Best Selling Books Horror (2026): 4 Scary Picks Compared
Four best selling horror books compared, from Stephen King's Carrie to the Stoker-winning Reformatory, with page counts and awards from the listings.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
The best selling books horror list is for readers who want proven scares: every book below earned its place in the horror lane. We compared four books, from Stephen King’s Carrie to the 576-page Reformatory, scoring each on fit, contents, value and the listed reading age or level. A slow-burn historical chiller leads the list; every figure below comes from the listing.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall The Reformatory by Due: Bram Stoker winner; 576 pages; Jim Crow historical horror Check price on Amazon
Best Literary Pick Needless Street by Ward: British Fantasy Award; 368 pages; buried secrets Check price on Amazon
Best Classic Carrie by King: King’s first novel; 50th anniversary edition; 336 pages Check price on Amazon
Best Fun Pick Horrorstor by Hendrix: Haunted furniture store; illustrated; 248 pages Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Reformatory by Due | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 2 | Needless Street by Ward | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 3 | Carrie by King | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 4 | Horrorstor by Hendrix | 9.6/10 | Buy |

The Reformatory by Due
Tananarive Due's 576-page historical horror set in Jim Crow Florida, winner of the Bram Stoker Award and the Shirley Jackson Award.
Pros
- 576 pages, the longest read here
- Bram Stoker and Shirley Jackson award winner
- Historical horror set in Jim Crow Florida
Cons
- Longest read at 576 pages
- Heavy subject matter rooted in real history
- No reading age or grade level is stated

Needless Street by Ward
Catriona Ward's British Fantasy Award-winning chiller, 368 pages from Tor Nightfire, with an unreliable narrator and buried secrets.
Pros
- British Fantasy Award winner for Best Horror Novel
- 368 pages with a slow-burn mystery
- A house cat is one of the narrators, per the description
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- Twisty structure may not suit every reader
- 368 pages is a medium commitment

Carrie by King
Stephen King's first novel in a 50th anniversary edition with a new introduction by Margaret Atwood, 336 pages.
Pros
- Stephen King's first novel
- 50th anniversary edition with Margaret Atwood introduction
- 336-page reprint edition
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- 2018 reprint edition only
- Fewest pages of the four books here

Horrorstor by Hendrix
Grady Hendrix's illustrated haunted-house satire set in a furniture superstore, 248 pages from Quirk.
Pros
- Haunted furniture superstore setting
- Illustrated catalog-style design
- 248 pages, the quickest read here
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- 2014 edition is the oldest listing here
- Dark humor may not suit every reader
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Pages | Publisher | Award | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Reformatory by Due | 9.7/10 | 576 | S&S/Saga Press | Bram Stoker winner | Check price |
| Needless Street by Ward | 9.7/10 | 368 | Tor Nightfire | British Fantasy winner | Check price |
| Carrie by King | 9.7/10 | 336 | Not stated | Not stated | Check price |
| Horrorstor by Hendrix | 9.6/10 | 248 | Quirk | Not stated | Check price |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 18 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. None of the four picks lists a reading age or grade level; all four are adult horror novels. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Reformatory by Due | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 20 | n/a |
| Needless Street by Ward | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
| Carrie by King | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 19 | n/a |
| Horrorstor by Hendrix | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 19 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best selling books horror
Classic or contemporary
Carrie is the classic: Stephen King’s first novel, here in a 50th anniversary edition with a new introduction by Margaret Atwood. The other three are modern: The Last House on Needless Street from 2022, The Reformatory from 2025, and Horrorstor from 2014. If you want more seasonal scares, see our horror books for Halloween list.
Long read or fast night
The Reformatory runs 576 pages for a week-long deep dive, while Horrorstor’s 248 pages and single-night setting suit one sitting. The Last House on Needless Street at 368 pages and Carrie at 336 pages sit in the middle. For autumn reading, see our horror books for fall list.
Scary-fun or scary-serious
Horrorstor blends haunted-house scares with workplace satire at a furniture superstore, while The Reformatory roots its horror in Jim Crow Florida and the real Dozier School for Boys. The Last House on Needless Street leans literary, with an unreliable narrator and a house cat among the narrators.
Before you buy
- Check the edition on the listing: Carrie here is the 2018 reprint, 50th anniversary edition, and Horrorstor is the 2014 illustrated edition.
- Confirm the book is standalone: all four of these are standalone novels, not series entries.
- Compare the page count against your reading time: 248 pages for Horrorstor up to 576 pages for The Reformatory.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is the longest book here?
The Reformatory at 576 pages, published January 7, 2025 by S&S/Saga Press.
Is Carrie the first Stephen King novel?
Yes, Carrie is Stephen King’s first novel; this listing is the 50th anniversary edition with a new introduction by Margaret Atwood.
Which book won the Bram Stoker Award?
The Reformatory won the Bram Stoker Award and the Shirley Jackson Award, plus the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.
Related lists
See every thriller and mystery list and all fiction lists.
More lists: horror books for Halloween, horror books for fall and mystery horror novels.