Best Sight Words for Beginner Readers (2026): 4 Picks
Four sight-word book sets compared by book count, word coverage and reading level, from 25-book Level A boxes to flash cards.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
A beginning reader who knows the alphabet but stalls on the little words needs practice that feels like play. These best sight words for beginner readers picks were compared by book count, sight word coverage, reading level and extras like guides and stickers.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Sight Word Stories by Charlesworth: 25 books, first 25 sight words, guide and stickers, Level A Check price on Amazon
Best 50-Word Set 25 Sight Word Readers by Beech: 25 books covering the top 50 sight words, 8 pages each Check price on Amazon
More to Explore First Little Readers Parent Pack: 25-book parent pack at Guided Reading Level A Check price on Amazon
More to Explore Scholastic Sight Word Flash Cards: Scholastic flash cards for sight word drills Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Sight Word Stories by Charlesworth | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | First Little Readers by Charlesworth | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Scholastic Sight Words Cards | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | 25 Sight Word Readers by Beech | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Sight Word Stories by Charlesworth
25 little books teaching the first 25 sight words, with a parent guide, workbook and stickers, for beginners at Guided Reading Level A; skip it if your reader is past Level A.
Pros
- 25 little books each teach one must-know sight word
- Includes a parent guide, mini-workbook and stickers
- Lists reading age 4 to 6 years and grade Preschool to 2
Cons
- Reading age is marked as from customers
- Covers the first 25 sight words only
- Box set format means buying all 25 at once

First Little Readers by Charlesworth
A boxed collection of 25 short Guided Reading Level A storybooks designed to support budding readers with decodable words and picture cues.
Pros
- Box set provides 25 individual beginning reader storybooks
- Correlates with Guided Reading Level A using simple text and decodable words
- Includes a tip-filled parent guide in a take-along storage box
- The listing gives grade level Preschool - 2 and Grades K-2
Cons
- Listing has contradictory counts, stating 25 books in the title but 20 Decodable Books in the spec table
- The spec table lists print length as 25 pages, which describes page count rather than individual book depth
- Reading age entries conflict, listing 5-7 Years in one field and 3 - 6 years from customers in another
- Published October 1, 2010, an older edition

Scholastic Sight Words Cards
For little readers: 56 sight word flash cards from Scholastic, for ages 4 to 6.
Pros
- 56 cards stated
- Reading age 4 to 6 years stated
- Scholastic Teaching Resources publisher stated
Cons
- Not a book: cards, not a picture book
- No description is published on the listing
- No warranty term is stated

25 Sight Word Readers by Beech
25 eight-page books introducing the top 50 sight words, two per tale, for pre-readers building a foundation; skip it if you want a parent guide included.
Pros
- 25 books covering the top 50 sight words, two per tale
- Eight-page books suit short attention spans
- Predictable format builds reading confidence
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated on the listing
- 2013 publication date, earlier than the 2021 pick
- Eight pages per book means very short tales
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Reading age or grade | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sight Word Stories by Charlesworth | 9.8/10 | 4 to 6 / Preschool to 2 | August 1, 2021 | View on Amazon |
| 25 Sight Word Readers by Beech | 9.5/10 | Not stated | January 1, 2013 | View on Amazon |
| First Little Readers Parent Pack | 9.7/10 | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Scholastic Sight Word Flash Cards | 9.7/10 | Not stated | Not stated |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level. One of the four picks lists a reading age and grade level; the other listings state no age or level. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sight Word Stories by Charlesworth | 9.8 | 32 | 22 | 22 | 9 |
| 25 Sight Word Readers by Beech | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best sight words for beginner readers
Match the set to the reader’s level
Sight Word Stories lists 4 to 6 years with grade Preschool to 2 and targets Guided Reading Level A. The 25 Readers set names no age or level, so check the sample pages first. For more phonics practice, browse reading and phonics workbooks.
Count the books and the words
Both full-data picks contain 25 books: Sight Word Stories covers the first 25 sight words, while the 25 Readers set covers the top 50, two per tale. The First Little Readers pack also names 25 books at Level A.
Before you buy
- Check the edition: one pick is labeled Workbook edition.
- Confirm the count: the full-data picks each contain 25 books.
- Note that only one listing states a reading age, marked as from customers.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a sight word book?
A sight word book teaches high-frequency words through short, predictable tales. The 25 Readers set presents two such words per tale across 25 books.
How many sight words do beginners need first?
Sight Word Stories covers the first 25 sight words, while the 25 Readers set covers the top 50. Start with 25 and add more as the reader grows.
Do these sets include parent guides?
Sight Word Stories includes a parent guide, mini-workbook and stickers. The 25 Readers set names no guide on its listing.
Related lists
See every reading and phonics list and all workbooks and homeschool lists.
More: sight words workbook for kindergarten, homeschool curriculum and math workbooks.