Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Licensing and Certification

Best Study Guide for Part 107 (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five study books for the Part 107 knowledge exam compared by edition year, publication date, page count and practice questions, with who each suits.

Best Study Guide for Part 107 (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

With the Part 107 knowledge exam on your calendar, you need the best study guide for part 107 before test day. This list is for a first-time drone pilot, comparing each listing’s edition, page count and practice questions.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Remote Pilot Test Prep by ASA
    Best Overall Remote Pilot Test Prep by ASA: Questions with explanations for correct and incorrect answers Check price on Amazon
  • Part 107 Study Guide by Bolton Prep
    Best Full-Color Charts Part 107 Study Guide by Bolton Prep: Full-color charts plus three full-length practice exams Check price on Amazon
  • Drone FAA 107 Study Guide by Darnall
    Best Bonus Resources Drone FAA 107 Study Guide by Darnall: Eight bonus resources linked from inside the book, including a practice test Check price on Amazon
  • Airman Knowledge Supplement by FAA
    Best Official Reference Airman Knowledge Supplement by FAA: FAA supplement in color print, 111 pages, with the UAG knowledge area Check price on Amazon
  • FAA Part 107 Drone Study Guide by USI
    Best Quick Review FAA Part 107 Drone Study Guide by USI: A 6-page laminated supplement to a training course Check price on Amazon

The picks

Remote Pilot Test Prep by ASA

Remote Pilot Test Prep by ASA

ASA Test Prep Board9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A paperback with Prepware software for the Part 107 knowledge exam, suited to a first-time test taker who wants explanations for correct and incorrect answers.

Pros

  • The listing states it includes questions with explanations for correct and incorrect answers
  • The listing states it includes figures from the FAA Airman Knowledge Supplement
  • The listing includes Prepware software and a 24-month Prepware Online subscription

Cons

  • Labeled 2025-2026 and published September 30, 2024, so older than the 2026-2027 label on the Bolton Prep listing
  • Software access runs on a download code and a 24-month subscription, not an open-ended license
  • At 264 pages it is the longest of the five picks, so it takes the most time to work through
Part 107 Study Guide by Bolton Prep

Part 107 Study Guide by Bolton Prep

Bolton Prep9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A full-color Part 107 guide published October 17, 2025 and labeled 2026-2027, suited to a reader who wants charts printed in color.

Pros

  • The description says its full-color charts mirror the charts on the real exam
  • The listing states three full-length 60-question practice exams
  • Labeled a 2026-2027 edition, newer than the 2025-2026 label on the ASA listing

Cons

  • The listing does not state whether answer explanations are included
  • The listing does not state whether an answer key is included
  • The complete coverage claim is the publisher's own statement, and the listing cites no outside review
Drone FAA 107 Study Guide by Darnall

Drone FAA 107 Study Guide by Darnall

Damon Darnall9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 134-page guide that follows the exam's topic structure, with bonus resources linked from inside the book, suited to a reader who wants one volume.

Pros

  • The description says the guide is based on the structure of the exam's topics
  • The description says eight bonus resources are linked inside the book, including a practice test
  • At 134 pages it is a single volume, shorter than the ASA and Bolton Prep books

Cons

  • The description says UPDATED VERSION for 2026!, but the publication date is September 8, 2018
  • The practice test and other bonuses sit behind a link inside the book, and the listing gives no question count
  • The description also covers building a drone business after the exam, which is outside the test itself
Airman Knowledge Supplement by FAA

Airman Knowledge Supplement by FAA

U.S. Department of Transportation9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

The FAA's airman knowledge supplement in color print, suited to a reader who wants official figures and the Unmanned Aircraft General knowledge area.

Pros

  • The listing states it was designed by the Federal Aviation Administration Flight Standards Service
  • The listing says it supersedes the 2G edition, so 2H is the newer revision
  • The listing states color print and 111 pages, and includes the Unmanned Aircraft General (UAG) knowledge area

Cons

  • It covers many pilot ratings, so a Part 107 reader must find the UAG section among unrelated material
  • The listing does not state practice questions or answer explanations, so it works as a reference only
  • The description says released in 2018, while the publication date is November 30, 2021
FAA Part 107 Drone Study Guide by USI

FAA Part 107 Drone Study Guide by USI

Unmanned Safety Institute (USI)9.2/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 6-page laminated reference that the publisher says supplements any part of a Part 107 training course, suited to a student already in a course.

