Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best SAT Book for Math (2026): 4 Books Compared

Four SAT math books compared by edition date, page count and practice questions, from a 1,500-question digital SAT guide to a 2016 set of math tests.

Best SAT Book for Math (2026): 4 Books Compared
On this page

A junior with a test date on the calendar and a math score to raise should start with the best SAT book for math that fits the weeks left. This list is for a student studying alone, or a parent choosing one book for a student who needs more math practice before test day. We compared each listing by publication date, page count, practice questions, listed reading age and what the description says is inside, so you can see which book matches your time and level.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall The College Panda’s SAT Math by Phu: Over 500 practice questions and explanations in one 414-page volume Check price
  • Most Practice Questions Digital SAT Math Guide by Stroup: 1,500 practice questions sorted into four score-goal levels Check price
  • Best for Algebra Topics SAT Math Orange Book Vol. I by 1600.io: Volume I covers linear, systems and quadratic topics, with over 900 problems Check price
  • Most Math Practice Tests 10 Practice Tests for SAT Math by Phu: 10 complete math tests with explanations, written for the 2016 SAT format Check price

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Reading age or grade Published Practice tests
The College Panda’s SAT Math by Phu 8.7/10 414 15+ years, from customers March 22, 2024 Not stated
Digital SAT Math Guide by Stroup 8.3/10 375 16 – 17 years, from customers January 20, 2024 Not stated
SAT Math Orange Book Vol. I by 1600.io 6.9/10 448 (spec table); 850 per description Not stated February 13, 2021 Not stated
10 Practice Tests for SAT Math by Phu 6.4/10 268 Not stated March 25, 2016 10

Book details as published on each listing, collected 15 October 2026.

The picks

The College Panda's SAT Math by Phu

The College Panda's SAT Math by Phu

Nielson Phu8.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A math-only guide with explanations, Desmos tips and over 500 practice questions, according to the listing.

Pros

  • Over 500 practice questions with explanations, according to the description
  • Desmos tips for the on-screen calculator, according to the description
  • Table of contents runs from exponents and functions through trigonometry, probability and statistics
  • Its title and bullets say it is revised for the Digital SAT math section

Cons

  • Published March 22, 2024, so check for a newer edition before buying
  • 414 pages is a long read for a short study window
  • The reading age of 15+ years is marked from customers only, and no grade level is listed
  • Math only, so reading and writing need another book
Detailed Review

The description presents a full math review, from exponents to statistics, with hundreds of worked examples and a section on the most common mistakes. The listing gives 414 pages, a publication date of March 22, 2024 and a reading age of 15+ years marked as from customers.

The title and bullets both describe the book as revised for the Digital SAT math section, and no contradiction appears between them. The listing's own date is 2024, though, so check for a newer printing before buying if you want the latest edition.

Who it's for: a student who wants one full math reference with many questions and explanations, and who has time to work through a 414-page book. Who should skip it: a student who wants a short book, or help with reading and writing.

Its Shelf Score of 8.7/10 comes from fit 32/35, contents and edition 22/25, value 21/25 and reading age or level 7/10.

Book Details
AuthorNielson Phu
Print length414 pages
Reading age15+ years, from customers
PublishedMarch 22, 2024
Practice questionsOver 500, according to the description

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. Reading age 15+ years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 7 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Digital SAT Math Guide by Stroup

Digital SAT Math Guide by Stroup

Matthew Stroup8.3/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A Digital SAT math guide with 1,500 practice questions, four score-goal levels and optional video lessons.

Pros

  • 1,500 practice questions, according to the description
  • Four levels keyed to score goals, from 550 and below up to 730 to 800
  • Desmos techniques and expert-level questions for the hardest items
  • Each level has a study guide listing the concepts and equations to memorize

Cons

  • Spec table gives January 20, 2024, but the description markets it for 2026, so the edition needs checking
  • Video lessons are an add-on sold separately, so the full package needs an extra purchase
  • Reading age 16 - 17 years is marked as from customers only, and no grade level is listed
  • The description points to the publisher's own website for extras, which sit outside this listing
Detailed Review

The description says the book covers every Digital SAT math topic and sorts its practice into four levels tied to score goals. The listing gives 375 pages, a reading age of 16 - 17 years marked as from customers, and a publication date of January 20, 2024 in the spec table.

