Best Reading Comprehension Workbooks for 1st Grade (2026)
Four first grade reading comprehension workbooks compared by listed grade level, reading age, page count, publication date and whether an answer key is included.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
When a first grader can sound out words but cannot yet say what a story was about, the best reading comprehension workbooks for 1st grade give daily passages and questions to practice on. This list is for parents, homeschool families and first grade teachers, and it compares four workbooks by grade level, reading age, page count, publication date and whether an answer key is listed. Each title is scored on how directly it serves a first grade reader, what the listing says is inside, its value and the reading level it states.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
- Best Overall Daily Comprehension by Evan-Moor: 150 passages across 30 weeks of daily lessons, with Grade 1 stated Check price
- Best Short Workbook Reading Comprehension by Scholastic: 48 pages of comprehension practice with a stated reading age of 6 to 7 years Check price
- Best Mixed Early Skills Ready to Learn by Silver Dolphin: Sight words, vocabulary and comprehension, with an answer key at the end Check price
- Best Decodable Passages 1st Grade Comprehension by Ecochardt: Decodable stories with three questions each and a cut-and-paste main idea activity Check price
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Pages | Reading age or grade | Published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily Comprehension by Evan-Moor | 8.4/10 | Not stated | Grade 1 | Not stated |
| Reading Comprehension by Scholastic | 8.1/10 | 48 | 6 to 7 years; grade 1 and up | February 1, 2022 |
| Ready to Learn by Silver Dolphin | 8.0/10 | 64 | 5 to 7 years; Kindergarten to 2 | May 5, 2020 |
| 1st Grade Comprehension by Ecochardt | 8.0/10 | 59 | Grade 1; 5 to 7 years | November 22, 2023 |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 15 October 2026.
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Daily Comprehension by Evan-Moor | 8.4/10 | Buy |
| 2 | Reading Comprehension by Scholastic | 8.1/10 | Buy |
| 3 | Ready to Learn by Silver Dolphin | 8.0/10 | Buy |
| 4 | 1st Grade Comprehension by Ecochardt | 8.0/10 | Buy |

Daily Comprehension by Evan-Moor
A daily workbook with 150 fiction and nonfiction passages and comprehension items, organized as 30 weeks of lessons.
Pros
- 150 original fiction and nonfiction passages with comprehension items
- 30 weeks of direct instruction covering main idea, sequence, compare and contrast and author's purpose
- The spec table marks an answer key as included
- Grade 1 is named in the title and the listing
Cons
- No page count is stated
- No publication date is listed, so the edition is hard to check
- No reading age is stated, only the grade
- The reproducible pages are described as part of the teacher's edition, so a family buying for one child should check the format
Detailed Review
The description presents the book as daily reading comprehension practice for first grade, with 150 fiction and nonfiction passages across 30 weeks of lessons, plus phonics, sight words and vocabulary practice. The listing states Grade 1 but gives no page count, reading age or publication date. The spec table lists an answer key, while the description does not mention one, so check the listing before buying.
Who it's for: a teacher or homeschool family who wants structured passages with multiple-choice questions over 30 weeks. Who should skip it: a parent who wants a short, single-skill workbook for one child.
Its Shelf Score of 8.4/10 comes from fit 32/35, contents and edition 20/25, value 21/25 and reading age or level 7/10.
Book Details
| Publisher | Evan-Moor |
|---|---|
| Grade level | Grade 1 |
| Passages | 150 fiction and nonfiction |
| Lessons | 30 weeks |
| Answer key | Listed in the spec table |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Grade 1 is stated, and no reading age is listed, so reading age or level scores 7 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Reading Comprehension by Scholastic
A 48-page practice workbook with more than 40 skill pages on main idea, directions, conclusions and sequence.
