Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

GRE, LSAT and MCAT

Best GMAT Book for Quant (2026): 5 Study Guides Compared

Five GMAT study guides compared by publication date, full-length practice tests and page count, from foundational math review to comprehensive test sets.

Best GMAT Book for Quant (2026): 5 Study Guides Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

With an exam date marked on the calendar and business school applications approaching, finding the best GMAT book for quant comes down to whether an applicant needs fundamental arithmetic review or timed problem drills. We compared five study guides by publication date, practice questions, full-length tests, page length and digital access terms so you can select the right resource for your study plan. Whether you are returning to high school algebra after years in the workforce or sharpening speed for a top percentile score, each listing offers a distinct balance of instruction and practice.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall All the GMAT by Manhattan Prep: Comprehensive quant review, high-scorer quant e-book and a digital quiz creator Check price
  • Best for Math Foundations Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep: Reviews core math concepts across 10 chapters with 700+ problems in the book Check price
  • Best for Study Structure GMAT Test Prep by Elite Prep: A 209-page guide with 15 practice tests and quantitative problem-solving methods Check price
  • Best for Practice Volume GMAT Test Prep by Quantum Prep: Lists 35 practice tests and 5 question-pattern techniques in a 212-page volume Check price
  • Best for Pacing Drills GMAT Prep Book by Rockforge Ed.: Offers 7 quant strategies and section pacing methods across 166 pages Check price

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Publisher Pages Published Practice tests
All the GMAT by Manhattan Prep 9.3/10 Manhattan Prep 1200 July 2, 2024 Quiz creator
Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep 8.4/10 Manhattan Prep Publishing 528 October 4, 2016 Not stated
GMAT Test Prep by Elite Prep 7.6/10 Independently published 209 June 30, 2026 15 full-length
GMAT Test Prep by Quantum Prep 7.3/10 Independently published 212 November 14, 2025 35 full-length
GMAT Prep Book by Rockforge Ed. 7.0/10 Independently published 166 May 6, 2026 35+ full-length

Book details as published on each listing, collected 15 October 2026.

The picks

All the GMAT by Manhattan Prep

All the GMAT by Manhattan Prep

Manhattan Prep9.3/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A book set with an interactive study plan, a digital quiz creator and a dedicated quantitative reasoning volume.

Pros

  • Includes a dedicated All the Quant and Data Insights volume
  • Comes with an exclusive digital e-book covering harder quant concepts for high scorers
  • Provides an interactive 12-week study plan and customizable quiz creator
  • 1200 pages covering Quantitative Reasoning, Verbal and Data Insights

Cons

  • 1200 pages makes it heavy and demanding for students with short study schedules
  • Online features require buying a new copy because serial codes are one-time use
  • Published July 2, 2024, so students should confirm no newer edition is available
  • No reading age or grade level is listed
Detailed Review

The publisher outlines a full study system, providing strategies for Quantitative Reasoning, Data Insights and Verbal sections, along with a digital syllabus and high-scorer quant e-book. The listing states a print length of 1200 pages and a publication date of July 2, 2024, and notes that digital access codes are single-use only.

Who it's for: an MBA applicant who wants comprehensive quant strategies and digital quiz practice in one set. Who should skip it: a student buying a used copy or anyone who only needs a brief math formula recap.

Its Shelf Score of 9.3/10 comes from fit 33/35, contents and edition 24/25, value 22/25 and reading age or level not scored (no reading age or level stated).

Book Details
PublisherManhattan Prep
Print length1200 pages
PublishedJuly 2, 2024
EditionEighth Edition

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep

Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep

Manhattan Prep8.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A math refresher covering fundamental arithmetic and algebra concepts across 10 chapters with online practice banks.

Pros

  • Devoted entirely to fundamental math concepts and arithmetic foundations
  • Includes 700+ practice problems across 10 structured chapters
  • Provides one year of online access to homework banks with 400+ extra questions
  • 528 pages focused strictly on building quantitative problem skills

Cons

  • Published October 4, 2016, so it predates the GMAT Focus exam format
  • Listing contradicts itself by stating 900+ problems in the title but 700+ in the text
  • Focuses only on basic math, without coverage of advanced quant or Data Insights
  • No reading age or grade level is listed
Detailed Review

The description presents this guide as a math refresher designed to rebuild basic quantitative reasoning skills through step-by-step application and topic reviews across 10 chapters. The listing states a print length of 528 pages and a publication date of October 4, 2016, but contains a discrepancy between the title claim of 900+ practice problems and the bullet count of 700+ problems in the book.

Who it's for: a test taker returning to math after years away who needs basic arithmetic and algebra instruction. Who should skip it: an applicant targeting top percentile quant scores who already understands core math principles.

Its Shelf Score of 8.4/10 comes from fit 32/35, contents and edition 19/25, value 21/25 and reading age or level not scored (no reading age or level stated).