The title and bullets market it for the 2026 Digital SAT, while the spec table gives a 2024 date. The bullets give no date of their own, so the edition is worth confirming on the listing before you buy.

Who it's for: a student who wants one guide sorted by score goal and a large question bank in the digital format. Who should skip it: a student who wants official questions only, or who expects the video add-on to come with the book.

Its Shelf Score of 8.3/10 comes from fit 30/35, contents and edition 21/25, value 20/25 and reading age or level 7/10.

Book Details
AuthorsMatthew Stroup, Michael Stroup
Print length375 pages
Reading age16 - 17 years, from customers
PublishedJanuary 20, 2024 (spec table)
Questions1,500 practice questions, according to the description

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. Reading age 16 - 17 years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 7 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

SAT Math Orange Book Vol. I by 1600.io

SAT Math Orange Book Vol. I by 1600.io

1600.io6.9/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Volume I of a two-volume SAT math set, covering linear relationships, systems, exponents and quadratics, with over 900 practice problems and answer keys.

Pros

  • Over 900 practice problems and more than 200 example problems with worked solutions, according to the description
  • An appendix links the 1,508 math problems on released SATs to topic explanations
  • Each volume contains answer keys, according to the listing
  • Video explanations for 1,350 SkillDrill and practice problems, according to the description

Cons

  • Volume I covers only part of the math topics, and Volume II is sold separately
  • The note says each volume must be purchased separately, so the full set takes two purchases
  • Published February 13, 2021, and the listing does not say it covers the Digital SAT
  • The description says 850 pages while the spec table says 448, so the page count conflicts
Detailed Review

The description presents a patient, topic-by-topic explanation of the math on the exam, with SkillDrill mini problem sets that build skills before the full problems. The listing is labeled Book 1 of 2 and has a publication date of February 13, 2021.

The description gives 850 pages and 22 chapters for this volume, while the spec table gives 448 pages. Under our rule the title and bullets outweigh the spec table, so 850 is the figure used here and the gap should be checked on the listing. Volume I's chapters cover linear relationships, systems, exponents, polynomials, quadratic equations and complex numbers.

Who it's for: a student who wants long, patient explanations of algebra topics and many practice problems with answer keys. Who should skip it: a student who needs statistics, trigonometry and circles in the same book, or who wants a book dated for the Digital SAT.

Its Shelf Score of 6.9/10 comes from fit 26/35, contents and edition 21/25, value 19/25 and reading age or level 0/10.

Book Details
PublisherIndependently published
Print length850 pages per description (448 per spec table)
PublishedFebruary 13, 2021
SeriesBook 1 of 2, Volume I of two
Authors1600.io, J. Ernest Gotta, Daniel Kirchheimer

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

10 Practice Tests for SAT Math by Phu

10 Practice Tests for SAT Math by Phu

Nielson Phu6.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Ten complete math practice tests with answer explanations and a category index, written as a companion to the Advanced Guide.

Pros

  • 10 complete math practice tests, according to the description
  • Answer explanations for all questions
  • An index sorts questions by category so you can target weak topics
  • Described as a companion to the author's Advanced Guide

Cons

  • The description says it is written for the 2016 SAT format, so its format is the older one
  • Publication date March 25, 2016, the oldest listing here
  • No lesson content is described, so it works alongside a guide
  • No reading age or grade level is listed
Detailed Review

The description offers 10 complete SAT math practice tests, answer explanations for every question and an index of questions by category. The listing gives 268 pages and a publication date of March 25, 2016, and the spec table gives the edition as First.

The description says the tests reflect the format of the 2016 SAT, which is older than the Digital SAT guides in this list. The listing does not mention a newer edition, so a buyer who wants the current format should look at the other picks.

Who it's for: a student who has finished a content guide and wants more full math tests with explanations. Who should skip it: a student who needs the current digital format or lesson content.

Its Shelf Score of 6.4/10 comes from fit 26/35, contents and edition 15/25, value 20/25 and reading age or level 0/10.