Pros
- Both a reading age (6 to 7 years) and a grade level are stated
- More than 40 practice pages with easy-to-follow directions
- Covers main idea and details, sequence, cause and effect, and predicting outcomes
- A short 48-page volume for a single grade band
Cons
- Published February 1, 2022, and the listing does not mention a newer edition
- Grade level 1 and up is a broad range and does not target a single grade
- No answer key is stated in the listing
- 48 pages gives less passage practice than the 150-passage daily workbook
Detailed Review
The description offers more than 40 ready-to-use practice pages with high-interest stories, covering main idea and details, following directions and drawing conclusions. The listing gives 48 pages, a reading age of 6 to 7 years, grade level 1 and up and a publication date of February 1, 2022. The reading age fits a first grader, though the grade range runs past grade 1.
Who it's for: a child who needs short, focused comprehension practice in a small volume. Who should skip it: a parent who wants a long daily program or a listed answer key.
Its Shelf Score of 8.1/10 comes from fit 30/35, contents and edition 19/25, value 19/25 and reading age or level 9/10.
Book Details
| Publisher | Scholastic Teaching Resources |
|---|---|
| Print length | 48 pages |
| Reading age | 6 to 7 years |
| Grade level | 1 and up |
| Published | February 1, 2022 |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Grade level 1 and up, and a reading age of 6 to 7 years, so reading age or level scores 9 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

Ready to Learn by Silver Dolphin
A 64-page reading workbook for ages 5 to 7 that covers sight words, rhyming words, reading comprehension and vocabulary.
Pros
- 64 full-color, illustrated pages
- Answer key at the end of the book, as the listing states
- The listing says it meets Common Core State Standards, a claim the maker makes
- Includes a Certification of Achievement at completion
Cons
- Comprehension shares the book with sight words, rhyming and vocabulary
- Published May 5, 2020, the oldest date in this list
- The Kindergarten to 2 grade range is wide, so the listing does not target grade 1 alone
- The reading age of 5 to 7 starts below first grade, so the reader's level needs checking
Detailed Review
The description lists sight words, rhyming words, reading comprehension and vocabulary, with bright illustrations and a focus on story elements. The listing states 64 pages, a reading age of 5 to 7 years, grade levels Kindergarten to 2 and a publication date of May 5, 2020, with an edition marked Illustrated. The grade range and reading age both sit around first grade, so the match is broad rather than exact.
Who it's for: a child who needs a mix of early reading skills, with an answer key at the end. Who should skip it: a reader who needs comprehension practice alone, or a family that wants the newest edition.
Its Shelf Score of 8.0/10 comes from fit 26/35, contents and edition 21/25, value 20/25 and reading age or level 9/10.
Book Details
| Publisher | Silver Dolphin Books |
|---|---|
| Print length | 64 pages |
| Reading age | 5 to 7 years |
| Grade level | Kindergarten to 2 |
| Published | May 5, 2020 |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Reading age 5 to 7 years, and grade level Kindergarten to 2, so reading age or level scores 9 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.

1st Grade Comprehension by Ecochardt
A 59-page workbook of decodable passages, three comprehension questions per story and a cut-and-paste main idea activity.
Pros
- Decodable reading passages with comprehension questions
- Cut and paste activity for each story, sorting the main idea from supporting details
- Grade 1 is stated, matching the first grade focus of the title
- 59 pages, with reproducible pages noted for classroom use
Cons
- The title says ages 6 to 7, but the spec table gives a reading age of 5 to 7 years, so the listing disagrees with itself
- No answer key is stated
- Three questions per story gives less practice than the 150-passage daily workbook
- Listed as independently published, with no publisher named
Detailed Review
The description offers decodable passages, three comprehension questions after each story and cut-and-paste activities that sort the main idea from supporting details. The listing gives 59 pages, grade 1 and a publication date of November 22, 2023. The title says ages 6 to 7, while the spec table gives a reading age of 5 to 7 years. The title is the more specific statement, so check the age before buying.
Who it's for: a child aged 6 to 7, as the title states, who needs decodable text with comprehension practice. Who should skip it: a parent who wants a listed answer key or a longer program.
Its Shelf Score of 8.0/10 comes from fit 32/35, contents and edition 20/25, value 20/25 and reading age or level 5/10.