Book Details
PublisherManhattan Prep Publishing
Print length528 pages
PublishedOctober 4, 2016
EditionSixth Edition

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

GMAT Test Prep by Elite Prep

GMAT Test Prep by Elite Prep

Elite Prep Publishing7.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A structured study system combining quantitative problem-solving methods with 15 full-length practice tests.

Pros

  • Features 15 full-length practice tests according to the listing
  • Dedicated chapters on quantitative problem-solving methods under timed conditions
  • Published June 30, 2026, offering recent test prep material
  • 209 pages provides a concise overview without overwhelming readers

Cons

  • Independently published without established institutional editorial oversight
  • Fitting 15 full-length tests into 209 pages implies abridged tests or external access
  • Offers less in-depth math theory than dedicated 1200-page course sets
  • No reading age or grade level is listed
Detailed Review

The publisher outlines a structured study system covering section-by-section mastery, quantitative problem-solving methods and time management under pressure. The listing states a print length of 209 pages, a publication date of June 30, 2026, and claims 15 full-length practice tests, which suggests much of the exam material relies on digital access rather than print pages alone.

Who it's for: a busy applicant seeking a concise study framework with practice test access. Who should skip it: a student who requires exhaustive step-by-step proofs and hundred-page math drills.

Its Shelf Score of 7.6/10 comes from fit 27/35, contents and edition 19/25, value 19/25 and reading age or level not scored (no reading age or level stated).

Book Details
PublisherIndependently published
Print length209 pages
PublishedJune 30, 2026
Practice tests15 full-length

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

GMAT Test Prep by Quantum Prep

GMAT Test Prep by Quantum Prep

Quantum Prep Publishing7.3/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A GMAT Focus study manual advertising 35 practice tests and 5 techniques for identifying question patterns.

Pros

  • Claims 35 full-length practice tests and 4000+ practice questions
  • Presents 5 techniques for identifying question patterns quickly
  • Published November 14, 2025, addressing the GMAT Focus format
  • 212 pages makes it portable for studying during daily commutes

Cons

  • Claims 35 full-length tests and 4000+ questions in 212 pages, an apparent contradiction
  • Independently published with unverified question author credentials
  • Lacks deep multi-chapter foundational arithmetic drills
  • No reading age or grade level is listed
Detailed Review

The listing describes an approach tailored to the GMAT Focus format, highlighting pacing methods, step-by-step answer explanations and 5 techniques for spotting question patterns. The book gives a print length of 212 pages and a publication date of November 14, 2025, but its claim of 35 full-length practice tests and 4000+ questions represents a clear physical contradiction for a 212-page book unless hosted externally.

Who it's for: a student who wants an overview of question patterns and quick timing tips. Who should skip it: a test taker who expects thousands of fully printed questions with comprehensive printed explanations.

Its Shelf Score of 7.3/10 comes from fit 26/35, contents and edition 18/25, value 19/25 and reading age or level not scored (no reading age or level stated).

Book Details
PublisherIndependently published
Print length212 pages
PublishedNovember 14, 2025
Practice tests35 full-length

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

GMAT Prep Book by Rockforge Ed.

GMAT Prep Book by Rockforge Ed.

Rockforge Ed.7.0/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A pacing-oriented guide detailing 7 quant strategies and section timing for the 45-minute exam format.

Pros

  • Highlights 7 quant strategies to improve speed and avoid calculation errors
  • Provides pacing guidelines tailored to 45 minutes per section
  • Published May 6, 2026, making it a very recent publication
  • Includes frameworks for Data Insights and Verbal reasoning alongside quant tips

Cons

  • 166 pages is too short to print its advertised 35+ full-length tests and 4,000+ questions
  • Independently published without detailed author credentials
  • No reading age or grade level is listed
  • Does not include foundational arithmetic drills for test takers starting from scratch
Detailed Review

The publisher focuses on pacing under the 45 minutes per section limit, offering 7 quant strategies, 5 Data Insights techniques and 3 verbal frameworks. The listing states a print length of 166 pages and a publication date of May 6, 2026, though claiming 35+ full-length practice tests and 4,000+ realistic questions within 166 pages is a contradiction unless provided outside the book.

Who it's for: an applicant who understands math concepts but needs pacing advice for the 45-minute sections. Who should skip it: a reader looking for hundreds of pages of in-depth math theory and printed problem sets.

Its Shelf Score of 7.0/10 comes from fit 26/35, contents and edition 16/25, value 18/25 and reading age or level not scored (no reading age or level stated).

