Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

SAT, ACT and AP

Best Psat Books for Sophomores (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Prep books for a sophomore starting PSAT study, compared by practice tests, edition year and listed grade level, from PSAT 8/9 guides to a 2025 PSAT/NMSQT guide.

Best Psat Books for Sophomores (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

A sophomore starting PSAT prep needs a book that matches the exam ahead, and the best psat books for sophomores are the books whose listings state the right exam, a recent edition and practice material. We compared prep books by practice tests, edition year and grade level.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2025 by Princeton
    Best Overall PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2025 by Princeton: 2025 guide to the digital PSAT/NMSQT with 3 practice tests Check price on Amazon
  • PSAT 8/9 Prep by Princeton Review
    Best for PSAT 8/9 PSAT 8/9 Prep by Princeton Review: 2nd Edition PSAT 8/9 guide with 2 practice tests, grade 10 to 12 Check price on Amazon
  • PSAT 8/9 Test Prep by Quantum Prep
    Best for Practice Volume PSAT 8/9 Test Prep by Quantum Prep: 35 full-length practice tests and 4000+ practice questions Check price on Amazon

The picks

PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2025 by Princeton

PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2025 by Princeton

The Princeton Review9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 2025 guide to the digital PSAT/NMSQT with 3 practice tests, for a sophomore facing NMSQT year.

Pros

  • 3 practice tests with answer explanations
  • Review for every PSAT/NMSQT section
  • Grade level 10 to 12 fits a sophomore

Cons

  • January 21, 2025 edition
  • 1 in book, 2 online
  • No reading age stated
PSAT 8/9 Prep by Princeton Review

PSAT 8/9 Prep by Princeton Review

The Princeton Review9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 2nd Edition PSAT 8/9 guide with 2 practice tests, for a sophomore wanting PSAT 8/9 practice.

Pros

  • 2 practice tests, 1 in book, 1 online
  • 180+ drill questions throughout
  • Grade level 10 to 12 fits a sophomore

Cons

  • May 14, 2024 edition
  • Covers PSAT 8/9, not PSAT/NMSQT
  • No reading age stated
PSAT 8/9 Test Prep by Quantum Prep

PSAT 8/9 Test Prep by Quantum Prep

Quantum Prep Publishing9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

An up-to-date PSAT 8/9 book with 35 practice tests and 4000+ questions, for a sophomore wanting heavy practice.

Pros

  • 35 practice tests for endurance
  • 4000+ questions to reinforce key skills
  • September 8, 2026 edition, the newest year

Cons

  • No grade level or reading age
  • 196 pages, the lowest count here
  • Covers PSAT 8/9, not PSAT/NMSQT
PSAT/NMSQT exam prep by Elite Prep

PSAT/NMSQT exam prep by Elite Prep

Elite Prep Publishing9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A PSAT/NMSQT study system claiming 35 full-length exams with step-by-step explanations; for a student wanting a structured plan from overview to exam day.

Pros

  • Claims 35 full-length exams with explanations
  • Covers reading, writing and math
  • Published June 2026

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level stated
  • Independently published
  • Title nearly matches the publisher's 8/9 book
SAT Test Prep by Rockforge Ed.

SAT Test Prep by Rockforge Ed.

Rockforge Ed.9.3/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 196-page independently published study book offering Bluebook platform walkthroughs, pacing techniques and exam strategies.

Pros

  • Published August 21, 2026, making it a very recent publication
  • 196 pages makes it compact and easy to carry
  • Includes walkthroughs for the Bluebook platform tools and shortcuts
  • Provides flexible study plan outlines spanning four months to seven days

Cons

  • Listing claims 35+ full-length practice tests and 4,000+ questions within only 196 pages
  • Independently published without formal test-maker affiliation
  • No grade level or reading age is stated
  • Short page count leaves little room for detailed concept instruction