Book Details
| Author | J Ecochardt |
|---|---|
| Print length | 59 pages |
| Grade level | 1 |
| Reading age | 5 to 7 years (title says 6 to 7) |
| Published | November 22, 2023 |
Details as published on the retailer listing, collected 15 October 2026. Editions and formats change; check the listing before you buy.
Reading Age and Edition
What this listing states. Grade 1 and a reading age of 5 to 7 years; the title says ages 6 to 7, so reading age or level scores 5 of 10. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not part of the score. See How We Pick.
Check the grade and the answer key. Workbook levels differ between publishers. Confirm the grade level and whether answers are included in the book or sold separately.
Listed reading ages and grade levels are a guide, not advice about a particular reader. Editions and formats change, so check the listing before you buy. See our Reading Age Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for early reading comprehension, contents and edition, value, and the listed grade level or reading age where one is given. All four listings give a grade level or a reading age, and three give both. The Ecochardt listing gives a reading age that conflicts with its title, which lowers its reading level score. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily Comprehension by Evan-Moor | 8.4 | 32 | 20 | 21 | 7 |
| Reading Comprehension by Scholastic | 8.1 | 30 | 19 | 19 | 9 |
| Ready to Learn by Silver Dolphin | 8.0 | 26 | 21 | 20 | 9 |
| 1st Grade Comprehension by Ecochardt | 8.0 | 32 | 20 | 20 | 5 |
Scores run from 0 to 10. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best reading comprehension workbooks for 1st grade
Match the grade and the reading age
Grade level and reading age do not always agree. The Scholastic workbook gives a reading age of 6 to 7 years, while the Silver Dolphin workbook gives 5 to 7 years with a Kindergarten to 2 grade range. The Evan-Moor daily workbook names Grade 1 but gives no reading age. For a child who is still building fluency, a workbook that states both figures is easier to check against the child’s level.
Short workbook or daily passages
The Evan-Moor title covers 150 passages across 30 weeks, a full daily routine. The Scholastic and Ecochardt workbooks are shorter, at 48 and 59 pages, and suit a child who needs focused practice rather than a long program. If sight words and phonics are also a goal, compare the phonics workbooks for 1st grade before choosing. Browse more early reading titles in our best reading comprehension workbooks for 1st grade category.
Check the edition and the answer key
Publication dates run from May 5, 2020 to November 22, 2023 across the listings that give one, and the Evan-Moor listing gives none. Only two listings state an answer key: the Silver Dolphin book, which has one at the end, and the Evan-Moor spec table. For another reading comprehension option, see Best Workbook for Reading Comprehension.
Before you buy
- Check the listing for an answer key: the Silver Dolphin description states one, and the Evan-Moor spec table lists one, while the Scholastic and Ecochardt listings do not mention one.
- Check the publication date: Silver Dolphin is dated May 5, 2020, Scholastic February 1, 2022, and Ecochardt November 22, 2023.
- Match the reading age to your child, since the Ecochardt title and spec table disagree on ages.
- For Evan-Moor, confirm the format suits one child, since the reproducible pages sit in the teacher’s edition.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which reading comprehension workbook should a first grader start with?
For daily practice, the Evan-Moor workbook offers 150 passages across 30 weeks and states Grade 1. A child who needs a shorter book may do better with the 48-page Scholastic workbook, which gives a reading age of 6 to 7 years.
What age does a 1st grade reading workbook suit?
The Silver Dolphin workbook gives a reading age of 5 to 7 years. The Ecochardt title says ages 6 to 7, while its spec table says 5 to 7 years, so check the listing against your child’s reading level before buying.
Do these workbooks come with an answer key?
The Silver Dolphin listing says an answer key is at the end of the book, and the Evan-Moor spec table lists one. The Scholastic and Ecochardt listings do not state one.
Which edition should I buy?
The Silver Dolphin workbook is dated May 5, 2020, the Scholastic one February 1, 2022, and the Ecochardt one November 22, 2023. The Evan-Moor listing gives no publication date, so check its edition on the listing before buying.
Related lists
See every Math Workbooks list and all Workbooks and Homeschool lists.
More lists: browse 2nd grade reading comprehension workbooks, 4th grade reading comprehension workbooks and phonics workbooks.