Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

SAT, ACT and AP

Best ACT Books (2026): 5 Compared, Plus 5 More

Five ACT books compared by pages, practice exams, grade level and publisher, with five more picks for flashcards, English and complete sets.

Best ACT Books (2026): 5 Compared, Plus 5 More

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Finding the best ACT books means matching the book to the student’s calendar and weak spots. The official guide leads on authority; the Kaplan on volume.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Official ACT Guide 2025-26
    Best Overall Official ACT Guide 2025-26: Official guide, 752 pages, book plus online course. Check price on Amazon
  • Kaplan Total Prep 2026-2027
    Best Big Book Kaplan Total Prep 2026-2027: 1016 pages, 6 practice exams, 2000+ questions. Check price on Amazon
  • ConquerMinds ACT Prep
    Best Compact ConquerMinds ACT Prep: 292 pages, 10 practice exams, 1000+ questions. Check price on Amazon
  • ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning
    Best Step-by-Step Benton ACT Prep: Step-by-step explanations, previously featured. Check price on Amazon
  • Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT
    Best 2026-2027 Official ACT Guide 2026-2027: Official 2026-2027 guide, previously featured. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT

Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT

ACT9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

The official guide from the test maker, featuring four authentic full-length practice tests and answer explanations for the Enhanced ACT.

Pros

  • Includes 4 authentic full-length ACT practice tests straight from the test maker
  • Provides clear answer explanations for every question across all sections
  • Updated with writing samples and prompts reflecting the Enhanced ACT experience
  • The listing states it includes online companion materials alongside the print book

Cons

  • 752 pages is bulky to carry to study sessions or school
  • Provides 4 practice tests, which is fewer than some independent drill collections claim
  • Does not list a specific reading age separate from grade level
  • Focuses on official questions rather than broken-down pacing drills for beginners
Official ACT Guide 2025-26

Official ACT Guide 2025-26

ACT9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

The official 752-page guide with an online course, for grades 10 to 12, from the ACT makers.

Pros

  • 752 pages from the official source
  • Book plus online course
  • Grades 10 to 12 stated

Cons

  • 2025 edition: check for newer
  • No practice exam count stated
  • No safety certification is stated
Kaplan Total Prep 2026-2027

Kaplan Total Prep 2026-2027

Kaplan Test Prep9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 1016-page Kaplan second edition with 6 full-length practice exams and 2000+ practice questions.

Pros

  • 1016 pages: the longest pick here
  • 6 full-length practice exams
  • 2000+ practice questions

Cons

  • Biggest commitment here
  • Grades 11 to 12 only
  • No safety certification is stated
ConquerMinds ACT Prep

ConquerMinds ACT Prep

ConquerMinds Press9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 292-page drill-heavy guide with 10 full-length practice exams and 1000+ questions.

Pros

  • 292 pages: compact
  • 10 full-length practice exams
  • 1000+ questions

Cons

  • Fewer pages of instruction
  • No grade level stated
  • No safety certification is stated
ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning

ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning

Benton Learning9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A compact prep book providing section-by-section drills, pacing tips, and flexible multi-week study schedules.

Pros

  • Description lists 4,000+ questions with step-by-step answer explanations
  • Provides five structured study schedules ranging from 7 days to 4 months
  • Features checklists for test day and the night before covering logistics and warm-ups
  • Published March 28, 2026 with targeted section strategies and trap breakdowns

Cons

  • Listing claims 50+ full-length practice tests inside 238 pages, an obvious contradiction
  • No reading age or grade level is listed
  • Earliest publication date among the 2026 listings in this comparison
  • Independently published without authentic questions from the exam maker

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Barron's ACT FlashcardsBarron's ACT Flashcards417 pages of flashcards, grades 9 to 12, 2026 edition.Check on Amazon
  • ACT Complete Set 2026-2027ACT Complete Set 2026-2027Official complete set, grades 10 to 12, 3rd edition.Check on Amazon
  • Meltzer ACT EnglishMeltzer ACT English293 pages on ACT English, ages 14 to 18.Check on Amazon
  • Kaplan Premium Prep 2026Kaplan Premium Prep 2026640 pages, 5 practice exams, grades 11 to 12.Check on Amazon
  • Princeton Review 2026Princeton Review 2026656 pages, 4 practice exams, grades 10 to 12.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Practice Exams Grade Level Publisher Amazon
Official ACT Guide 2025-26 9.7/10 752 Not stated 10 – 12 Not stated View on Amazon
Kaplan Total Prep 2026-2027 9.6/10 1016 6 11 – 12 Kaplan View on Amazon
ConquerMinds ACT Prep 9.6/10 292 10 Not stated ConquerMinds Press View on Amazon
Benton ACT Prep 9.4/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Benton Learning
Official ACT Guide 2026-2027 9.7/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition quality. None of the listings state a warranty.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Official ACT Guide 2025-26 9.7 30 21 20 n/a
Kaplan Total Prep 2026-2027 9.6 29 20 20 n/a
ConquerMinds ACT Prep 9.6 28 20 20 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best ACT books

Match the book to the calendar

A full rebuild gets the 1016-page Kaplan; a short runway gets the 292-page ConquerMinds. For high scorers, see our best ACT prep book for high scorers.

Count the practice exams

ConquerMinds states 10 full-length practice exams, Kaplan 6, Kaplan Premium 5, Princeton Review 4. The official guides state no exam count.

Check the grade band and edition

The official guide states grades 10 to 12; the Kaplan states 11 to 12. The flashcards in the more picks state grades 9 to 12. Check the edition year too: the 2026-2027 editions are current; the 2025 guide is the older pick.

Before you buy

  • For English only, the Meltzer guide in the more picks is the focused option.
  • The complete set suits the student buying every subject at once.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which book has the most practice exams?

ConquerMinds states 10 full-length practice exams; Kaplan states 6.

Which is the official book?

The Official ACT Prep Guide, in 2025-2026 and 2026-2027 editions, plus the complete set in the more picks.

Which is best for a short study plan?

The 292-page ConquerMinds: the most exams per page.

Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT
Still deciding? Our top pickOfficial ACT Prep Guide by ACT
Check price on Amazon

See every SAT, ACT and AP list and all Test Prep lists.

More lists: browse SAT, ACT and AP, MCAT books and Spanish workbooks.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Test Prep Shsat?

    4 SHSAT and SAT prep guides compared on fit, contents, edition and listed level, for eighth and ninth graders preparing for the specialized high schools admissions…

  2. What are the best SAT Prep Books for Homeschoolers?

    Five SAT prep books compared by stated page count, focus, author and format, for homeschoolers preparing for the SAT exam.

  3. What are the best PSAT Books?

    Five PSAT prep books compared by practice volume, edition date, page count and stated reading age, from full PSAT/NMSQT systems to a reading-only guide.

  4. What are the best Middle School Books about the Holocaust?

    Five Holocaust books for middle school compared by author, length, publication date, publisher and reading age, from memoirs to novels.