Book Details
AuthorNielson Phu
Print length268 pages
PublishedMarch 25, 2016
Practice tests10 complete math tests
EditionFirst (spec table)

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. No skill level or target score range is stated, so that criterion is not scored. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Exams change. A prep book reflects the exam as described when it was printed. Check the official exam website for the current format, and buy the edition your course names when it names one.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for SAT math, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age where one is given. Two of the four picks list a reading age, both marked as from customers, and the other two list none. Newer editions score higher on contents and edition, so the dates in the table matter. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
The College Panda’s SAT Math by Phu 8.7 32 22 21 7
Digital SAT Math Guide by Stroup 8.3 30 21 20 7
SAT Math Orange Book Vol. I by 1600.io 6.9 26 21 19 0
10 Practice Tests for SAT Math by Phu 6.4 26 15 20 0

Scores run from 0 to 10. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best SAT book for math

Match the book to the weeks you have

A full guide with lessons, such as the Advanced Guide by Phu at 414 pages, asks for a longer study window than a tests-only book. The 10 Practice Tests by Phu run 268 pages of complete math tests with answer explanations, so they suit a student who already knows the content and wants practice in full tests. If you are starting from the topics, begin with a guide and add a practice book for the areas that stay weak. For broader coverage of the whole exam, see our SAT prep books roundup.

Check the edition year

The four listings are dated March 25, 2016, February 13, 2021, March 22, 2024 and January 20, 2024. The PrepPros title and bullets market its content for 2026, while its spec table gives January 20, 2024, so confirm the edition on the listing before you buy. The table below sets the dates and page counts side by side.

Book Published Pages Format
Advanced Guide by Phu March 22, 2024 414 Guide with explanations
Digital SAT Math Guide by Stroup January 20, 2024 375 Guide in four levels
Orange Book Vol. I by 1600.io February 13, 2021 850 per description, 448 per spec table Volume I of two
10 Practice Tests by Phu March 25, 2016 268 Tests with explanations

Check the series order

The 1600.io listing is Book 1 of 2. Its description says Volume I covers foundations, linear relationships, systems, exponents, polynomials and quadratic equations, while Volume II covers ratios, percentages, functions, statistics, unit conversions, trigonometry and circles. Each volume is sold separately, so a reader who needs the second set of topics will need that book too. The Advanced Guide by Phu lists its table of contents in one volume, and that list also reaches trigonometry, probability and statistics.

Look at the level and the grade

Two listings give a reading age, and both mark it as from customers: 15+ years for the Advanced Guide and 16 – 17 years for the PrepPros guide. A customer-listed reading age is not a publisher recommendation for any one student. None of the four listings states a grade level, so compare the topics in each book with the math you have already covered in school.

Before you buy

  • Check the publication date: the four listings are dated 2016, 2021 and 2024, and the PrepPros spec table date conflicts with its 2026 wording.
  • Check the series order: the 1600.io volume is Book 1 of 2, and Volume II is sold separately.
  • Check the page count: the 1600.io description says 850 pages while its spec table says 448.
  • Check the reading level: two listings give a customer-marked reading age and none states a grade level, so compare the topics with your own math level.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best SAT book for math to start with?

For a student who wants lessons and many questions in one place, the Advanced Guide by Phu is the top pick here, with 414 pages and over 500 practice questions. Its table of contents runs from exponents to statistics in one volume. Add the 10 Practice Tests by Phu once the topics feel familiar.

Is there an answer key?

The 1600.io listing says each volume contains answer keys. The Advanced Guide and the PrepPros listing mention explanations and do not mention a separate answer key, so check the listing before buying.

Does a math-only book cover the whole SAT?

No. All four books here cover the math section only, so the reading and writing section needs its own book.

Which edition should I buy?

Buy the edition that matches the format you will sit. The four listings are dated 2016, 2021, 2024 and 2024, and the PrepPros description markets its content for 2026, so check the publication date on the listing before you order.

How many practice tests do I need?

Only the 10 Practice Tests by Phu states a count of complete math tests in this group, at 10. Use one full test as a baseline, then space the rest across your study plan.

See every SAT, ACT and AP list and all test prep lists.

More lists: browse SAT prep books, GRE, LSAT and MCAT books and licensing exam books.

More buying guides