Best Illustrated Edition of the Odyssey (2026): 5 Picks Compared
Five editions of the Odyssey compared by illustrations, page count and listed reading level, from a graphic novel to a translation with maps.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
Wanting Homer’s Odyssey with pictures on the page raises one question first: which best illustrated edition of the odyssey fits the reader in front of you? We compared five listings by what each one states about illustrations, format, page count and listed reading level, so you can match the book to a child, a student or a book club member.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall The Odyssey by Hinds: Listed as Illustrated, grade 7 to 9, reading age 10+ from customers Check price on Amazon
Best Illustrated Retelling The Odyssey by Cross: Illustrated retelling, grade 3 to 7, 176 pages, listed for ages 8 to 12 Check price on Amazon
Best Original Illustrations The Odyssey of Homer by Bennett: Original illustrations, notes and glossary, listed at 130 pages Check price on Amazon
Best Full Text with Maps The Odyssey by Wilson: Full translation with notes, summaries and three maps, 592 pages Check price on Amazon
Best Hardbound Presentation The Odyssey by Homer: Deluxe hardbound edition, 284 pages, no illustrator or translator named Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Odyssey by Hinds | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 2 | The Odyssey by Cross | 9.6/10 | Buy |
| 3 | The Odyssey of Homer by Bennett | 9.3/10 | Buy |
| 4 | The Odyssey by Wilson | 9.2/10 | Buy |
| 5 | The Odyssey by Homer | 9.2/10 | Buy |

The Odyssey by Hinds
A graphic novel retelling of Homer's epic in illustrated panels, suited to a reader who wants the story in art as well as text.
Pros
- The listing gives the edition as Illustrated, and the book is a graphic novel
- Grade level 7 to 9 and a customer-listed reading age of 10+ agree with each other
- 256 pages in one volume, published in 2010 by Candlewick
Cons
- The description mentions man-eating monsters, violent storms and sirens, so check the content before buying for a younger child
- Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
- Published in 2010, the oldest of the five listings

The Odyssey by Cross
An illustrated retelling of Homer's epic for a child who wants the story in pictures and a shorter read, with the title naming ages 8 to 12.
Pros
- The description names Neil Packer as the illustrator of the retelling
- Grade level 3 to 7 covers the grade range a 10 year old is in
- 176 pages, shorter than most of the other editions here
Cons
- The title says ages 8 to 12, but the reading age is 6 to 10 from customers, so the listing contradicts itself
- The description mentions a storm, a shipwreck and a man-eating Cyclops, so check before buying for a younger reader
- Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher

The Odyssey of Homer by Bennett
A large-format collector's edition with original illustrations, notes and a glossary, suited to a reader who wants to display or study the poem.
Pros
- The description says original illustrations appear throughout, including Odysseus and Polyphemus
- Notes and a glossary are listed, in an 8.5 by 11 inch format
- Published October 4, 2025, the most recent date among the five listings
Cons
- The description says all 24 books are included, but the listing gives 130 pages, which does not match a full epic
- The listing names no traditional publisher, only Independently published
- Reading age and grade level are not stated

The Odyssey by Wilson
A full-text verse translation of Homer's epic with an introduction, notes and maps, for an adult or teen reader who wants the poem itself.
Pros
- Full translation of the poem, with an introduction, notes and summaries of each book
- The listing names three maps and a pronunciation glossary
- Published November 6, 2018 by W. W. Norton & Company
Cons
- The listing names three maps but no illustrations
- The description says the poem is about violence and the aftermath of war, so check it for a younger reader
- At 592 pages, and no reading age or grade level stated, it is a long read to judge from the listing alone

The Odyssey by Homer
A deluxe hardbound edition of Homer's epic for a reader who wants a sturdier copy of the classic; the listing names no illustrator or translator.
Pros
- The listing gives a deluxe hardbound edition with a collector's presentation
- 284 pages, published August 23, 2023 by Fingerprint
- The description lists themes such as homecoming, loyalty and the power of cunning
Cons
- The listing states no illustrations, so a reader who wants pictures will not find them stated here
- No translator is named and no reading age or grade level is stated
- The description is mostly general praise and does not say what the text includes beyond themes
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
The Odyssey Homer ILLUSTRATEDReaders who want modern English with illustrations and annotations.Check on Amazon
The Odyssey, Modern TranslationReaders who want a modern translation with illustrations, a map and a timeline.Check on Amazon
The Odyssey Annotated IllustratedReaders wanting the complete Butler translation with illustrations and footnotes.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Reading age or grade | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Odyssey by Hinds | 9.7/10 | Gareth Hinds | 256 | 10+ / grade 7 to 9 | 2010 | Check price |
| The Odyssey by Cross | 9.6/10 | Gillian Cross | 176 | 6 to 10 / grade 3 to 7 | 2025 | Check price |
| The Odyssey of Homer by Bennett | 9.3/10 | Homer, Charles H. Bennett | 130 | Not stated | 2025 | Check price |
| The Odyssey by Wilson | 9.2/10 | Homer, translated by Emily Wilson | 592 | Not stated | 2018 | Check price |
| The Odyssey by Homer | 9.2/10 | Homer | 284 | Not stated | 2023 | Check price |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Two of the five picks list a reading age or grade level, and three give none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Odyssey by Hinds | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 9 |
| The Odyssey by Cross | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 19 | 7 |
| The Odyssey of Homer by Bennett | 9.3 | 28 | 16 | 15 | 0 |
| The Odyssey by Wilson | 9.2 | 14 | 15 | 15 | 0 |
| The Odyssey by Homer | 9.2 | 15 | 11 | 12 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best illustrated edition of the odyssey
Start with the reader’s age and reading level
The Hinds graphic novel lists grade 7 to 9, and the Cross retelling lists grade 3 to 7. For a middle schooler, the middle grade books category is a closer starting point than a teen graphic novel.
Match the format to the reader
A graphic novel puts the story in panels, while the Cross retelling pairs pictures with a shorter text. A full translation like Emily Wilson’s has three maps and notes but no illustrations stated. Older teens who want this format can browse young adult books.
Check the edition statement before you buy
The Hinds listing states an Illustrated edition, the Cross title says Illustrated Retelling, and the Bennett description says original illustrations appear throughout. The Deluxe Hardbound listing describes its presentation but names no illustrator, so read its description closely before deciding.
Before you buy
- Check the edition line: the Hinds listing gives Illustrated, while the Wilson listing names three maps and no illustrations.
- Check the page count against the description: the Bennett listing gives 130 pages, although its description says all 24 books are included.
- Check the reading level against the reader: the Hinds and Cross listings give reading ages marked as from customers.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which edition has the most illustrations?
None of the listings gives an illustration count, so the number is Not stated. The Hinds graphic novel is listed as Illustrated, and the Bennett collector’s edition says original illustrations appear throughout.
Is the Hinds graphic novel right for a 10 year old?
The listing gives grade level 7 to 9 and a reading age of 10+ years, marked as from customers, and its description mentions man-eating monsters and violent storms. Preview it first for a sensitive or younger reader.
Which translation does each listing use?
The Wilson listing is Emily Wilson’s translation, and the Deluxe Hardbound listing names no translator. Check the translator line on the listing before you buy.
Related lists
See every Fantasy and Romantasy list and all Fiction lists.
More lists: illustrated editions of books, Hobbit book editions and fantasy books for kids.