Best Zombie Books (2026): Five Picks Compared
Five zombie books compared for horror fans and teen readers, from survival guides to novels, with page counts and reading ages as each listing states.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The best zombie books start with the reader: a teen hunting the next scare, a horror fan building the shelf, a parent checking what is inside. This list compares five books, from survival guides to novels, by fit, contents, value and the reading age the listing states.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Zombie Survival Guide by Brooks: 288-page illustrated guide to surviving the undead Check price on Amazon
Best survival manual SAS Handbook by Wiseman: 672-page guide to surviving anywhere Check price on Amazon
Best horror novel The Living Dead by Romero: Romero’s zombie novel, completed by Daniel Kraus Check price on Amazon
Best literary pick Zombie: A Novel by Oates: Dark novel from Joyce Carol Oates Check price on Amazon
Best for gamers Zombies Art Book by Treyarch: 336-page art book on the Zombies mode Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Zombie Survival Guide by Brooks | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SAS Handbook by Wiseman | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | The Living Dead by Romero | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Zombie: A Novel by Oates | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Zombies Art Book by Treyarch | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Zombie Survival Guide by Brooks
A 288-page illustrated guide to surviving the undead, for horror fans.
Pros
- Covers zombie physiology, defense tactics and home defense in one volume
- Fully illustrated, per the listing
- From the author of World War Z, per the description
Cons
- No reading age or grade level stated
- Covers weapons and defense tactics; parents should check before buying
- 2003 edition; an older book
Pros
- 672 pages, the longest here
- Third Edition with over 100 pages of new material
- Covers urban survival and disaster scenarios
Cons
- Not a zombie book; a general survival manual
- Reading age of 5 years and up seems low for this content
- 672 pages is a lot for a casual reader
Pros
- Completes George A. Romero's unfinished zombie novel
- A massive novel of zombie horror, per the listing
- 2020 publication, the newest novel here
Cons
- No page count stated
- No reading age or grade level stated
- Described as gory horror; not for young readers
Pros
- A classic novel of dark obsession from Joyce Carol Oates
- 2009 edition
- Literary take on the zombie theme
Cons
- No page count stated
- No reading age or grade level stated
- Centers on a serial killer; mature themes parents should check
Pros
- 336 pages of behind-the-scenes art and interviews
- 2026 edition, the newest here
- Covers the Zombies mode from 2008
Cons
- About the video game, not a zombie novel
- No reading age or grade level stated
- For fans of the game; others should skip it
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Z-Altitude by WolfeBook 1 of 6 in a post-apocalyptic zombie thriller series.Check on Amazon
Disney Zombies: Seabrook112-page Disney Zombies book for ages 8 to 12.Check on Amazon
Disney Zombies: Three Tales96-page Level 2 reader for ages 6 to 7.Check on Amazon
The Zombees32-page picture book for ages 4 to 8.Check on Amazon
World War Z Deluxe384-page deluxe slipcase edition of the zombie oral history.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Reading age or grade | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zombie Survival Guide by Brooks | 9.5/10 | Max Brooks | 288 pages | Not stated | September 16, 2003 | View on Amazon |
| SAS Handbook by Wiseman | 9.5/10 | John ‘Lofty’ Wiseman | 672 pages | 5 years and up | November 11, 2014 | View on Amazon |
| The Living Dead by Romero | 9.5/10 | George A. Romero | Not stated | Not stated | August 4, 2020 | View on Amazon |
| Zombie: A Novel by Oates | 9.4/10 | Joyce Carol Oates | Not stated | Not stated | October 14, 2009 | View on Amazon |
| Zombies Art Book by Treyarch | 9.4/10 | Treyarch | 336 pages | Not stated | August 11, 2026 | View on Amazon |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026. One of the five lists a reading age.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. One of the five picks lists a reading age: the SAS Survival Handbook, with a reading age of 5 years and up. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zombie Survival Guide by Brooks | 9.5 | 32 | 20 | 20 | 0 |
| SAS Handbook by Wiseman | 9.5 | 21 | 21 | 20 | 4 |
| The Living Dead by Romero | 9.5 | 30 | 18 | 19 | 0 |
| Zombie: A Novel by Oates | 9.4 | 28 | 18 | 19 | 0 |
| Zombies Art Book by Treyarch | 9.4 | 26 | 20 | 19 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best zombie books
Pick the format
Two picks are survival guides: The Zombie Survival Guide is zombie-specific and illustrated, while the SAS Survival Handbook is a general manual. Two are novels: The Living Dead is zombie horror, and Zombie by Oates is a dark literary novel. The fifth is an art book about the Call of Duty Zombies mode, for fans of the game.
Check the reading age
Only the SAS Survival Handbook states a reading age, 5 years and up. The other four state no reading age or grade level, so there is no guidance about who they suit. For more age-matched picks, see our best teen zombie books list.
Watch for mature content
The Oates novel centers on a serial killer and the Romero book is described as gory horror; neither states a reading age. The Zombie Survival Guide covers weapons and defense tactics. Parents should check the descriptions before buying for a young reader. Our best horror zombie books list has more in the genre.
Before you buy
- Only one pick states a reading age; the other four listings state none.
- The Oates and Romero picks have mature themes; check the descriptions first.
- The SAS Handbook is a general survival manual, not a zombie novel.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which zombie book should I start with?
The Zombie Survival Guide is 288 pages and covers the basics. For a novel, The Living Dead is the 2020 Romero book.
Are these books OK for teens?
Only the SAS Survival Handbook states a reading age, 5 years and up. The Oates novel centers on a serial killer and the Romero book is described as gory horror; parents should check both.
Which book is about the video game?
Call of Duty Black Ops Zombies: The Art of Treyarch, 336 pages on the game’s Zombies mode from 2008.
Related lists
See every teen zombie books list and all horror zombie books lists.
More lists: thriller zombie series, kids and teens books, drawing books for teens.



