Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Test Prep

Best Isee Prep Book for 7th Graders (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five ISEE Middle Level guides compared by practice tests, explanations, page count and edition, for families choosing a prep book.

Best Isee Prep Book for 7th Graders (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Finding the best isee prep book for 7th graders starts with the level: a Middle Level guide matches the exam a 7th grader will sit. The guides are compared by practice tests, explanations, page count and edition.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • ISEE Prep by Milestone
    Best Overall ISEE Prep by Milestone: 40+ practice tests with step-by-step explanations for every question Check price on Amazon
  • ISEE Prep by TestMastery
    Best for Test-Day Tips ISEE Prep by TestMastery: Pacing checkpoints plus a mistake-review method for study sessions Check price on Amazon
  • ISEE Prep by Optimal
    Best for Study Structure ISEE Prep by Optimal: Diagnostic-led sequence that finds weaknesses early in preparation Check price on Amazon
  • Kaplan SSAT & ISEE Prep
    Middle and Upper Levels SSAT and ISEE Prep by Kaplan: One title naming both Middle and Upper Level preparation Check price on Amazon
  • ISEE Upper Level Prep by Edsuccess
    Upper Level Option ISEE Prep by Milestone Upper: Upper Level title for readers past Middle Level preparation Check price on Amazon

The picks

ISEE Upper Level Prep by Edsuccess

ISEE Upper Level Prep by Edsuccess

Milestone Edsuccess9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

An Upper Level ISEE guide with 40+ practice tests and 4,000+ questions for students aiming at top independent schools.

Pros

  • 40+ full-length practice tests build pacing and stamina
  • 4,000+ practice questions cover every section and format
  • Step-by-step explanations for every question

Cons

  • 187 pages is the shortest book in this list
  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • Independently published, not from a major test-prep publisher
ISEE Prep by Milestone

ISEE Prep by Milestone

Milestone Edsuccess9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For a 7th grader preparing for the ISEE Middle Level who wants full explanations.

Pros

  • 40+ exam-aligned full-length practice tests described
  • 4,000+ realistic practice questions with step-by-step explanations
  • 30-minute essay framework and structured study plans included

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level stated
  • 214 pages, shorter than the other full-data guides
  • No companion or follow-up volume named
ISEE Prep by TestMastery

ISEE Prep by TestMastery

TestMastery Press9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For a 7th grader preparing for the ISEE Middle Level who wants pacing checkpoints.

Pros

  • 40 full-length practice tests plus additional practice tests
  • Pacing checkpoints and a mistake-review method described
  • August 22, 2026, the most recent date in this list

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level stated
  • No total practice question count stated
  • No essay section detail stated in the description
Kaplan SSAT & ISEE Prep

Kaplan SSAT & ISEE Prep

Kaplan Test Prep9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A combined SSAT and ISEE prep book with 4 practice tests and online extras, for grades 7 to 9.

Pros

  • 4 practice tests, 2 SSAT and 2 ISEE
  • 744 pages, the longest pick
  • Tenth edition with online video instruction

Cons

  • Only 2 of the 4 practice tests are SSAT tests
  • Combined with ISEE content, less SSAT-focused
  • 2021 edition is older than the 2026 picks
ISEE Prep by Optimal

ISEE Prep by Optimal

Optimal Prep Publishing9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For a 7th grader preparing for the ISEE Middle Level who wants a diagnostic-led sequence.

Pros

  • Diagnostic-led sequence finds weaknesses early, per the description
  • 279 pages, the longest among the full-data guides
  • Explanations framed as a learning tool for every mistake

Cons

  • Practice test counts of 20 and 35 both given, so the count is unclear
  • No reading age or grade level stated
  • February 19, 2026, earlier than the other full-data guides

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Published Amazon
ISEE Prep by Milestone 9.7/10 Milestone Edsuccess 214 August 12, 2026 View on Amazon
ISEE Prep by TestMastery 9.7/10 TestMastery Press 271 August 22, 2026 View on Amazon
ISEE Prep by Optimal 9.6/10 Optimal Prep Publishing 279 February 19, 2026 View on Amazon
SSAT and ISEE Prep by Kaplan 9.7/10 Kaplan Test Prep Not stated Not stated
ISEE Prep by Milestone Upper 9.7/10 Milestone Edsuccess Not stated Not stated

Book details as published on each listing, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where given. None of the listings here states a reading age or grade level, so that part of the score is zero. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
ISEE Prep by Milestone 9.7 30 21 21 n/a
ISEE Prep by TestMastery 9.7 29 21 20 n/a
ISEE Prep by Optimal 9.6 29 20 20 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best isee prep book for 7th graders

Match the level first

Start with a Middle Level title, and set an Upper Level title aside until the student moves up. A title naming both levels suits a family comparing the two. Browse middle grade books for more level-matched reading.

Weigh practice tests against explanations

A large practice bank helps only if each mistake teaches something, so check for step-by-step explanations. The Milestone guide pairs its bank with explanations; the TestMastery guide adds pacing checkpoints. See all test prep books.

Check the edition date

The guides here were published in 2026: TestMastery on August 22, 2026 and Milestone on August 12, 2026. When a listing points to a newer edition, buy that edition.

Before you buy

  • Check the publication date and edition on the listing.
  • Check which level the title names, Middle or Upper.
  • Check explanations and practice count consistency.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which ISEE level should a 7th grader prepare for?

The Middle Level guides match a 7th grader, while the Upper Level title aims higher.

How many practice tests does the Milestone guide offer?

The listing describes 40+ exam-aligned full-length practice tests and 4,000+ realistic practice questions.

Does the Optimal Prep guide state a single practice test count?

No, its description gives both 20 and 35 full-length practice tests.

ISEE Upper Level Prep by Edsuccess
Still deciding? Our top pickISEE Upper Level Prep by Edsuccess
Check price on Amazon

See every test prep list.

More lists: browse young adult books, graduate test prep and certification exam prep.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Clep History Books for College Credit?

    Four REA CLEP prep books compared by fit, contents, value and listed reading level, from a history volume to government, composition and biology.

  2. What is the best Emt Books Under 60?

    Five EMT books for NREMT candidates compared by exam fit, contents and edition, and value, from full-length prep guides to a terminology book.

  3. What is the best Comptia A+ Study Guide for Beginners?

    Four CompTIA A+ study guides for beginners compared by fit, contents and value, from a platform-based latest-objectives guide to a full reference.

  4. What are the best Psat Books for Sophomores?

    Prep books for a sophomore starting PSAT study, compared by practice tests, edition year and listed grade level, from PSAT 8/9 guides to a 2025 PSAT/NMSQT…