Best IELTS Book for Reading (2026): 4 Picks Compared
Four IELTS reading picks compared by practice test count, publication date, scope and who each suits, from General Training sets to strategy guides.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
Someone with an IELTS reading paper coming up needs practice passages and question drills before anything else, so this list of the best ielts book for reading picks compares what each listing says. We compared four listings by practice test count, publication date, reading scope and whether answers are listed, so you can match a book to your exam version and the time you have left.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall IELTS Reading Book by Mirvoxid Press: Reading-focused practice with 10 full tests and explanations Check price on Amazon
Best Academic Set IELTS Practice Tests 1-5 by Braverman: Five Academic tests with audio, answers and writing models Check price on Amazon
Best General Training Set IELTS Reading GT Tests by Singh: 15 General Training reading tests in one 186-page volume Check price on Amazon
Best Strategy Guide IELTS Reading Strategies by Mitchell: Question-type methods for a reader who wants strategy first Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | IELTS Reading Book by Mirvoxid Press | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 2 | IELTS Practice Tests 1-5 by Braverman | 9.6/10 | Buy |
| 3 | IELTS Reading GT Tests by Singh | 9.6/10 | Buy |
| 4 | IELTS Reading Strategies by Mitchell | 9.4/10 | Buy |

IELTS Reading Book by Mirvoxid Press
A reading-focused book with 10 full practice exams and explanations, for a test taker who wants many reading sets; skip it if you need a clearly labelled Academic or General Training book.
Pros
- 10 full practice exams in one volume, aimed at the reading paper
- Explanations for all the exam questions, according to the description
- Covers question types such as matching headers and True/False/Not Given
Cons
- Title names both Academic and General Training, but the series line says General Training
- Listed edition is 2026, while the publication date is April 10, 2024
- 10 tests in 132 pages leaves less room per test than a longer set

IELTS Practice Tests 1-5 by Braverman
Five Academic practice tests with answers and audio for a test taker who wants all four parts; skip it if you need reading practice alone.
Pros
- Five full-length Academic practice tests with answers, as the listing states
- Reading Answer Help chapter explains why answers are correct and where they sit in the passages
- Audio recordings for listening and speaking, plus model answers for all writing tasks
Cons
- The description says it was updated in 2026, but the publication date is April 6, 2017
- Reading is one of four parts in this set, so reading-only practice is a smaller share
- Book 1 of 16 in a long series, so more volumes may follow

IELTS Reading GT Tests by Singh
A General Training reading book with 15 tests for a test taker who wants a large reading set; skip it if your test is Academic.
Pros
- 15 General Training reading tests in one 186-page book
- Lists 1000+ vocabulary words as part of its reading preparation
- Reading-only focus, so study time stays on one module
Cons
- Title says 2023 and the description says a 2024 version, but the publication date is January 2, 2023
- The listing does not state whether answers or explanations are included
- General Training only, so it does not cover the Academic reading paper

IELTS Reading Strategies by Mitchell
A strategy guide that explains reading question types, for a reader who wants methods before full practice; skip it if you need full practice tests.
Pros
- Explains reading question types and gives step-by-step answer methods, according to the description
- Written by an author the description says has taught IELTS for over 10 years
- Short 123-page length, with a method the listing frames as 10 minutes a day
Cons
- The listing states no practice tests
- Publication date is November 30, 2017, and no newer edition is stated
- The 8.0+ target band score is the publisher's claim, not a result
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Published | Pages | Practice tests | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS Reading Book by Mirvoxid Press | 9.7/10 | April 10, 2024 | 132 | 10 | Check price |
| IELTS Practice Tests 1-5 by Braverman | 9.6/10 | April 6, 2017 | 194 | 5 | Check price |
| IELTS Reading GT Tests by Singh | 9.6/10 | January 2, 2023 | 186 | 15 | Check price |
| IELTS Reading Strategies by Mitchell | 9.4/10 | November 30, 2017 | 123 | Not stated | Check price |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. None of the picks lists a reading age, grade level or Lexile, so the reading level part adds nothing to any total. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS Reading Book by Mirvoxid Press | 9.7 | 27 | 21 | 21 | n/a |
| IELTS Practice Tests 1-5 by Braverman | 9.6 | 26 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
| IELTS Reading GT Tests by Singh | 9.6 | 27 | 18 | 21 | n/a |
| IELTS Reading Strategies by Mitchell | 9.4 | 26 | 14 | 15 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best ielts book for reading
Pick the reading paper first
If reading is your weakest module, start with a book built around reading passages. The Mirvoxid Press listing describes 10 full practice tests aimed at reading, while the Braverman set also covers listening, speaking and writing. For other exam options, browse all test prep books.
Check the version before you buy
Academic and General Training reading papers differ, so read the title first. The Singh listing is General Training only, while the Mirvoxid title names both versions and its series line says General Training, so confirm which one you need.
Add a full set to any strategy guide
The Mitchell guide explains question types and step-by-step methods, but its listing states no practice tests. Pair it with a full set, and see our college admission test prep list if you are comparing other exams.
Before you buy
- Check the edition or publication date, and whether the listing names a newer edition.
- Confirm whether answers or explanations are included, since some listings do not state it.
- Match the title to your test version: Academic, General Training, or both.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where should a beginner start?
A beginner may start with the strategy guide for question types, then add a full practice set. Check the listing for practice tests before you rely on it alone.
Does the listing include answers?
The Braverman listing states it includes answers for its five tests, and the Mirvoxid listing describes explanations for its 10 tests. The Singh and Mitchell listings do not state whether answers are included.
Is the edition current?
The Mirvoxid listing shows an edition of 2026 with an April 10, 2024 publication date, so check the edition line before buying. The Mitchell listing has a November 30, 2017 publication date, and no newer edition is stated.
Related lists
See every graduate test prep list and all test prep lists.
More lists: certification exam prep, reading comprehension workbooks and self-improvement books.