Best YA Fantasy Books Without Spice (2026)
Best YA fantasy books without spice: five books compared by pages, reading age and year. Clean romantasy and series starters.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Plenty of teens want epic quests and slow-burn romance with none of the spice, and the best ya fantasy books without spice deliver magic and adventure while keeping things clean. We compared five books by pages, reading age and publication year, using only what each listing publishes.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best overall Mark of the Raven: 352 pages, clean no-spice stated Check price on Amazon
Long pick Three Dark Crowns: 432 pages, rated 14+ years Check price on Amazon
Dystopian pick The Calling: 331 pages, rated 16+ years Check price on Amazon
New pick Orphan’s Quest: Published 2024, rated 13-17 Check price on Amazon
Romance pick Fate Not Chosen: Rated 12-17, series starter Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mark of the Raven | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Three Dark Crowns | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | The Calling | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Orphan's Quest | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Fate Not Chosen | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 352 pages
- Clean no-spice stated in title
- Romantasy trilogy stated
- Published 2018
Cons
- 352 pages is mid-range
- No reading age stated
- 2018 publication
- Romantasy niche

Three Dark Crowns
A 432-page dark YA fantasy by Kendare Blake, rated 14 years and up, published 2018.
Pros
- 432 pages, the longest here
- Rated 14 years and up
- By Kendare Blake
- Dark YA fantasy stated
Cons
- 432 pages is the longest here
- Rated 14 years and up
- 2018 publication
- Dark themes stated
Pros
- 331 pages
- Rated 16+ years
- Published 2023
- Slow burn stated
Cons
- 331 pages is mid-range
- Rated 16+ years, the oldest rating
- 2023 publication
- Dystopian niche
Pros
- Published 2024, the newest here
- Rated 13 to 17 years
- Fantasy series Volume 1 stated
- By Terry Ironwood
Cons
- No page count stated
- Newer author
- 2024 publication
- Fantasy series Volume 1
Pros
- Rated 12 to 17 years
- Published 2021
- The Fate Series stated
- Chosen one fantasy stated
Cons
- No page count stated
- 2021 publication
- Chosen one trope
- Romance niche
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Tales of Witches and WyvernsA fantasy adventure for teens, rated 12+ years, published 2023.Check on Amazon
Thief in the CastleStars and Bones Book 1, rated 16 to 18 years, published 2019.Check on Amazon
Strands of TimeA YA urban fantasy, rated 13 to 17 years, published 2022.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Pages | Reading age | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mark of the Raven | 9.7/10 | 352 | Not stated | 2018 | View on Amazon |
| Three Dark Crowns | 9.7/10 | 432 | 14+ years | 2018 | View on Amazon |
| The Calling | 9.7/10 | 331 | 16+ years | 2023 | View on Amazon |
| Orphan’s Quest | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 13-17 years | 2024 | |
| Fate Not Chosen | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 12-17 years | 2021 | View on Amazon |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs clean content fit, pages and edition, and value. Three of the five listings state a page count. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mark of the Raven | 9.7 | 33 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
| Three Dark Crowns | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
| The Calling | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 20 | n/a |
| Orphan’s Quest | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | n/a |
| Fate Not Chosen | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 19 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best ya fantasy books without spice
How clean
Mark of the Raven states clean no-spice romantasy right in its title, the clearest fit here. The other four are YA fantasy without stated spice: Three Dark Crowns, Orphan’s Quest, The Calling and Fate Not Chosen. For a reader who wants a stated guarantee, the Mark of the Raven is the pick.
Reading age
Three Dark Crowns is rated 14 years and up, The Calling 16+ years, Orphan’s Quest 13 to 17 years, and Fate Not Chosen 12 to 17 years. Mark of the Raven states no reading age. Match the age rating to your reader; 16+ is the oldest rating here.
Length and series
Three Dark Crowns runs 432 pages, Mark of the Raven 352, and The Calling 331. Orphan’s Quest and Fate Not Chosen state no page count. Mark of the Raven is a trilogy series, and The Calling and Fate Not Chosen are series starters. A series gives the reader the next book when the first one ends.
Before you buy
- Only Mark of the Raven states clean no-spice in its title; the rest are YA fantasy without stated spice.
- Check the reading age: ratings run from 12-17 up to 16+.
- The more-picks block adds three more options, including one rated 16 to 18 years.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which book states clean no-spice?
Mark of the Raven, a clean no-spice romantasy trilogy series, 352 pages, published 2018.
Which is the longest?
Three Dark Crowns at 432 pages, followed by Mark of the Raven at 352 pages.
Which are series starters?
Mark of the Raven (a trilogy), The Calling (The Calling Series) and Fate Not Chosen (The Fate Series). Orphan’s Quest is Volume 1 of The Great Forget.
Are there more options?
The more-picks block lists Tales of Witches and Wyverns, Thief in the Castle, and Strands of Time.
Related lists
Also see the fantasy books shelf and our best fantasy books for YA.
More lists: browse young adult books.



