Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Cursive Workbook for Kids (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five cursive workbooks for kids compared by print length, customer reading age, grade level and lesson format, from 32-page primers to 110-page practice volumes.

Best Cursive Workbook for Kids (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

When an elementary student begins signing their name on schoolwork or transitioning from print letters, finding the best cursive workbook for kids depends on how much guided practice they need each week. We compared five workbooks by print length, stated grade levels, customer reading ages and exercise progressions, from introductory 32-page booklets to 110-page practice volumes. Each review looks at whether the book includes letter joins, full sentences, open-ended prompts or an answer key to help parents and teachers choose the right fit.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Best Overall Cursive Workbook by Scholdeners: 110 pages with a 3-part progression from single letters to jokes and riddles Check price
  • Best for Beginners Beginning Cursive by Lalgudi: 108 pages with 5-step guided practice, dot-to-dot tracing and coloring activities Check price
  • Best Modern Prompts Cursive Workbook by Modern Kid Press: 95 pages featuring open-ended writing prompts, published April 15, 2021 Check price
  • Best with Answer Key Cursive Workbook by Brighter Child: 80 pages with full sentences, animated characters and an included answer key Check price
  • Best Short Workbook Beginning Cursive by Carson Dellosa: 32 saddle-sewn pages with reference charts for quick introductory practice Check price

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Reading age or grade Published
Cursive Workbook by Scholdeners 8.8/10 110 Ages 8-11 December 6, 2018
Beginning Cursive by Lalgudi 8.7/10 108 Ages 7+ June 25, 2019
Cursive Workbook by Modern Kid Press 8.4/10 95 Ages 6-12 April 15, 2021
Cursive Workbook by Brighter Child 8.1/10 80 Grades 3-5 (Ages 7-10) March 12, 2015
Beginning Cursive by Carson Dellosa 7.0/10 32 Grades 2-5 (Ages 7+) October 1, 1999

Book details as published on each listing, collected 15 October 2026.

The picks

Cursive Workbook by Scholdeners

Cursive Workbook by Scholdeners

Scholdeners8.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 110-page workbook structured into three parts that guide young writers from individual letters to words, full sentences and jokes.

Pros

  • 110 pages with more than 100 pages of writing exercises
  • Three-part structure moving from individual letters to words and full sentences
  • Includes jokes and riddles on practice pages to encourage writing
  • Uses standard traditional American cursive letter formations

Cons

  • The listing gives a reading age of 8 to 11 years, marked as from customers
  • No grade level is stated in the listing
  • The description lists ages 6 to 12 while the reading age field lists 8 to 11 years
  • Published December 6, 2018, with no newer edition listed
Detailed Review

The listing describes a three-part progression that begins with tracing and copying individual uppercase and lowercase letters, advances to word formation, and finishes with full sentences using jokes and riddles. The listing gives a print length of 110 pages, a publication date of December 6, 2018, and a reading age of 8 to 11 years, marked as from customers. The description cites ages 6 to 12, whereas the spec table lists 8 to 11 years, and no grade level is stated.

Who it's for: a parent or homeschool teacher seeking a high-volume cursive workbook with a clear three-step progression from letters to full sentences. Who should skip it: a buyer looking for a curriculum workbook with an official publisher grade level or an included answer key.

Its Shelf Score of 8.8/10 comes from fit 32/35, contents and edition 22/25, value 22/25 and reading age or level 7/10.

Book Details
AuthorScholdeners
Print length110 pages
Reading age8 - 11 years, from customers
PublishedDecember 6, 2018
Format8.5" x 11"

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. A reading age of 8 to 11 years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 7 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Beginning Cursive by Lalgudi

Beginning Cursive by Lalgudi

Sujatha Lalgudi8.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A beginner workbook featuring 108 pages of dot-to-dot tracing, five skill steps, coloring sections and jokes.

Pros

  • 108 pages covering five guided writing practice steps
  • Guided dot-to-dot tracing method for forming letters and joins
  • Includes sight words, number words and full sentences
  • Features coloring sections at the start of each alphabet letter and jokes to trace

Cons

  • The listing gives a reading age of 7+ years, marked as from customers
  • No grade level is stated on the listing
  • The description states kids of all ages while the spec table lists 7+ years
  • Published June 25, 2019, so check for newer releases before buying
Detailed Review

The description outlines a guided five-step progression starting with uppercase and lowercase letter tracing, moving to sight words, letter joins, numbers, and complete sentences. The listing gives a print length of 108 pages, a publication date of June 25, 2019, and a reading age of 7+ years, marked as from customers. While the description claims it serves kids of all ages, the customer-listed reading age starts at 7+, and no grade level is given.

Who it's for: a young learner who benefits from dot-to-dot tracing guides and built-in coloring activities to build hand strength. Who should skip it: an older student who does not want coloring pages or cartoon illustrations alongside handwriting drills.

