Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Licensing and Certification

Best Review Books for FNP Certification (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four FNP certification review books compared on practice questions, page count, edition and digital tools, ranked by Shelf Score.

Best Review Books for FNP Certification (2026): 4 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

The FNP certification exam is months away and the study shelf is full of review books. Some pack thousands of practice questions; others teach exam strategy in a few hundred pages. This guide compares the best review books for fnp certification, from intensive reviews to question banks, on questions, pages and digital tools.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Leik 4th Edition

Leik 4th Edition

Maria T. Codina Leik MSN APRN FNP-C FNP-BC AGPCNP-BC9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 960-page fourth-edition review with 800 practice questions and 6 months of ExamPrepConnect digital prep.

Pros

  • 800 practice questions
  • 6 months digital prep
  • Exam tips and clinical pearls

Cons

  • 960 pages, heavy
  • 2020 publication
  • No warranty stated
FNP Intensive Review by Leik

FNP Intensive Review by Leik

Maria T. Codina Leik MSN ARNP FNP-C FNP-BC AGPCNP-BC9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For FNP test takers who want one review book with practice exams, the description says it is updated for the current AANPCB and ANCC blueprints.

Pros

  • Built for the FNP certification exams, with AANPCB and ANCC blueprints named in the description
  • More than 1,200 practice questions with rationales, plus four practice exams, per the description
  • Six months of companion course access on ExamPrepConnect is included, the listing states

Cons

  • Fifth edition published January 5, 2024; the listing does not say whether a newer edition exists
  • At 672 pages, it asks for a long study window
  • Companion course access runs six months, so a longer study plan may outlast it
Leik Fast Facts 2nd

Leik Fast Facts 2nd

Maria T. Codina Leik MSN APRN FNP-C FNP-BC AGPCNP-BC9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 672-page second-edition fast-facts review with 600 practice questions.

Pros

  • 600 practice questions
  • Fast facts format
  • Pharmacology review

Cons

  • 2013 publication
  • 672 pages, heavy
  • No warranty stated
FNP Exam Prep by Ellsworth

FNP Exam Prep by Ellsworth

Tara Ellsworth9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For readers who want many full-length practice exams, the description lists 10 of them plus an online test simulator.

Pros

  • Ten full-length practice exams, which the description says replicate the real test experience
  • 1500+ practice questions with rationales, according to the description
  • Lists an online test simulator for unlimited mock exams, as the description says

Cons

  • Independently published, and the listing gives no edition number
  • The description uses sales language and Buy Now prompts, so check the table of contents first
  • It says it follows current AANPCB and ANCC blueprints, but the listing states only the April 18, 2025 publication date

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Fitzgerald NP Exam PrepFitzgerald NP Exam Prep2400+ questions with rationales and an online quiz bank.Check on Amazon
  • Zerwekh FNP ReviewZerwekh FNP Review1500+ questions with Evolve practice exams.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Questions Digital Publisher Amazon
Leik 4th Edition 9.8/10 960 800 ExamPrepConnect Springer View on Amazon
Leik 5th Edition 9.8/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Ellsworth FNP Prep 9.7/10 Not stated 1500+ Not stated Not stated
Leik Fast Facts 2nd 9.7/10 672 600 Not stated Springer View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs questions, content, value and recency. The Leik 4th edition leads on questions plus digital prep; the 5th edition is the newest; the Ellsworth leads on question count; the 2nd edition is the concise fast-facts pick. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Leik 4th Edition 9.8 33 22 22 n/a
Leik Fast Facts 2nd 9.7 30 21 21 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best review books for fnp certification

Questions

The Ellsworth lists 1500+ questions and 10 practice exams; the Leik 4th edition lists 800; the Leik 2nd lists 600; the 5th edition states no count. More questions suit drilling; fewer suit review. See the certification exam prep shelf for more.

Edition

The 5th edition is the newest Leik; the 4th edition is from 2020; the 2nd from 2013. Newer suits the latest blueprint; older suits budget review of stable content.

Digital tools

Only the 4th edition lists digital prep: 6 months of ExamPrepConnect with a study plan, flashcards and a discussion board. The others state no digital tools. Digital suits learners who study on a phone.

Page count

The 4th edition is 960 pages; the 2nd is 672. Longer suits deep review; shorter suits fast facts. The 5th edition and Ellsworth state no page count.

Match the exam

The 4th edition lists the AANPCB and ANCC exams. Match the book to your exam before buying.

Before you buy

  • The 4th edition covers the AANPCB and ANCC exams.
  • Question counts range from 600 to 1500+.
  • Only the 4th edition lists digital prep (ExamPrepConnect).
  • The 2nd edition is from 2013; check the latest blueprint.
  • None of the four states a warranty.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many practice questions do these have?

600 to 1500+, per the listings.

Which covers the AANPCB and ANCC exams?

The Leik 4th edition.

Which includes digital prep?

The Leik 4th edition: 6 months of ExamPrepConnect.

Which has the most questions?

The Ellsworth: 1500+ questions and 10 practice exams.

Is the 2013 edition still useful?

Match it to the latest blueprint; the 5th edition is newer.

Leik 4th Edition
Still deciding? Our top pickLeik 4th Edition
Check price on Amazon

See every certification exam prep guide and all graduate exam prep guides.

More lists: graduate exam prep and college admission prep.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Real Estate Exam Book?

    Five real estate exam books compared by practice exams, question counts, page counts and edition dates, for salesperson, broker and appraiser licensing.

  2. What is the best Study Guide for Shrm Cp?

    Five SHRM-CP study guides compared by practice questions, study plans and edition currency, from all-in-one volumes to flashcard sets.

  3. What is the best Study Guide for Us Citizenship Test?

    Four citizenship study guides compared by focus, page count, edition and publisher, to help first-time test takers choose the right guide.

  4. What is the best Review Book for Nursing School?

    We compared five review books for nursing school, from a 170-page quick-facts book to 1152-page NCLEX reviews, on fit, contents, edition and reading age.