Best Test Prep Shsat (2026): 4 Guides Compared
4 SHSAT and SAT prep guides compared on fit, contents, edition and listed level, for eighth and ninth graders preparing for the specialized high schools admissions test.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
A junior staring down the SHSAT date on the calendar needs a plan, not just a pile of books. The best test prep shsat books are the ones that match the reader’s grade level and pack in realistic practice. We compared 4 guides on what each listing states: fit for the SHSAT, contents and edition, value, and listed reading level.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall SHSAT Prep 2026 by Kaplan: 768 pages, 3 practice tests, grade 8 to 9, April 2026 edition Check price on Amazon
Best Practice Volume SHSAT Prep by TestMastery: 35 full-length practice tests, October 2026 edition, 228 pages Check price on Amazon
Best for SAT SAT Exam Prep by Rockforge Ed.: 152 pages, 35+ practice tests, 4000+ questions, digital SAT focus Check price on Amazon
Best Updated Edition SAT Prep 2026 by Optimal: 2026 updated edition for the digital SAT from Optimal Prep Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SHSAT Prep 2026 by Kaplan | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SHSAT Prep by TestMastery | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SAT Exam Prep by Rockforge Ed. | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | SAT Test Prep 2026 by Optimal Prep | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

SHSAT Prep 2026 by Kaplan
A 768 page Kaplan guide for the New York City SHSAT with 3 practice tests, aimed at eighth and ninth graders.
Pros
- 768 pages with 3 full-length practice tests and detailed answer explanations
- Grade level 8 to 9 is stated, matching the SHSAT audience
- Published April 7, 2026 with guidance on the new digital SHSAT
Cons
- Only 3 practice tests, fewer than the 35 in the TestMastery book
- No reading age is stated
- The description leans on marketing claims rather than book details

SHSAT Prep by TestMastery
An independently published SHSAT prep system with 35 full-length practice tests, published October 4, 2026.
Pros
- 35 full-length SHSAT practice tests are stated
- Published October 4, 2026, a recent edition
- 228 pages focused on the SHSAT with pacing and mistake-review methods
Cons
- No grade level or reading age is stated
- Independently published, unlike the Kaplan guide
- Fewer pages than the Kaplan guide's 768

SAT Exam Prep by Rockforge Ed.
A 152 page digital SAT study guide with 35 or more practice tests and 4000 or more practice questions.
Pros
- 35 or more full-length practice tests and 4000 or more practice questions are stated
- 152 pages with study plans from 4 months to 7 days
- Published November 4, 2025 for the digital SAT
Cons
- An SAT book, not an SHSAT book, so it does not match this list's exam
- No grade level or reading age is stated
- Independently published

SAT Test Prep 2026 by Optimal Prep
A 209-page guide from Optimal Prep Publishing outlining Bluebook navigation, time management and subject review.
Pros
- Published April 16, 2026, as an updated edition
- 209 pages provides a manageable, lightweight guide
- Covers strategies for navigating the Bluebook exam application
- Outlines five study strategies and pacing methods for test takers
Cons
- Listing claims 35+ full-length digital practice tests and 4,000+ questions in 209 pages
- Independently published volume
- No grade level or reading age is listed
- Text closely mirrors the publisher's September 2025 volume
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
SHSAT Exam Prep by Kael Drayton24 realistic practice tests and 2,630+ questions for SHSAT students.Check on Amazon
SHSAT Prep Book 2026-2027 by Morrison30 full-length practice tests plus an online exam simulator, 10th edition.Check on Amazon
SHSAT Prep Book 2025-2026 by Bowling3 practice tests with 200+ online video tutorials, 2nd edition.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SHSAT Prep 2026 by Kaplan | 9.7/10 | Kaplan Test Prep | 768 | April 7, 2026 | View on Amazon |
| SHSAT Prep by TestMastery | 9.5/10 | TestMastery Press | 228 | October 4, 2026 | View on Amazon |
| SAT Exam Prep by Rockforge Ed. | 9.3/10 | Rockforge Ed. | 152 | November 4, 2025 | View on Amazon |
| SAT Prep 2026 by Optimal | 9.3/10 | Optimal Prep Publishing | Not stated | Not stated |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. 1 of the 4 lists a grade level; none list a reading age. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SHSAT Prep 2026 by Kaplan | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 9 |
| SHSAT Prep by TestMastery | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 0 |
| SAT Exam Prep by Rockforge Ed. | 9.3 | 23 | 19 | 18 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best test prep shsat
Match the exam first
2 of these 4 are SAT books: the Rockforge and Optimal Prep guides. For the SHSAT itself, the Kaplan and TestMastery guides are the direct fits. Buying for the wrong exam wastes the whole book.
Practice volume and explanations
The TestMastery book states 35 full-length practice tests; the Kaplan book states 3 with detailed answer explanations. More tests build timing and endurance; explanations teach from mistakes. See our best SAT prep books for more SAT-focused options.
Edition year matters
Test formats change. The Kaplan guide is dated April 7, 2026 with guidance on the new digital SHSAT, and the TestMastery guide is dated October 4, 2026. Check the listing date before buying an older edition. Also see best SAT prep books for homeschoolers.
Before you buy
- Check the edition year: the Kaplan guide is dated April 7, 2026 and the TestMastery guide October 4, 2026.
- Confirm the exam: 2 of these 4 are SAT books, not SHSAT books.
- Check whether the listing states explanations or an answer key; the Kaplan and TestMastery listings state explanations.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which book here is actually for the SHSAT?
The Kaplan and TestMastery books are SHSAT guides; the Rockforge and Optimal Prep books are for the SAT.
Which guide has the most practice tests?
The TestMastery book states 35 full-length SHSAT practice tests; the Kaplan book states 3.
Which guide lists a grade level?
The Kaplan listing states grade level 8 to 9; the other 3 state no reading age or grade level.
Related lists
See every SAT, ACT and AP list and all test prep lists.
More lists: browse test prep, SAT, ACT and AP, SAT prep books and SAT prep for homeschoolers.