Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Reading and Phonics

Best Writing Practice Books for Pre-k (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five writing practice books for pre-k compared by pen control first steps, letter coverage and page count, from tracing paths to first words.

Best Writing Practice Books for Pre-k (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Before a child writes letters on a line, the hand needs paths, curves and dots to follow. These best writing practice books for pre-k were compared by what each listing teaches first, how many pages of practice it gives, and the age range each listing states, so a parent can match the book to where the child is starting.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Trace and Write by BrainWave
    Best Overall Trace and Write by BrainWave: Stroke-by-stroke letters after pencil control, in 152 pages. Check price on Amazon
  • Handwriting Book by Modern Kid
    Best for Sight Words Handwriting Book by Modern Kid: Letters, numbers 1 to 10, sight words and short sentences. Check price on Amazon
  • A-B-C Tracing by Edu Play
    Best All-in-One A-B-C Tracing by Edu Play: Tracing, matching games, sight words and numbers 0 to 20. Check price on Amazon
  • Learn-to-Write Workbook by Radke
    Best First Workbook Learn-to-Write Workbook by Radke: Pen control and tracing with 75 or more practice pages. Check price on Amazon
  • Writing Practice Boxset by Wonder House
    4-Book Boxset Writing Boxset by Wonder House: A pack of 4 writing practice books in one boxset. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Trace and Write by BrainWave

Trace and Write by BrainWave

BrainWave Books9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Pencil control first, then letters A to Z, first words and simple sentences, for a child learning letters the right way from the start.

Pros

  • Every letter starts at a dot and builds one numbered stroke at a time
  • Help fades until the child writes each letter alone
  • Mazes, color-by-letter and dot-to-dots practice the same skills

Cons

  • Title says 150 pages while the spec table lists a print length of 152 pages
  • Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
  • Mazes and coloring pages share space with letter practice
Handwriting Book by Modern Kid

Handwriting Book by Modern Kid

Modern Kid Press9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Letters, numbers 1 to 10, sight words and short sentences in one volume, for a child ready to move past tracing alone.

Pros

  • Uppercase and lowercase letters with arrows showing how to form each letter
  • 25 or more pages of sight words after letter formation
  • 15 or more pages of short sentences for reading comprehension

Cons

  • Reading age starts at 2 years, below the pre-k focus of the list
  • No grade level is stated in the listing
  • Sentence pages come only after letter and sight word work
A-B-C Tracing by Edu Play

A-B-C Tracing by Edu Play

Edu Play Club9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Tracing, matching games, confusion-busting exercises and number tracing, for a child who learns best through varied activities.

Pros

  • Confusion-busting exercises for similar letters like b and d, p and q
  • Letter matching games plus sight words and number tracing from 0 to 20
  • Step-by-step stroke guidance for uppercase and lowercase letters

Cons

  • Book 2 of 2, so a buyer should check whether Book 1 is also wanted
  • No answer key is stated in the listing
  • Large format may suit a table better than a small lap desk
Learn-to-Write Workbook by Radke

Learn-to-Write Workbook by Radke

Crystal Radke9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Pen control, line tracing, letters, shapes and numbers, for a young writer building a foundation before school.

Pros

  • 75 or more practice pages of pencil-on-paper activities
  • Connect-the-dots and fill-in-the-blanks add variety to repetition
  • Colorful pictures and illustrations keep practice engaging

Cons

  • Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
  • At 84 pages it is the shortest full-data book among the picks
  • Published August 27, 2019, the oldest edition among the full-data picks
Writing Practice Boxset by Wonder House

Writing Practice Boxset by Wonder House

Wonder House Books9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A boxed set of four early writing workbooks on capital letters, small letters, patterns and numbers 1 to 10, for ages 3 to 5.

