Best ACT Prep Book for High Scorers (2026): 4 Guides Compared
Four ACT study guides compared by edition date, practice test claims, question volume and page length, from the official test-maker book to independent drills.

On this page
With a test date on the calendar and an ambitious target score in mind, the best ACT prep book for high scorers is one that sharpens section pacing, targets hard question types, and provides realistic practice. We compared four guides by publication date, practice test counts, question volume, page length, and listed grade levels, so an advanced student can prepare efficiently.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Official Practice Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT: 4 authentic practice tests straight from the test maker with full answer explanations Check price
- Best Question Volume ACT Prep Success by Academia Jones: Claims 4,500+ practice questions and includes bonus digital flashcards and checklists Check price
- Best Digital Bonus Enhanced ACT Exam Prep by Revo Prep: Includes an online test simulator and a digital workbook alongside 2500+ questions Check price
- Best Study Timelines ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning: Features five structured study plans from 7 days to 4 months plus test-day checklists Check price
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Published | Practice tests |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT | 9.0/10 | ACT | 752 | May 11, 2026 | 4 authentic |
| ACT Prep Success by Academia Jones | 7.0/10 | Academia Jones | 246 | June 18, 2026 | 45+ claimed |
| Enhanced ACT Exam Prep by Revo Prep | 6.9/10 | Revo Prep | 259 | April 14, 2026 | Not stated |
| ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning | 6.5/10 | Benton Learning | 238 | March 28, 2026 | 50+ claimed |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 15 October 2026.
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT | 9.0/10 | Buy |
| 2 | ACT Prep Success by Academia Jones | 7.0/10 | Buy |
| 3 | Enhanced ACT Exam Prep by Revo Prep | 6.9/10 | Buy |
| 4 | ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning | 6.5/10 | Buy |

Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT
The official guide from the test maker, featuring four authentic full-length practice tests and answer explanations for the Enhanced ACT.
Pros
- Includes 4 authentic full-length ACT practice tests straight from the test maker
- Provides clear answer explanations for every question across all sections
- Updated with writing samples and prompts reflecting the Enhanced ACT experience
- The listing states it includes online companion materials alongside the print book
Cons
- 752 pages is bulky to carry to study sessions or school
- Provides 4 practice tests, which is fewer than some independent drill collections claim
- Does not list a specific reading age separate from grade level
- Focuses on official questions rather than broken-down pacing drills for beginners
Detailed Review
The test maker describes this guide as the comprehensive resource for the 2026-2027 ACT, providing four authentic full-length practice tests that reflect the Enhanced ACT format with writing prompts and answer explanations straight from the exam creators. The listing gives a print length of 752 pages, grade level 10 to 12 and a publication date of May 11, 2026. It also notes that online companion practice is included.
Who it's for: a high scorer who needs authentic exam questions straight from the test maker to refine timing and accuracy. Who should skip it: a student who only wants quick shortcut drills or who prefers a lighter, pocket-sized overview.
Its Shelf Score of 9.0/10 comes from fit 33/35, contents and edition 22/25, value 22/25 and reading age or level 8/10.
Book Details
| Author | ACT |
|---|---|
| Publisher | Wiley |
| Print length | 752 pages |
| Grade level | 10 - 12 |
| Published | May 11, 2026 |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Grade level 10 to 12, so reading age or level scores 8 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

