before buying.

A+ Study Guide by Bridge
Still deciding? Our top pickA+ Study Guide by Bridge
Check price on Amazon

See every Test Prep list.

More lists: browse certification exam prep, college admission test prep and graduate test prep.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Clep History Books for College Credit?

    Four REA CLEP prep books compared by fit, contents, value and listed reading level, from a history volume to government, composition and biology.

  2. What is the best Emt Books Under 60?

    Five EMT books for NREMT candidates compared by exam fit, contents and edition, and value, from full-length prep guides to a terminology book.

  3. What are the best Psat Books for Sophomores?

    Prep books for a sophomore starting PSAT study, compared by practice tests, edition year and listed grade level, from PSAT 8/9 guides to a 2025 PSAT/NMSQT…

  4. What is the best Teas Book for Retakers?

    Five TEAS 7 study guides for retakers, compared on practice tests, study plans, flashcards and edition years to help pick the right guide.