Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Licensing and Certification

Best Study Guide for FNP (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four books for family nurse practitioner exam prep and clinical study, compared by practice material, edition date and format.

Best Study Guide for FNP (2026): 4 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

If you are a family nurse practitioner student with a certification exam on the calendar, the best study guide for FNP is the one that fits your exam date and how you study. This list compares the listings by exam focus, practice material, edition and format.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • FNP Intensive Review by Leik
    Best Overall FNP Intensive Review by Leik: Exam review with four practice exams and six months of course access Check price on Amazon
  • FNP Exam Prep by Ellsworth
    Best for Practice Exams FNP Exam Prep by Ellsworth: Ten full-length practice exams and 1500+ questions, per its description Check price on Amazon
  • Visual FNP Companion by Mosley
    Best for Clinical Reference Visual FNP Companion by Mosley: Full-color clinical sheets for FNP students and new grads, 251 pages Check price on Amazon
  • Pocket Pal by Hancock
    Best Pocket Size Pocket Pal by Hancock: A 98-page pocket reference, not written for FNP certification Check price on Amazon

The picks

FNP Intensive Review by Leik

FNP Intensive Review by Leik

Maria T. Codina Leik MSN ARNP FNP-C FNP-BC AGPCNP-BC9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For FNP test takers who want one review book with practice exams, the description says it is updated for the current AANPCB and ANCC blueprints.

Pros

  • Built for the FNP certification exams, with AANPCB and ANCC blueprints named in the description
  • More than 1,200 practice questions with rationales, plus four practice exams, per the description
  • Six months of companion course access on ExamPrepConnect is included, the listing states

Cons

  • Fifth edition published January 5, 2024; the listing does not say whether a newer edition exists
  • At 672 pages, it asks for a long study window
  • Companion course access runs six months, so a longer study plan may outlast it
FNP Exam Prep by Ellsworth

FNP Exam Prep by Ellsworth

Tara Ellsworth9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For readers who want many full-length practice exams, the description lists 10 of them plus an online test simulator.

Pros

  • Ten full-length practice exams, which the description says replicate the real test experience
  • 1500+ practice questions with rationales, according to the description
  • Lists an online test simulator for unlimited mock exams, as the description says

Cons

  • Independently published, and the listing gives no edition number
  • The description uses sales language and Buy Now prompts, so check the table of contents first
  • It says it follows current AANPCB and ANCC blueprints, but the listing states only the April 18, 2025 publication date
Visual FNP Companion by Mosley

Visual FNP Companion by Mosley

Nora J. Mosley9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For FNP students and new graduates who want a full-color clinical reference, not a practice-question book.

Pros

  • Seven guides in one 251-page, full-color volume, as the listing states
  • Covers pediatrics, geriatrics and women's health, per the description
  • Most recent publication of the four picks: June 9, 2026

Cons

  • Built as a point-of-care companion, and the listing does not mention practice questions or practice exams
  • The listing states no edition number and lists Independently published as the publisher
  • Its clinical sheets are not framed as exam preparation, so a test plan will need another book
Pocket Pal by Hancock

Pocket Pal by Hancock

Jim Hancock9.2/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For readers who want a small chart reference, but the listing aims it at several roles rather than FNP certification.

Pros

  • A 98-page pocket reference with color charts and tables, per the listing
  • QR-coded video lessons on chest X-ray, ECG, arrhythmia and suturing, the listing states
  • Third edition, published November 29, 2024, with revised medical guidelines

Cons

  • Written for medical students, interns, residents, nurses, PAs and EMTs, not FNP certification
  • No practice questions or exam simulations are listed
  • Most content is in chart form across many topics, so it is a quick reference rather than a study plan

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • FNP Exam Prep by HorizonFNP Exam Prep by HorizonFor readers who want a structured study plan and a large question bank.Check on Amazon
  • FNP Study Guide by MonroeFNP Study Guide by MonroeFor readers who want a 130-page blueprint with pharmacology and practice questions.Check on Amazon
  • FNP Certification Review by BowlingFNP Certification Review by BowlingFor readers who want a 7th edition review, 3 practice tests and video tutorials.Check on Amazon
  • Essential FNP Guide by SmartEssential FNP Guide by SmartFor FNPs who want a spiral-bound, 346-page desk reference rather than an exam book.Check on Amazon
  • FNP School Guide by WilliamsFNP School Guide by WilliamsFor FNP students who want condensed cram sheets across 19 sections.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Practice tests Amazon
FNP Intensive Review by Leik 9.8/10 Maria T. Codina Leik 672 4 Check price
FNP Exam Prep by Ellsworth 9.7/10 Tara Ellsworth 241 10 Check price
Visual FNP Companion by Mosley 9.5/10 Nora J. Mosley 251 Not stated Check price
Pocket Pal by Hancock 9.2/10 Jim Hancock 98 Not stated Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the FNP reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level. None of these picks lists a reading age or grade level, so that part is zero for each. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
FNP Intensive Review by Leik 9.8 32 22 21 n/a
FNP Exam Prep by Ellsworth 9.7 29 21 21 n/a
Visual FNP Companion by Mosley 9.5 24 19 19 n/a
Pocket Pal by Hancock 9.2 16 15 15 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best study guide for fnp

Match practice material to your study time

The Ellsworth listing states 10 practice exams and the Leik listing states 4, while the two clinical books do not state a practice count. If you want full practice exams before a test date, start with a book that lists them, then compare more options on our certification exam prep list.

Pair a reference with an exam review

A clinical companion is built for everyday primary care, so it works best beside an exam review rather than instead of one. For more nursing options, see our nursing book for exam list.

Check the edition year first

The Leik listing states a fifth edition published January 5, 2024, and does not say whether a newer edition exists. Compare publication dates across listings, because an older edition may not match a newer exam outline.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition line and publication date: the Leik listing is a fifth edition from January 5, 2024, and the Pocket Pal is a third edition from November 29, 2024.
  • Look for the practice count: the listings state 4 and 10 practice exams, and the two clinical books do not state one.
  • Match the book to your goal, since a clinical reference or pocket guide is not the same as an exam review.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which edition should I buy?

Buy the edition that matches your exam date, and check the publication date on each listing. The Leik listing states the fifth edition, published January 5, 2024.

Is there an answer key?

No listing states an answer key, included or sold separately. Leik and Ellsworth describe answer rationales, which are not the same thing, so check the listing before you buy.

Is a clinical reference the same as an exam guide?

No. The Visual Family Nurse Practitioner Companion is described as a point-of-care reference, and its listing does not mention practice exams.

FNP Intensive Review by Leik
Still deciding? Our top pickFNP Intensive Review by Leik
Check price on Amazon

See every certification exam prep list and all test prep lists.

More lists: CCRN study guides, EMT study guides and HESI A2 guides.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Study Guide for Book of Revelation?

    Four study guides for the Book of Revelation compared by lesson structure, print length, theological commentary, and visual reference charts for personal or group Bible study.

  2. What is the best Study Guide for Organic Chemistry?

    Five organic chemistry study guides compared by edition date, page count and format, from comprehensive solutions manuals to quick reference charts and workbooks.

  3. What is the best Study Guide for Old Testament?

    Four Old Testament study guides compared by edition, page count and listed reading level, from a boxed set and a single volume to a workbook for…

  4. What is the best Study Guide for NHA CCMA Exam?

    Four study guides for the NHA CCMA exam compared by question count, practice tests and edition date, with picks for timed practice and structured review.