Best Illustrated Editions of Books (2026): 5 Picks Compared
Five illustrated editions of well-known books compared by what is inside, edition, page count and listed reading level, for readers choosing one volume.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
When the pictures matter as much as the words, the search for the best illustrated editions of books turns up more choices than a single shelf can hold. This list is for a parent, a gift buyer or an adult fan choosing one volume, and it compares each pick by what the listing says is inside, its edition year and any reading level the listing gives.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Harry Potter (MinaLima) by Rowling: Full-color art on nearly every page plus eight paper craft elements Check price on Amazon
Best for a Younger Reader Harry Potter (Jim Kay) by Rowling: Jim Kay illustrations, grade 3 to 6 and a customer-listed reading age of 5+ Check price on Amazon
Best Two-Volume Set Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn by Twain: Two clothbound volumes with Norman Rockwell’s paintings Check price on Amazon
Best for Myths Mythology by Hamilton: Greek, Roman and Norse myths in one illustrated hardcover Check price on Amazon
Best for Tolkien Fans The Silmarillion by Tolkien: Tolkien’s own paintings and drawings, with his 1951 introduction letter Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Harry Potter (MinaLima) by Rowling | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 2 | Harry Potter (Jim Kay) by Rowling | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 3 | Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn by Twain | 9.6/10 | Buy |
| 4 | Mythology by Hamilton | 9.5/10 | Buy |
| 5 | The Silmarillion by Tolkien | 9.4/10 | Buy |

Harry Potter (MinaLima) by Rowling
Suits a reader who wants the complete Harry Potter text with full-color art and paper craft pieces; skip it if a plain volume is enough.
Pros
- The description says the complete text comes with full-color illustrations on nearly every page
- Eight interactive paper craft elements, including a foldout Hogwarts letter, per the description
- Reading age of 7+ years and grade level 3 and up agree with each other
Cons
- Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
- The series field reads Book 1 of 4, so later volumes are separate purchases
- The listing does not say whether the paper craft elements are perforated or glued in

Harry Potter (Jim Kay) by Rowling
Suits a child new to the series who wants Jim Kay's full-color illustrations; skip it if paper craft pieces are the draw.
Pros
- The description gives over 100 full-color illustrations by Jim Kay
- Reading age of 5+ years and grade level 3 to 6 are both stated, so a parent has two checks
- At 256 pages, it is the shorter of the two Sorcerer's Stone editions
Cons
- Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
- The series field reads Book 1 of 6, so the full set is a longer commitment than one volume
- The 2015 publication date makes it the older of the two Sorcerer's Stone editions

Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn by Twain
Suits a reader who wants Mark Twain's two novels with Norman Rockwell's paintings in a clothbound set; skip it if one paperback is enough.
Pros
- Two clothbound volumes in a slipcase, with eight full-color paintings per book by Norman Rockwell
- The publisher's note says the text is unabridged and unedited, as in the original American editions
- New introductions include Rockwell's preliminary sketches
Cons
- Reading age of 13 to 18 years and grade level 2 to 7 contradict each other
- The series field describes Robert Louis Stevenson's stories with N. C. Wyeth's illustrations, which does not match this Twain set
- The text is unedited from the 1876 and 1885 editions, so expect older prose

Mythology by Hamilton
Suits a reader who wants Greek, Roman and Norse myths in one illustrated hardcover; skip it if you want one continuous story.
Pros
- The description says the illustrations are specially commissioned, full-color plates
- Covers Greek, Roman and Norse mythology in one volume
- The description mentions gold-bordered pages and a hardcover format
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated, so check a sample page for level
- The listing does not say how many plates the book holds
- The description calls it a collector's item, which is the publisher's claim

The Silmarillion by Tolkien
Suits a Tolkien reader who wants the background to The Lord of the Rings with Tolkien's own art; skip it if you want a story-driven novel.
Pros
- The description says the book is illustrated throughout in color, including Tolkien's own paintings and drawings
- A 1951 letter by Tolkien serves as the introduction
- Published in 2022, the newest date of the five listings
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated, so the reader's level must be judged from the description
- The description mentions war, exile and a rebellion against the gods, so preview it for a younger reader
- Written as history and myth rather than a story, which some readers find slow
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
The Hobbit: Illustrated EditionTolkien fans wanting a full-color gift edition with Jemima Catlin's illustrations.Check on Amazon
The Last Wish: Illustrated EditionWitcher fans wanting a hardcover story collection with interior illustrations.Check on Amazon
The Hunger Games: IllustratedHunger Games readers wanting Nico Delort's art in a deluxe illustrated edition.Check on Amazon
The Secret Garden by BurnettClassic-novel fans wanting a hardcover with full-page paintings by Kate Lewis.Check on Amazon
The Divine Comedy: Fully IllustratedReaders wanting Dante's full text in modern English with Doré engravings.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Pages | Reading age or grade | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harry Potter (MinaLima) by Rowling | 9.7/10 | 368 | 7+ years (from customers); grade 3 and up | 2020 | Check price |
| Harry Potter (Jim Kay) by Rowling | 9.7/10 | 256 | 5+ years (from customers); grade 3 to 6 | 2015 | Check price |
| Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn by Twain | 9.6/10 | 640 | 13 to 18 years; grade 2 to 7 | 2020 | Check price |
| Mythology by Hamilton | 9.5/10 | 384 | Not stated | 2017 | Check price |
| The Silmarillion by Tolkien | 9.4/10 | 432 | Not stated | 2022 | Check price |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs how directly each book serves an illustrated-edition buyer, what the listing says is inside and which edition it is, its value for the format, and the reading age or grade level where the listing states one. Three of the five picks give a reading age or grade level, and all three give both. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harry Potter (MinaLima) by Rowling | 9.7 | 30 | 22 | 21 | 9 |
| Harry Potter (Jim Kay) by Rowling | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 9 |
| Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn by Twain | 9.6 | 29 | 22 | 21 | 4 |
| Mythology by Hamilton | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 0 |
| The Silmarillion by Tolkien | 9.4 | 26 | 21 | 19 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best illustrated editions of books
Check whether the art is the point
Listings describe their pictures differently. The Jim Kay edition cites over 100 illustrations, while the MinaLima edition lists eight interactive paper craft elements, so read the contents line before you compare the titles.
Decide between one volume and a set
Both Harry Potter listings are Book 1 of a numbered series, and the Tom Sawyer listing is two volumes in one slipcase. A reader who may stall halfway through should start with Book 1. A fan who wants the whole series can check our Harry Potter box set list, and for more by reading level, browse middle grade books.
Before you buy
- Check the edition line and ISBN, since the two Harry Potter listings come from different publishers and years.
- For a series, confirm the Book number: the listings show Book 1 of 4 and Book 1 of 6.
- Compare the listed reading age or grade level with the reader; the Mythology and Silmarillion listings state neither.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where should a new reader start the Harry Potter illustrated editions?
Start with Book 1 in whichever edition you choose. The Jim Kay listing is Book 1 of 6 and the MinaLima listing is Book 1 of 4, so both series open with the first volume.
What reading level do the Harry Potter editions list?
The Jim Kay listing gives a reading age of 5+ years and grade level 3 to 6, while the MinaLima listing gives 7+ years and grade level 3 and up. Both reading ages are marked as from customers.
Does the Tom Sawyer set list a reading age?
Yes, 13 to 18 years, but its grade level is 2 to 7, so the two numbers disagree. Read a sample page before giving it to a younger reader.
Related lists
See every Fantasy and Romantasy list and all Fiction lists.
More lists: Hobbit book editions, illustrated Alice in Wonderland editions, special edition books and collector’s edition books.