Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Licensing and Certification

Best Study Guide for EMT (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five EMT exam and reference books compared by edition date, page count and practice content, with five more options for NREMT students.

Best Study Guide for EMT (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

Before the NREMT cognitive exam, an EMT student needs a book that fits the time left, and this roundup of the best study guide for EMT options shows which one matches that schedule. We compared five books on listed edition date, page count, practice content and what each description says, plus five more options.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • EMT Crash Course by Coughlin
    Best Overall EMT Crash Course by Coughlin: Third edition, 416 pages, with an online practice exam Check price on Amazon
  • NREMT Question Guide by Kingsley
    Best for Question Decoding NREMT Question Guide by Kingsley: Teaches a method for FIRST, NEXT, MOST and BEST question types Check price on Amazon
  • NREMT Study Guide by Newstone TP
    Best for Practice Volume NREMT Study Guide by Newstone TP: 2040 questions, 17 full-length exams and a simulator, 306 pages Check price on Amazon
  • EMT Reference Guide by Kolmetz
    Best Reference Card EMT Reference Guide by Kolmetz: Laminated 6-page chart, 2025 edition, for quick review Check price on Amazon

The picks

EMT Crash Course by Coughlin

EMT Crash Course by Coughlin

Christopher Coughlin Ph.D.9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Suits a student who needs a concise NREMT cognitive exam review with an online practice test, and who has time for a 416-page book.

Pros

  • Third edition, with the publication date of November 18, 2023 stated on the listing
  • Lists a glossary of over 400 key terms and end-of-chapter drill questions
  • Includes a full-length online practice exam with topic-level scoring, per the description

Cons

  • The description calls it concise, but 416 pages is a long read for a last-minute review
  • The publisher says its prep is fully up-to-date, but the newest date on the listing is November 2023
  • No number of online practice questions is stated
NREMT Study Guide by Newstone TP

NREMT Study Guide by Newstone TP

Newstone TP9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Suits a student who wants a large set of practice questions and an exam simulator, and who is comfortable working through many questions.

Pros

  • Lists 2040 questions, 17 full-length exams and an exam simulator, per the description
  • Published November 18, 2025, the most recent date among these picks
  • Includes a 7-week study plan, a 6-day urgent plan and 2000 digital flashcards

Cons

  • Access to the simulator and exams depends on a code inside the book
  • Print length of 306 pages is hard to square with a 300-page review plus 2040 questions
  • The description says the question count matches the real exams; that is the publisher's claim
NREMT Question Guide by Kingsley

NREMT Question Guide by Kingsley

Leonard Kingsley9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Suits a student who keeps second-guessing between two plausible answers and wants a short book on question priority, not a full review.

Pros

  • Teaches a method for FIRST, NEXT, MOST, BEST and EXCEPT questions, per the description
  • Lists a 7-day rapid review, 1000+ questions and a full-length practice exam
  • Published October 28, 2024, with detailed rationales and flashcards listed

Cons

  • Print length of 109 pages is short for a full EMT review
  • The title makes pass and score claims that are the publisher's, not outcomes the listing measures
  • Independently published, and no edition number is stated
EMT Reference Guide by Kolmetz

EMT Reference Guide by Kolmetz

Melodie Kolmetz Ed.D MPAS PA-C DFAAPA NRP CP-P9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Suits an EMT student who wants a laminated summary chart for quick review, and who will still need a full exam guide for the test.

Pros

  • Laminated, 6 pages, measuring 8.5 x 11 inches, per the listing
  • Covers scene size-up, patient assessment, pediatric and geriatric differences and pharmacology
  • Published May 1, 2025, with the 2025 edition stated

Cons

  • Six pages cover many topics, so each gets only a short summary
  • No practice questions or exam simulator are stated in the listing
  • A reference card, not a full exam prep book
Medical Terminology by QuickStudy

Medical Terminology by QuickStudy

QuickStudy9.2/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Suits a student who wants a laminated medical word reference, and who should skip it if the goal is the NREMT exam itself.