Its Shelf Score of 8.7/10 comes from fit 32/35, contents and edition 21/25, value 22/25 and reading age or level 7/10.

Book Details
AuthorSujatha Lalgudi, Hippidoo
Print length108 pages
Reading age7+ years, from customers
PublishedJune 25, 2019
Format8.5" x 11"

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. A reading age of 7+ years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 7 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Cursive Workbook by Modern Kid Press

Cursive Workbook by Modern Kid Press

Modern Kid Press8.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 95-page cursive workbook offering stroke tutorials, letter practice and open-ended writing prompts.

Pros

  • 95 pages providing alphabet, number, word and sentence practice
  • Published April 15, 2021, the newest publication date among the independent titles here
  • Includes open-ended prompts to encourage independent handwriting practice
  • Features uplifting phrases and affirmations throughout the exercises

Cons

  • The listing gives a reading age of 6 to 12 years, marked as from customers
  • No grade level is stated in the listing
  • No answer key is included
  • Does not specify the specific handwriting style or script system used
Detailed Review

The description presents a practice sequence covering letters, numbers, words and sentences, concluding with open-ended prompts and encouraging phrases. The listing gives a print length of 95 pages, a publication date of April 15, 2021, and a reading age of 6 to 12 years, marked as from customers. The description states it is suitable for kids 6 and up, though no grade level is stated on the listing.

Who it's for: a child who has learned basic letter shapes and wants encouraging, open-ended sentence prompts. Who should skip it: a classroom teacher or parent who needs an explicit grade-level curriculum or an included answer key.

Its Shelf Score of 8.4/10 comes from fit 30/35, contents and edition 21/25, value 21/25 and reading age or level 7/10.

Book Details
PublisherModern Kid Press
Print length95 pages
Reading age6 - 12 years, from customers
PublishedApril 15, 2021
Format8.5" x 11"

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. A reading age of 6 to 12 years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 7 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Cursive Workbook by Brighter Child

Cursive Workbook by Brighter Child

Brighter Child8.1/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

An 80-page curriculum workbook featuring structured letter strokes, words, sentences and an included answer key.

Pros

  • 80 pages covering stroke formation, letter tracing, words and full sentences
  • Includes an answer key to check letter forms and exercises
  • Colorful pages with animated characters to support engagement
  • Listing provides both grade level and customer reading age ranges

Cons

  • Title lists Grades 2-5 while the description bullets and spec table list Grades 3-5
  • Description lists ages 8-11 while the spec table lists a reading age of 7 - 10 years, marked as from customers
  • Published March 12, 2015, an older edition
  • At 80 pages, it offers fewer practice pages than the 100+ page options
Detailed Review

The description outlines structured handwriting exercises focusing on stroke formation, letter tracing, word formations and full sentences, supported by animated characters and an answer key. The listing gives a print length of 80 pages and a publication date of March 12, 2015. There is an internal contradiction: the title and spec table header state Grades 2-5, but the description bullets and spec table field list Grades 3-5, while customer reading age is listed as 7 to 10 years.

Who it's for: a parent or homeschool educator who wants an included answer key and a structured grade-level framework. Who should skip it: a buyer looking for a larger volume of practice pages or a single clear grade-level recommendation.

Its Shelf Score of 8.1/10 comes from fit 29/35, contents and edition 20/25, value 19/25 and reading age or level 9/10.

Book Details
PublisherBrighter Child
Print length80 pages
Grade level3 - 5
Reading age7 - 10 years, from customers
PublishedMarch 12, 2015

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. Grade level 3 to 5 and a reading age of 7 to 10 years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 9 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Beginning Cursive by Carson Dellosa

Beginning Cursive by Carson Dellosa

Carson-Dellosa Publishing7.0/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 0 to 10 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A slim 32-page traditional cursive workbook with reference charts and blank lined practice sheets.

Pros

  • Both grade level 2 to 5 and customer reading age 7+ years are listed and agree
  • Includes an alphabet reference chart and a numbers reference chart
  • Provides blank lined practice pages for independent penmanship drills
  • Lightweight 32-page format is easy to transport in a folder or backpack

Cons

  • Published October 1, 1999, the oldest publication date in this roundup
  • Only 32 pages, providing significantly less practice than longer workbooks
  • The reading age of 7+ years is marked as from customers
  • Saddle-sewn binding may not lay as flat as thicker workbooks
Detailed Review

The description details basic cursive instruction covering lines, curves, loops, uppercase and lowercase letters, and number words, alongside blank lined practice sheets and reference charts. The listing gives a print length of 32 pages, saddle-sewn binding, and a publication date of October 1, 1999. The listing gives grade level 2 to 5 and a reading age of 7+ years, marked as from customers.

Who it's for: an elementary student who needs a brief refresher or a lightweight introductory booklet. Who should skip it: a learner starting cursive from scratch who requires extensive practice pages across multiple months.