Pros

  • Covers capital letters, small letters, patterns and numbers 1 to 10 in one set
  • Reading age 3 to 5 and a Preschool grade level match a beginner
  • The description says it supports fine motor skills and pencil control, the publisher's claim

Cons

  • The listing gives 64 pages across the set, a short total for four workbooks
  • The description says ages 3 to 4 while the reading age says 3 to 5
  • Published June 10, 2018, the oldest date among these picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • First Writing Workbook by Gold StarsFirst Writing Workbook by Gold StarsFor ages 3 to 5: pencil control, letters and numbers with 75 or more activities.Check on Amazon
  • Ready to Learn Pre-K by Silver DolphinReady to Learn Pre-K by Silver DolphinFor ages 3 to 5: letter tracing, name writing and story ideas in 64 pages.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or grade Amazon
Trace and Write by BrainWave 9.7/10 BrainWave Books 152 3 – 5 years, from customers View on Amazon
Handwriting Book by Modern Kid 9.7/10 Modern Kid Press 117 2 – 5 years View on Amazon
A-B-C Tracing by Edu Play 9.7/10 Edu Play Club 126 3 – 5 years View on Amazon
Learn-to-Write Workbook by Radke 9.6/10 Crystal Radke 84 3 – 4 years, from customers View on Amazon
Writing Boxset by Wonder House 9.5/10 Wonder House Books Not stated Not stated

Book details as published on each listing, collected 25 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Four of the five picks list a reading age. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Trace and Write by BrainWave 9.7 32 22 21 7
Handwriting Book by Modern Kid 9.7 30 21 20 7
A-B-C Tracing by Edu Play 9.7 29 21 20 7
Learn-to-Write Workbook by Radke 9.6 30 20 20 7

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best writing practice books for pre-k

Start with pen control, not letters

The BrainWave book puts pencil control first, with paths, curves, loops and zigzags before any letter, while the Radke book introduces pen control and line tracing alongside letters. A child who has never held a pencil with control should start with the BrainWave book; a child who already traces lines can start with either. For the next step up, see our best writing workbooks for kindergarten list.

Check what comes after the alphabet

Some books stop at letters, and others keep going. The Modern Kid book moves from letters to numbers 1-10, then to sight words and short sentences, while the Edu Play book adds letter matching games, sight words and number tracing from 0 to 20. A child who already knows the alphabet will get more mileage from one of those two. For a child who resists practice, see our best writing workbook for reluctant kids list.

Match the page count to the routine

Page counts here run from 84 pages to 152 pages, so the books suit different routines. The BrainWave book, at 152 pages, gives the longest runway for daily practice, while the Radke book, at 84 pages, finishes faster and suits a shorter routine. Check the edition and publication date on the listing, since the Radke book dates to August 27, 2019 and the BrainWave book to May 15, 2025.

Before you buy

  • Check the stated reading age against the child: the Modern Kid listing gives 2 to 5 years, while the other full-data picks give 3 to 5 years or 3 to 4 years.
  • Confirm the series position on the listing: the Edu Play book is Book 2 of 2 in the Preschool Learning Activities series.
  • Note the BrainWave listing mismatch: the title says 150 pages while the spec table lists a print length of 152 pages.

Frequently Asked Questions

What should a pre-k writing book teach first?

Pen control comes first in these listings: paths, curves and line tracing appear before letter formation in the BrainWave and Radke books.

Do these books include sight words?

The Modern Kid book includes 25 or more pages of sight words, and the Edu Play book includes sight word tracing alongside letter matching games.

Which book has the most practice pages?

The BrainWave book lists a print length of 152 pages, the longest among the picks, followed by the Edu Play book at 126 pages.

Trace and Write by BrainWave
Still deciding? Our top pickTrace and Write by BrainWave
Check price on Amazon

See every reading and phonics list and all workbooks and homeschool lists.

More lists: best writing workbooks for kindergarten, best writing workbook for reluctant kids, best social studies books for pre-k.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Books for Technical Writing?

    5 technical writing books compared by coverage, format and use, from a 6-page guide to a 400-entry reference for students and writers.

  2. What is the best Hebrew Workbook for Adults?

    Five Hebrew workbooks for adults compared by coverage, practice type, page count and series position, from beginner collections to script writing.

  3. What is the best Alphabet Workbook for Preschoolers?

    Five alphabet workbooks for preschoolers compared by wipe-clean pages, stickers, tracing and listed age, from Scholastic and School Zone.

  4. What is the best Basic English Grammar Book?

    Five grammar books for beginner learners compared by edition, pages, answer key and format, from self-study books to a laminated quick reference.