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • 575+ Practice Questions by Princeton575+ Practice Questions by PrincetonFor a sophomore who wants extra PSAT practice questions beyond a main guide.Check on Amazon
  • PSAT/NMSQT Focused Exam Prep by WayPSAT/NMSQT Focused Exam Prep by WayFor a sophomore who wants a step-by-step PSAT/NMSQT study plan with timed practice.Check on Amazon
  • PSAT Prep by BowlingPSAT Prep by BowlingFor a sophomore who wants video tutorials with PSAT practice tests.Check on Amazon
  • PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2026-2027PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2026-2027For a sophomore who wants a PSAT/NMSQT study guide with practice tests.Check on Amazon
  • PSAT Prep: Digital Practice TestsPSAT Prep: Digital Practice TestsFor a sophomore who wants digital PSAT practice tests and a study guide.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or grade Amazon
PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2025 by Princeton 9.7/10 The Princeton Review 448 Grade 10 to 12 View on Amazon
PSAT 8/9 Prep by Princeton Review 9.6/10 The Princeton Review 400 Grade 10 to 12 View on Amazon
PSAT 8/9 Test Prep by Quantum Prep 9.5/10 Quantum Prep Publishing 196 Not stated View on Amazon
PSAT/NMSQT Exam Prep by Elite Prep 9.7/10 Elite Prep Publishing Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
SAT Test Prep by Rockforge 9.3/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated

Book details as published on each listing, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and the listed level where given. Two picks list a grade level; the rest state none. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2025 by Princeton 9.7 30 21 21 7
PSAT 8/9 Prep by Princeton Review 9.6 28 19 20 7
PSAT 8/9 Test Prep by Quantum Prep 9.5 27 22 20 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best psat books for sophomores

Match the exam, not just the title

The 2025 Princeton Review guide aims at the digital PSAT/NMSQT, while the other two full-data guides aim at the PSAT 8/9. Match the exam name in the title to the exam ahead, and see best PSAT books for a wider view.

Check the edition year and the practice count

Edition years run from May 14, 2024 to September 8, 2026, and practice counts run from 2 to 35 practice tests. Check both numbers before choosing, and browse all SAT, ACT and AP lists for more exam guides.

Use the listed grade level

Two Princeton Review listings give grade level 10 to 12, while the Quantum Prep listing states no grade level. Judge fit by exam name and practice count when no level is stated.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition year: the PSAT 8/9 Prep is the 2nd Edition, May 14, 2024.
  • Check answer explanations: both Princeton Review guides state them.
  • Check the grade level: two listings give 10 to 12; the Quantum Prep listing states none.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which PSAT book should a sophomore start with?

Start with the Princeton Review PSAT/NMSQT Prep, 2025: grade level 10 to 12 and 3 practice tests.

What is the difference between PSAT 8/9 and PSAT/NMSQT prep books?

The title exam name differs: PSAT 8/9 books drill that exam, while the NMSQT guide covers the digital PSAT/NMSQT.

Do these books include answer explanations?

Both Princeton Review guides state answer explanations, and the Quantum Prep book states easy-to-follow explanations.

PSAT/NMSQT Prep 2025 by Princeton
Still deciding? Our top pickPSAT/NMSQT Prep 2025 by Princeton
Check price on Amazon

See every SAT, ACT and AP list and all Test Prep lists.

More lists: best PSAT books, geometry workbooks and sign language books for students.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best American Government Books?

    AP course books, course texts, an anthology and a visual guide compared by fit, contents, value and reading level for American government readers.

  2. What is the best Test Prep Shsat?

    4 SHSAT and SAT prep guides compared on fit, contents, edition and listed level, for eighth and ninth graders preparing for the specialized high schools admissions…

  3. What are the best SAT Prep Books for Homeschoolers?

    Five SAT prep books compared by stated page count, focus, author and format, for homeschoolers preparing for the SAT exam.

  4. What are the best PSAT Books?

    Five PSAT prep books compared by practice volume, edition date, page count and stated reading age, from full PSAT/NMSQT systems to a reading-only guide.