Its Shelf Score of 7.0/10 comes from fit 27/35, contents and edition 15/25, value 15/25 and reading age or level 9/10.

Book Details
PublisherCarson Dellosa Education
Print length32 pages
Grade level2 - 5
Reading age7+ years, from customers
PublishedOctober 1, 1999

Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.

Reading Age and Edition

What this listing states. Grade level 2 to 5 and a reading age of 7+ years, marked as from customers, so reading age or level scores 9 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.

Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.

Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for learning cursive, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level where one is given. All five listings give a reading age marked as from customers, ranging from 6 to 12 years, while two of the five state a formal grade level. Page counts range from 32 to 110 pages, with longer workbooks that include letter joins, words and complete sentences scoring higher on contents and value. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Cursive Workbook by Scholdeners 8.8 32 22 22 7
Beginning Cursive by Lalgudi 8.7 32 21 22 7
Cursive Workbook by Modern Kid Press 8.4 30 21 21 7
Cursive Workbook by Brighter Child 8.1 29 20 19 9
Beginning Cursive by Carson Dellosa 7.0 27 15 15 9

Scores run from 0 to 10. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best cursive workbook for kids

Match page count to your child’s stamina

Workbook lengths vary considerably across listings. The Carson Dellosa Beginning Cursive workbook offers 32 pages with reference charts, making it manageable for brief review sessions. In contrast, the Scholdeners workbook provides 110 pages and the Sujatha Lalgudi workbook includes 108 pages, both offering extensive handwriting drills that cover letters, joining strokes and full sentences. For children who also need support with letter sounds before tackling connected script, pair these exercises with our recommended reading and phonics workbooks.

Check the instructional progression

A structured learning path helps prevent frustration when children connect cursive letters. The Sujatha Lalgudi workbook uses a five-step format that starts with tracing, progresses through sight words and letter joins, and finishes with complete sentences and number words. The Scholdeners 3-in-1 workbook divides its 110 pages into three parts: alphabet letters, words paired with jokes, and full sentences. The Modern Kid Press workbook includes open-ended prompts and uplifting phrases once basic letter shapes are mastered. Families seeking broader handwriting routines across multiple subjects can explore our guide to the best workbooks for homeschooling.

Look for reference charts and answer keys

Workbook Pages Grade level Reading age Answer key
Scholdeners 110 Not stated 8 – 11 years (customers) Not stated
Sujatha Lalgudi 108 Not stated 7+ years (customers) Not stated
Modern Kid Press 95 Not stated 6 – 12 years (customers) Not stated
Brighter Child 80 3 – 5 7 – 10 years (customers) Included
Carson Dellosa 32 2 – 5 7+ years (customers) Not stated

Checking whether a workbook includes reference tools can save time during lessons. The Brighter Child workbook states that an answer key is included to help parents and teachers evaluate handwriting progress. Both Carson Dellosa workbooks provide reference charts for the alphabet and numbers so children can confirm stroke directions independently. For pencil control and letter foundation guides, browse our guide to the best workbook for handwriting.

Before you buy

  • Check whether the listing gives a publisher grade level or only a customer-submitted reading age.
  • Verify whether an answer key is included if you want sample letter models to evaluate penmanship.
  • Review the page count to ensure the practice volume matches your student’s schedule, ranging from 32 to 110 pages.
  • Confirm whether the book covers letter joins and full sentences or focuses solely on individual alphabet tracing.

Frequently Asked Questions

What age is appropriate for a cursive workbook?

The listings in this roundup indicate customer reading ages starting at 6 to 12 years for Modern Kid Press, 7+ years for Sujatha Lalgudi and Carson Dellosa, and 8 to 11 years for Scholdeners. The Carson Dellosa listings specify grade level 2 to 5 and grade level 3 to 5, which generally aligns with ages 7 to 11.

Do cursive workbooks include answer keys?

Among the five workbooks compared, only the Carson Dellosa Grades 2-5 workbook by Brighter Child explicitly states that an answer key is included. The listings for the remaining four workbooks do not state that an answer key is provided.

How many pages of practice do kids need to learn cursive?

The workbooks in this guide range from 32 pages in the Carson Dellosa Beginning Cursive workbook to 110 pages in the Scholdeners 3-in-1 workbook. Shorter 32-page books suit brief introductory reviews, while books with 80 to 110 pages provide extended practice through full sentences and jokes.

Does the workbook teach letter connections or just individual letters?

The Sujatha Lalgudi workbook outlines specific steps for joining uppercase to lowercase letters, and the Scholdeners workbook devotes separate sections to connecting letters into words and full sentences. Checking the listing description confirms whether a title includes sentence practice or only single-letter tracing.

See every reading and phonics list and all workbooks and homeschool lists.

More lists: browse spelling workbooks, phonics workbooks, homeschool curriculum and math workbooks.

More buying guides