Pros

  • Laminated 8.5 x 11 inch chart with a visual and spatial layout, per the listing
  • Covers word foundations, the human body, terminology sets and a glossary
  • Includes synonyms and the five senses section, as the bullets state

Cons

  • The listing does not mention EMT, NREMT or the EMT exam
  • First listed January 30, 2007, and no publication date or edition is stated
  • No page count is stated for this chart

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • EMT Exam Guide by PeakPrepEMT Exam Guide by PeakPrepFor readers wanting a 7-day plan, with 30 practice tests and 144 pages stated.Check on Amazon
  • NREMT Study Guide by SimondsNREMT Study Guide by SimondsFor a bundle with 2,040 practice questions, 17 full exams and an audiobook.Check on Amazon
  • EMT Book by BowlingEMT Book by BowlingFor readers who want 5 practice tests, 2 in print, plus video tutorials.Check on Amazon
  • All-in-One EMT Exam Prep by CarterAll-in-One EMT Exam Prep by CarterFor a 2-week study plan with 1,000+ questions and 10 full exam simulations.Check on Amazon
  • EMT Study Guide by MorrisonEMT Study Guide by MorrisonFor readers who want 20 practice tests, 3 in the book and 17 online.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Published Practice tests Amazon
EMT Crash Course by Coughlin 9.7/10 416 November 18, 2023 Online exam, count not stated Check price
NREMT Study Guide by Newstone TP 9.7/10 306 November 18, 2025 17 full-length exams Check price
NREMT Question Guide by Kingsley 9.6/10 109 October 28, 2024 Not stated Check price
EMT Reference Guide by Kolmetz 9.5/10 6 May 1, 2025 Not stated Check price
Medical Terminology by QuickStudy 9.2/10 Not stated Not stated (first listed January 30, 2007) Not stated Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the EMT reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level. None of the five picks lists a reading age or grade level, so that part is zero for every book and the order rests on fit, contents and value. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
EMT Crash Course by Coughlin 9.7 30 21 21 n/a
NREMT Study Guide by Newstone TP 9.7 28 22 21 n/a
NREMT Question Guide by Kingsley 9.6 28 20 21 n/a
EMT Reference Guide by Kolmetz 9.5 26 18 16 n/a
Medical Terminology by QuickStudy 9.2 14 14 12 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best study guide for EMT

Match the length to your study window

With several weeks ahead, the 416-page REA crash course gives a full review. The 109-page Kingsley guide, whose title says it is built for 25 minutes a day, suits a shorter window.

Check the edition date before you buy

The REA guide is a third edition dated November 18, 2023, and the Newstone guide is dated November 18, 2025. The date is the clearest sign of how current a listing is. For a related emergency care exam, see the CEN exam study guides.

Pick a size you will finish

The Newstone guide lists 306 pages and 2040 questions, a lot of practice to work through. The 6-page QuickStudy chart works as a quick check, not a full exam plan. For a nursing exam, the nursing exam study guides cover a different test.

Before you buy

  • Check the publication date or edition on the listing, since the REA and Newstone guides show different years.
  • Check the page count against your study window, from 6 pages on the reference chart to 416 pages on the REA guide.
  • Check whether the online exam needs a code from inside the book, as the Newstone listing states.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which edition should an EMT student buy?

Check the publication date first. The REA guide is a third edition dated November 18, 2023, and the Newstone guide is dated November 18, 2025.

Is there an answer key?

None of the listings states a separate answer key. The Newstone and REA descriptions name detailed answer explanations instead.

What reading level does an EMT study guide suit?

None of the five picks lists a reading age or grade level, so check the page count and description against your own reading pace.

EMT Crash Course by Coughlin
Still deciding? Our top pickEMT Crash Course by Coughlin
Check price on Amazon

See every Licensing and Certification list and all Test Prep lists.

More lists: CCRN study guides, HESI A2 entrance guides and LCSW exam guides.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Study Guide for Book of Revelation?

    Four study guides for the Book of Revelation compared by lesson structure, print length, theological commentary, and visual reference charts for personal or group Bible study.

  2. What is the best Study Guide for Organic Chemistry?

    Five organic chemistry study guides compared by edition date, page count and format, from comprehensive solutions manuals to quick reference charts and workbooks.

  3. What is the best Study Guide for Old Testament?

    Four Old Testament study guides compared by edition, page count and listed reading level, from a boxed set and a single volume to a workbook for…

  4. What is the best Study Guide for NHA CCMA Exam?

    Four study guides for the NHA CCMA exam compared by question count, practice tests and edition date, with picks for timed practice and structured review.