ACT Prep Success by Academia Jones
A 2026 study guide offering claimed practice question banks, section review strategies, and digital flashcard tools.
Pros
- Description lists 4,500+ practice questions covering tricky math and grammar traps
- Published June 18, 2026, making it a very recent edition
- Includes bonus online resources such as digital flashcards and review checklists
- Provides targeted score-boost strategies for Math, Reading, English and Science
Cons
- Listing claims 45+ full-length practice tests within only 246 pages, a clear contradiction
- No reading age or grade level is stated on the listing
- Independently published with no official endorsement from the ACT test maker
- Practice questions are third-party questions rather than authentic retired test items
Detailed Review
The description presents this guide as a study system for the Enhanced ACT format, highlighting 4,500+ practice questions, score-boost tactics, and online bonus resources including flashcards and review tools. The listing gives a print length of 246 pages and a publication date of June 18, 2026, with no grade level or reading age stated. Notably, the description claims 45+ full-length practice tests inside a 246-page book, which represents a noticeable contradiction in print space.
Who it's for: a student seeking a wide variety of third-party drills and digital flashcards to target tough question patterns. Who should skip it: a high scorer who relies strictly on genuine test-maker questions or expects 45 physical paper exams.
Its Shelf Score of 7.0/10 comes from fit 29/35, contents and edition 19/25, value 19/25 and reading age or level 0/10.
Book Details
| Author | Academia Jones |
|---|---|
| Publisher | Independently published |
| Print length | 246 pages |
| Published | June 18, 2026 |
| Practice tests | 45+ full-length (claimed) |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Enhanced ACT Exam Prep by Revo Prep
An independent prep manual combining 2500+ practice questions with an online test simulator and digital workbook.
Pros
- Listing states it includes over 2500 targeted ACT-style questions
- Includes two digital bonuses: an online test simulator and a digital workbook
- Published April 14, 2026 for the updated exam format
- Covers breakdown and strategy for English, Math, Reading and Science
Cons
- Does not state the exact number of full-length practice tests included
- No grade level or reading age is stated on the listing
- 259 pages offers a concise review rather than exhaustive subject coverage
- Independently published rather than official test material
Detailed Review
The maker describes this book as an approach to ACT pacing and strategy, highlighting section breakdowns, over 2500 targeted ACT-style questions, and bonuses that include an online simulator and a digital workbook. The listing gives a print length of 259 pages and a publication date of April 14, 2026. The listing does not state a grade level, reading age, or the exact count of full-length tests contained in the print pages.
Who it's for: a student who wants digital bonus tools like an online simulator alongside compact section summaries. Who should skip it: a test taker who wants official ACT questions or needs to know the exact number of printed tests before ordering.
Its Shelf Score of 6.9/10 comes from fit 28/35, contents and edition 19/25, value 19/25 and reading age or level 0/10.
Book Details
| Author | Revo Prep |
|---|---|
| Publisher | Independently published |
| Print length | 259 pages |
| Published | April 14, 2026 |
| Practice tests | Not stated |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning
A compact prep book providing section-by-section drills, pacing tips, and flexible multi-week study schedules.
Pros
- Description lists 4,000+ questions with step-by-step answer explanations
- Provides five structured study schedules ranging from 7 days to 4 months
- Features checklists for test day and the night before covering logistics and warm-ups
- Published March 28, 2026 with targeted section strategies and trap breakdowns
Cons
- Listing claims 50+ full-length practice tests inside 238 pages, an obvious contradiction
- No reading age or grade level is listed
- Earliest publication date among the 2026 listings in this comparison
- Independently published without authentic questions from the exam maker
Detailed Review
The description outlines strategies for English, Math, Reading, Science and Writing, along with test-day checklists and study plans for five different timelines between 7 days and 4 months. The listing gives 238 pages and a publication date of March 28, 2026, without a grade level or reading age. The text claims 50+ full-length practice tests and 4,000+ questions, which contradicts the physical limit of a 238-page paperback.
Who it's for: a self-directed student who needs structured timeline templates and pacing checklists to organize study weeks. Who should skip it: an advanced scorer who demands authentic test items or expects 50 full tests in print.
Its Shelf Score of 6.5/10 comes from fit 27/35, contents and edition 18/25, value 18/25 and reading age or level 0/10.
Book Details
| Author | Benton Learning |
|---|---|
| Publisher | Independently published |
| Print length | 238 pages |
| Published | March 28, 2026 |
| Practice tests | 50+ full-length (claimed) |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for high-scoring ACT preparation, contents and edition, value, and the listed grade level where one is given. One of the four listings gives a grade level, specifically grade level 10 to 12 on the official guide. Practice test counts and question banks come directly from each listing description, and newer 2026 editions score higher on contents. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT | 9.0 | 33 | 22 | 22 | 8 |
| ACT Prep Success by Academia Jones | 7.0 | 29 | 19 | 19 | 0 |
| Enhanced ACT Exam Prep by Revo Prep | 6.9 | 28 | 19 | 19 | 0 |
| ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning | 6.5 | 27 | 18 | 18 | 0 |
Scores run from 0 to 10. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best ACT prep book for high scorers
Authentic test-maker questions versus independent drills
For top scorers striving to raise an already competitive composite score, authentic practice questions make the biggest difference. The Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT provides four authentic full-length practice tests written by the exam creators, matching actual test difficulty and answer logic. Independent guides from Academia Jones, Revo Prep, and Benton Learning provide large collections of practice questions and section tips, but their items are third-party questions. High scorers benefit most from pairing authentic test-maker questions with targeted strategy manuals.
Evaluate practice test claims against page count
| Book | Practice tests | Print length | Published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Official ACT Prep Guide by ACT | 4 authentic | 752 pages | May 11, 2026 |
| ACT Prep Success by Academia Jones | 45+ claimed | 246 pages | June 18, 2026 |
| Enhanced ACT Exam Prep by Revo Prep | Not stated | 259 pages | April 14, 2026 |
| ACT Test Prep by Benton Learning | 50+ claimed | 238 pages | March 28, 2026 |
A full-length ACT exam spans four multiple-choice sections plus an optional writing test, requiring substantial print volume. When a 238-page or 246-page paperback claims 45+ or 50+ full-length practice tests, that claim contradicts the physical page count of the book. Look closely at listing details to distinguish between printed full exams and digital question pools. Explore more college admission test prep resources.
Check the publication date and format updates
Exam structures evolve over time, and prep materials should reflect current exam standards. The Official ACT Prep Guide 2026-2027 was published on May 11, 2026 by Wiley, and the listing notes that its practice tests reflect the Enhanced ACT experience. All four titles compared here were published between March and June 2026. If you are also preparing for other college entrance exams, consider our guide to the best prep book for digital SAT.
Before you buy
- Check whether claimed test counts are physically printed in the volume or hosted online.
- Prioritize authentic test-maker questions when aiming for the highest score percentiles.
- Verify the publication date to confirm the material addresses current exam timing.
- Confirm whether digital bonus tools require a new book purchase from an authorized seller.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best ACT prep book for high scorers?
The Official ACT Prep Guide 2026-2027 by ACT is the top choice for high scorers because it provides four authentic practice tests from the test creators. Top test takers rely on authentic exam questions to master exact test-maker phrasing and timing.
Which ACT prep book has the most practice questions?
The description for Academia Jones lists 4,500+ practice questions, while Benton Learning lists 4,000+ questions and Revo Prep lists over 2500 questions. The Official ACT Prep Guide features 752 pages containing four authentic full-length practice exams.
Does the Official ACT Prep Guide cover the Enhanced ACT?
Yes. The listing for the 2026-2027 edition states that its four practice tests reflect the Enhanced ACT experience and include optional writing prompts.
What grade level is listed for these ACT prep books?
The Official ACT Prep Guide lists grade level 10 to 12 on its listing. The three independent prep books in this comparison do not state a grade level or reading age.
Related lists
See every college admission test prep list and all test prep lists. Also see our comparison of SAT math books and our overview of SAT prep books.
More lists: browse GRE, LSAT and MCAT books and licensing exam prep.