Pros

  • The listing states it is laminated and organized into sections with graphics
  • The description lists topics such as airspace, weather and emergency procedures
  • At 6 pages it is quick to review between longer study sessions

Cons

  • At 6 pages it cannot serve as a full study guide on its own
  • The listing is the 2019 edition, published May 1, 2019, and does not state a newer edition
  • The listing does not state practice questions or answer explanations

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Remote Pilot Test Prep by MasterguideRemote Pilot Test Prep by MasterguidePublished October 26, 2025. For first-time test takers who want 3000+ practice questions.Check on Amazon
  • Remote Pilot sUAS Study Guide by FAARemote Pilot sUAS Study Guide by FAAPublished November 15, 2021. Follows the FAA's 12 knowledge areas for the knowledge test.Check on Amazon
  • Part 107 Study Guide by AshwichPart 107 Study Guide by AshwichPublished March 13, 2026. For self-study readers who want 3,500 exam-aligned questions.Check on Amazon
  • Remote Pilot Study Guide by BlaineRemote Pilot Study Guide by BlainePublished August 18, 2026. For a targeted review with five full-length practice exams.Check on Amazon
  • Remote Pilot Test Prep by SKY ACADEMICRemote Pilot Test Prep by SKY ACADEMICPublished August 21, 2026. For readers who want over 1,200 exam-style questions with explanations.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Published Practice tests Amazon
Remote Pilot Test Prep by ASA 9.8/10 264 September 30, 2024 Not stated Check price
Part 107 Study Guide by Bolton Prep 9.7/10 213 October 17, 2025 3 full-length exams Check price
Drone FAA 107 Study Guide by Darnall 9.6/10 134 September 8, 2018 Listed in bonus link Check price
Airman Knowledge Supplement by FAA 9.4/10 111 November 30, 2021 Not stated Check price
FAA Part 107 Drone Study Guide by USI 9.2/10 6 May 1, 2019 Not stated Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and any listed reading age or level. None of the five picks states a reading age or grade level, so that score is zero for each. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Remote Pilot Test Prep by ASA 9.8 32 21 22 n/a
Part 107 Study Guide by Bolton Prep 9.7 30 22 21 n/a
Drone FAA 107 Study Guide by Darnall 9.6 30 18 19 n/a
Airman Knowledge Supplement by FAA 9.4 23 19 16 n/a
FAA Part 107 Drone Study Guide by USI 9.2 23 11 11 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best study guide for part 107

Check the edition before anything else

The publication date and edition label show how current a guide is. The Bolton Prep and ASA listings carry 2025 or later labels, while the Darnall and USI listings are dated 2018 and 2019. Browse more certification exam prep books.

Match the depth to your time

A 6-page sheet like the USI listing works as a review aid beside a course. The 264-page ASA book gives far more to work through.

Look for explanations and practice questions

The ASA listing says its questions include explanations for correct and incorrect answers. The Bolton Prep listing describes three full-length 60-question practice exams. Browse test prep books for more.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition label and publication date, since the ASA listing is labeled 2025-2026 and published September 30, 2024.
  • Confirm the format and length, such as the paperback and software bundle in the ASA listing or the 111 pages of the FAA supplement.
  • Look for an answer key. None of the five listings states that a separate answer key is included.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which edition should I buy?

Choose the newest edition label you can confirm on the listing. The Bolton Prep listing is labeled 2026-2027, and the ASA listing is labeled 2025-2026.

Does a Part 107 study guide come with an answer key?

None of the five listings states a separate answer key. The ASA listing says its questions include explanations for correct and incorrect answers.

Is the 6-page USI guide enough on its own?

The listing describes it as a supplement to any part of a training course, so pair it with a longer book that has practice questions.

Remote Pilot Test Prep by ASA
Still deciding? Our top pickRemote Pilot Test Prep by ASA
Check price on Amazon

See every Licensing and Certification list and all Test Prep lists.

More lists: GED study guides, SAT prep books and GRE verbal books.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Study Guide for CCRN?

    Four adult CCRN prep books compared by publication date, practice tests, page count and format, with edition dates and gaps flagged for each.

  2. What is the best Study Guide for Anatomy and Physiology?

    Ten anatomy and physiology study titles compared by edition, page count and answer keys, from workbooks to laminated reference cards.

  3. What is the best Study Guide for LCSW Exam?

    Four LCSW exam guides compared by edition date, page count, practice questions and scope, for readers choosing one main study book.

  4. What is the best Study Guide for AFOQT?

    Nine AFOQT study books compared by edition date, page count and listed practice tests, with who each one suits and who should skip it.