Best Study Guide for Security Plus Certification (2026)
Two SY0-701 guides lead this list, with Network+, SecurityX and physical security options compared by edition date, page count and listed contents.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
A career changer with a Security+ exam date still has to choose the best study guide for security plus certification, and the right pick depends on the exam name and edition. We compared ten listings by exam, edition date, page count and listed contents, so you can spot the books written for SY0-701 and the ones aimed at related exams.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Security+ Study Guide by Hopperfield: SY0-701 focus, 198 pages, with a full-length exam simulator Check price on Amazon
Best Short SY0-701 Guide Security+ SY0-701 Guide by Walker: 123 pages, with a lab simulator and AI trainer named in the listing Check price on Amazon
Best for Network+ Exam Network+ Study Guide by Lammle: For the N10-009 exam, 1024 pages, not Security+ Check price on Amazon
Best for A+ Exams A+ Complete Study Guide by Docter: For 220-1201 and 220-1202, 1920 pages, not Security+ Check price on Amazon
Best Network+ Kit Network+ Certification Kit by Lammle: Two Network+ books in one kit, page count Not stated Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Security+ Study Guide by Hopperfield | 9.5/10 | Buy |
| 2 | Security+ SY0-701 Guide by Walker | 9.4/10 | Buy |
| 3 | Network+ Study Guide by Lammle | 9.2/10 | Buy |
| 4 | A+ Complete Study Guide by Docter | 9.2/10 | Buy |
| 5 | Network+ Certification Kit by Lammle | 9.2/10 | Buy |

Security+ Study Guide by Hopperfield
For readers preparing for SY0-701 who want one volume with a full-length exam simulator and flashcards.
Pros
- Names SY0-701 and lists security principles, threats, architecture and governance topics
- Full-length exam simulations are timed, with instant scoring and feedback
- Publication date is February 15, 2026, and the listing says it supports SY0-701 study
Cons
- The listing does not state an answer key, so check before buying
- Flashcards and a digital platform are listed, but their access terms are Not stated
- At 198 pages, the feature list is long, so check the chapter list first

Security+ SY0-701 Guide by Walker
For SY0-701 readers who want a shorter guide with a lab simulator and an AI-powered trainer.
Pros
- At 123 pages, a lighter read than the other SY0-701 listings here
- Names a lab simulator and an AI-powered trainer as included features
- Dated August 2, 2025, and the listing names SY0-701 as its exam
Cons
- Publisher is listed as independently published, not a major publishing house
- The listing title trails off, so its practice test count is Not stated
- Lifetime updates and a 24/7 AI mentor are the publisher's claims, not checked here

Network+ Study Guide by Lammle
For readers taking the Network+ N10-009 exam, not Security+, with domain-by-domain review.
Pros
- Covers Network+ N10-009 objectives domain by domain, as the listing states
- Lists hundreds of practice questions, flashcards and a glossary of key terms
- Sixth edition dated May 7, 2024, with 1024 pages
Cons
- Covers Network+, not Security+ SY0-701, so skip it for a Security+ exam
- At 1024 pages, it is far longer than the Security+ books listed here
- The kit listing bundles this same guide, so buying both repeats content

A+ Complete Study Guide by Docter
For readers taking the A+ 220-1201 and 220-1202 exams, not Security+, in two volumes.
Pros
- Two volumes cover the A+ Core 1 and Core 2 exams in one set
- Lists 1920 pages, a sixth edition and a complimentary online test bank
- The spec table states an audience level of Beginner
Cons
- Aimed at A+ exams, not Security+ SY0-701, so skip it for Security+ study
- At 1920 pages, it has the longest page count of all ten listings compared
- The listing says only hundreds of practice questions, with no exact count

Network+ Certification Kit by Lammle
A Network+ N10-009 bundle of two Sybex books, for readers who want one kit, not Security+.
Pros
- Bundles a study guide and a practice test book in one purchase
- Lists online study tools, including flashcards and custom practice exams
- Covers Network+ N10-009 objectives, as the description states
Cons
- Edition reads 7th, but the description names a 6th edition guide and 3rd edition practice tests
- Print length is Not stated, so page counts cannot be compared
- Includes the Network+ study guide listed separately here, so buying both repeats content
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
PSC Study Guide by HaseloffFor SPeD Physical Security Certification (PSC) exam takers, not Security+.Check on Amazon
SecurityX CAS-005 Guide by BirchFor CompTIA SecurityX CAS-005 exam takers, a more advanced step beyond Security+.Check on Amazon
Security+ SY0-701 Guide by YneChaFor SY0-701 exam takers who want full-length practice exams and flashcards.Check on Amazon
Security+ Study Cards by Test PrepFor SY0-701 exam takers who prefer color-coded cards to a full book.Check on Amazon
Network+ All-in-One Guide by WeissmanFor Network+ N10-009 exam takers, not Security+, with 180 practice questions.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security+ Study Guide by Hopperfield | 9.5/10 | Hopperfield Education | 198 | February 15, 2026 | Check price |
| Security+ SY0-701 Guide by Walker | 9.4/10 | Shawn Walker | 123 | August 2, 2025 | Check price |
| Network+ Study Guide by Lammle | 9.2/10 | Todd Lammle, Jon Buhagiar | 1024 | May 7, 2024 | Check price |
| A+ Complete Study Guide by Docter | 9.2/10 | Quentin Docter, Jon Buhagiar | 1920 | July 16, 2025 | Check price |
| Network+ Certification Kit by Lammle | 9.2/10 | Todd Lammle | Not stated | May 7, 2024 | Check price |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 17 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Of the five picks, only the A+ set lists a level, an audience level of Beginner, and the other four list no reading age or grade level. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Security+ Study Guide by Hopperfield | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 0 |
| Security+ SY0-701 Guide by Walker | 9.4 | 28 | 18 | 16 | 0 |
| Network+ Study Guide by Lammle | 9.2 | 5 | 22 | 20 | 0 |
| A+ Complete Study Guide by Docter | 9.2 | 2 | 20 | 19 | 3 |
| Network+ Certification Kit by Lammle | 9.2 | 5 | 20 | 20 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best study guide for security plus certification
Start with the exam name
A Security+ book should name SY0-701 in its listing, as the Walker and Hopperfield titles do. The Network+ and A+ titles name their own exams, so read the exam line before comparing page counts.
Check the edition date
Exam versions change, so the publication date matters. Compare dates across our Security+ book roundup, and if your exam is a different one, see our EMT study guide list.
Before you buy
- Check the exam name and version, such as SY0-701, on the listing.
- Check the edition year and ISBN, since the Network+ kit names two different editions.
- Check whether an answer key is included, because none of the five picks states one.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Security+ listing is newer?
The Hopperfield listing, dated February 15, 2026, is newer than the Walker listing, dated August 2, 2025.
Is there an answer key with these study guides?
None of the five picks states an answer key in its listing, so check the contents before you buy.
Are the Network+ and A+ books for Security+?
No. Their listings name N10-009 and 220-1201 and 220-1202, so check the exam name before buying.
Related lists
See every Licensing and Certification list and all Test Prep lists.
More lists: CCRN study guides, LCSW exam guides and PTCB study guides.