Book Details
PublisherIndependently published
Print length166 pages
PublishedMay 6, 2026
Practice tests35+ full-length

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for quantitative GMAT preparation, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is provided on the listing. None of the five listings here publish a reading age or grade level, reflecting adult graduate exam materials. Publication dates range from October 4, 2016 to June 30, 2026, and newer editions aligned with current exam formats score higher on contents. Page counts range from 166 pages to 1200 pages, with comprehensive multi-book sets earning higher value scores. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
All the GMAT by Manhattan Prep 9.3 33 24 22 n/a
Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep 8.4 32 19 21 n/a
GMAT Test Prep by Elite Prep 7.6 27 19 19 n/a
GMAT Test Prep by Quantum Prep 7.3 26 18 19 n/a
GMAT Prep Book by Rockforge Ed. 7.0 26 16 18 n/a

Scores run from 0 to 10. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best GMAT book for quant

Foundational review versus comprehensive strategy sets

Selecting the right guide depends on whether you need arithmetic foundations or comprehensive pacing strategies. For test takers who have forgotten basic algebra, fractions and ratios, Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep provides 528 pages and 10 chapters dedicated purely to math concepts. In contrast, All the GMAT by Manhattan Prep spans 1200 pages across Quantitative Reasoning, Verbal and Data Insights, including a high-scorer quant e-book and a 12-week study plan. If you are also preparing for other graduate exams, see our guide to the best GRE books for quantitative section.

Verify publication dates and current exam formats

Exam structures evolve over time, making publication dates and edition details crucial when choosing prep materials. The Manhattan Prep Foundations of Math book was published on October 4, 2016 as a Sixth Edition, meaning its review predates recent exam format changes. Newer titles such as the Elite Prep guide published on June 30, 2026 and the Rockforge Ed. guide published on May 6, 2026 explicitly target the 45 minutes per section format. When browsing graduate test prep books, always verify the edition date on the listing before purchasing.

Evaluate page counts against practice claims

Book Pages Published Practice tests
All the GMAT by Manhattan Prep 1200 July 2, 2024 Quiz creator
Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep 528 October 4, 2016 Not stated
GMAT Test Prep by Elite Prep 209 June 30, 2026 15 full-length
GMAT Test Prep by Quantum Prep 212 November 14, 2025 35 full-length
GMAT Prep Book by Rockforge Ed. 166 May 6, 2026 35+ full-length

A realistic study guide requires sufficient pages to explain complex quantitative reasoning problems. Shorter titles like the 212-page Quantum Prep book and 166-page Rockforge Ed. book claim 35 or 35+ full-length tests and 4000+ practice questions, meaning much of that practice must be hosted online rather than printed in the binding. For college admissions math prep, you can also explore our roundup of the best SAT book for math.

Before you buy

  • Check whether digital practice portals require buying new: the Manhattan Prep listing explicitly notes serial codes are one-time use and used copies often have expired codes.
  • Verify the edition year and publication date: Foundations of Math was published October 4, 2016, whereas All the GMAT was published July 2, 2024.
  • Compare page counts against practice claims: books with 166 or 212 pages that list 35 practice tests rely on external online access.
  • Confirm whether the book focuses purely on math or includes verbal and data insights review across multiple volumes.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which GMAT book is best for someone who struggles with math basics?

Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep is designed specifically for test takers who need a refresher on core concepts. It spans 528 pages across 10 chapters and includes 700+ practice problems in the book plus 400+ online homework questions.

Can a 212-page book contain 35 full-length GMAT practice tests?

A standard full-length exam requires dozens of pages for questions and explanations. Listings like Quantum Prep at 212 pages and Rockforge Ed. at 166 pages that advertise 35 or 35+ full-length tests rely on digital access or condensed question sets rather than full print tests.

Do used GMAT prep books include online question banks?

The All the GMAT listing notes that serial codes for its digital study portal and custom quiz creator are single-use only. Used copies and third-party sellers frequently have expired or redeemed codes, so buying new is required for online access.

How much time is allowed for each GMAT Focus exam section?

The Rockforge Ed. listing states that the GMAT Focus Edition allows 45 minutes per section. It outlines pacing strategies and 7 quant techniques to help test takers avoid rushing under that time constraint.

See every GRE, LSAT and MCAT list and all test prep lists. Also see our best GRE books for quantitative section. Also see our best GRE books for verbal.

More lists: browse SAT, ACT and AP books, licensing exam books and SAT math books.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best GRE Books for Quantitative Section?

    Four GRE prep books compared by publication date, full-length practice tests, math lessons and page counts, from flashcard systems to detailed practice question statistics.

  2. What are the best GRE Books for Verbal?

    Five GRE verbal study guides compared by publication date, practice sets, question counts and format, from the official ETS guide to massive drill banks.

  3. What is the best Study Guide for HESI A2 Entrance Exam?

    Five HESI A2 study guides compared by publication date, practice test counts, question totals and length, from the official exam review to full-color prep.

  4. What is the best ACT Prep Book for High Scorers?

    Four ACT study guides compared by edition date, practice test claims, question volume and page length, from the official test-maker book to independent drills.