Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Workbooks and Homeschool

Best Calligraphy Workbook for Kids (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five calligraphy workbooks for kids compared by reading age, grade level and method, from four-step beginner books to a 120-sheet practice pad.

Best Calligraphy Workbook for Kids (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

A child who wants to write birthday cards that look like art needs more than lined paper, and the best calligraphy workbook for kids turns that wish into practice. We compared five books by reading age, grade level, page count and teaching method.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Beginner Workbook by Scarlett
    Best Overall Beginner Workbook by Scarlett: Ages 8 to 12, four-step method with three alphabets Check price on Amazon
  • Calligraphy for Kids by Winters
    Best Traditional Styles Calligraphy for Kids by Winters: Ages 8 to 12, grade 3 to 9, Book 1 of 2 Check price on Amazon
  • Modern Calligraphy for Kids
    Best for Projects Modern Calligraphy for Kids: Ages 8 and up, over 10 projects and party ideas Check price on Amazon
  • Beginner's Guide by June & Lucy
    Best Step-by-Step Beginner’s Guide by June & Lucy: Six alphabet styles with practice pages and projects Check price on Amazon
  • Calligraphy Practice by Blue
    Best Practice Pad Calligraphy Practice by Blue: 120 practice sheets, not kid-specific Check price on Amazon

The picks

Beginner Workbook by Scarlett

Beginner Workbook by Scarlett

Jade Scarlett9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A step-by-step workbook for ages 8 to 12 that teaches modern calligraphy in four stages, suited to a child starting from the very first stroke.

Pros

  • Four-step method moves from the eight basic strokes to full words
  • Three alphabets: Whimsical, Bouncy and Traditional
  • Reading age 8 to 12 and grade level 3 to 4, both listed

Cons

  • Reading age is marked as from customers
  • 120 pages may run short for a child who practices every day
  • Workbook pages are used up, so a second copy may be needed later
Calligraphy for Kids by Winters

Calligraphy for Kids by Winters

Eleanor Winters9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A kid-friendly guide to traditional hands including italics, gothic, uncial and Roman, suited to a child who wants real calligraphy styles.

Pros

  • Teaches four real hands: italics, gothic, uncial and Roman
  • Reading age 8 to 12 and grade level 3 to 9, both listed
  • Book 1 of 2, so a second volume continues the series

Cons

  • Reading age is marked as from customers
  • Published March 1, 2007, the oldest listing among the picks
  • Reprint edition, so confirm the printing on the listing
Modern Calligraphy for Kids

Modern Calligraphy for Kids

Modern Kid Press9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A hand lettering workbook for ages 8 and up with alphabets, practice words and party projects, suited to a creative kid who loves crafts.

Pros

  • Covers lowercase and uppercase plus sans serif and serif alphabets
  • Over 10 projects including banners and cupcake toppers
  • Reading age 8 to 11 years, marked as from customers

Cons

  • 106 pages is the lowest print length among the picks
  • Hand lettering focus rather than traditional calligraphy hands
  • Party-project section suits crafty kids more than pure practice
Beginner's Guide by June & Lucy

Beginner's Guide by June & Lucy

June & Lucy Kids9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A beginner's guide with six alphabet styles and practice pages, suited to a kid who wants modern calligraphy without a strict method.

Pros

  • Six unique alphabet styles for kids ages 8 and up
  • Step-by-step instructions with practice pages and full projects
  • 108 pages aimed at complete beginners

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • The description says my name is Kristin while the listing credits June and Lucy Kids
  • Modern calligraphy only, with no traditional hands
Calligraphy Practice by Blue

Calligraphy Practice by Blue

Daisy Blue9.3/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 120-sheet practice pad for beginners and advanced letterers, suited to anyone who wants blank practice space rather than kid-focused lessons.

Pros

  • 120 practice sheets in a large 8.5 by 11 inch format
  • Traceable letters for guided practice
  • Suits beginners and advanced lettering artists alike

Cons

  • The listing never mentions kids or an age range
  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • Practice pad only, with no lessons or alphabet instruction

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or grade Amazon
Beginner Workbook by Scarlett 9.7/10 Jade Scarlett 120 8 to 12 / grade 3 to 4 View on Amazon
Calligraphy for Kids by Winters 9.7/10 Eleanor Winters 128 8 to 12 / grade 3 to 9 View on Amazon
Modern Calligraphy for Kids 9.7/10 Modern Kid Press 106 8 to 11 (from customers) View on Amazon
Beginner’s Guide by June & Lucy 9.4/10 June & Lucy Kids 108 Not stated
Calligraphy Practice by Blue 9.3/10 Daisy Blue 120 Not stated View on Amazon

Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Three of the five listings state a reading age or grade level. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Beginner Workbook by Scarlett 9.7 32 21 20 9
Calligraphy for Kids by Winters 9.7 29 21 20 9
Modern Calligraphy for Kids 9.7 30 20 20 8
Beginner’s Guide by June & Lucy 9.4 28 19 19 0
Calligraphy Practice by Blue 9.3 21 18 19 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best calligraphy workbook for kids

Match the age on the listing

Three listings give a reading age of 8 to 11 or 8 to 12 years, marked as from customers, with grade levels 3 to 4 or 3 to 9. When both numbers agree, the range is easy to trust. For younger handwriting practice, see our best handwriting workbook for kids.

Pick steps or free practice

The Beginner Calligraphy Workbook for Kids works in four steps from strokes to words, while the Daisy Blue pick is a pad of 120 practice sheets with no lessons. A child who needs structure does better with steps.

Check which style it teaches

Calligraphy for Kids teaches traditional hands such as italics, gothic, uncial and Roman; the other picks teach modern calligraphy and hand lettering. Readers moving on to joined writing may like our best cursive workbook for kids.

Before you buy

  • Check the reading age and grade level; three listings mark reading age as from customers.
  • Confirm the format: the Daisy Blue pick is a practice pad with no lessons.
  • For the series pick, buy Book 1 first and confirm the series number.

Frequently Asked Questions

What age should a child start calligraphy?

The listings give reading ages of 8 to 11 and 8 to 12 years, so around age 8 is the listed starting point.

Which workbook suits a complete beginner?

The Beginner Calligraphy Workbook for Kids builds in four steps from the eight basic strokes.

Do these books need special pens?

The Calligraphy for Kids listing mentions chisel-edged markers for its projects.

Beginner Workbook by Scarlett
Still deciding? Our top pickBeginner Workbook by Scarlett
Check price on Amazon

See every workbooks and homeschool list. Also see our best calligraphy workbook for beginners and best handwriting workbook for kids.

More lists: browse workbooks and homeschool, best cursive workbook for kids and best calligraphy workbook for beginners.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Music Books for Ukulele?

    Five ukulele songbooks and method books for beginners, compared by songs, pages, instruction style and bonus video content.

  2. What is the best Jazz Guitar Book?

    Five jazz guitar books, from a 400-standard fake book to methods with online audio, compared for fit, contents and value.

  3. What is the best Wipe Clean Workbook?

    Five wipe-clean workbooks for early learners, from a 10-book pack to spiral-bound Pre-K and kindergarten picks, compared for fit, contents and value.

  4. What are the best Pokemon Phonics Books?

    Five Pokémon phonics and early reader picks compared by listed reading age, grade level, print length and description, from a twelve-story box set to lift-the-flap primers.