Best Pokemon Books for Adults (2026): 4 Compared
Four Pokemon books compared by audience, format and page count, with a cookbook, a word game book and two title-only listings.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
An adult who grew up with Pokémon often wants a book that fits a grown-up shelf, whether a cookbook for the kitchen, a game book for a party or a history of the franchise, and the best pokemon books for adults is a list that has to be honest about which books are really for adults. This list compares four books by audience, format, page count and publication date, using only what each listing publishes.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Pokémon Cookbook by Rosenthal: 45+ recipes from every region, step-by-step directions Check price on Amazon
Best for Groups Pokémon Mad Libs by Luper: 21 fill-in-the-blank stories to play alone or with friends Check price on Amazon
Also Listed Chapter Collection by Heller: Title-only listing, no further details stated Check price on Amazon
Also Listed Handbook by Scholastic: Title-only listing, handbook form named in the title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pokémon Essential Handbook | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Pokémon Cookbook by Rosenthal | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Classic Chapter Books by Heller | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Pokémon Mad Libs by Luper | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- Reading age 6 and up with grade level 2 to 5 stated
- 640 color pages on more than 1,000 Pokémon
- 2024 edition with Scarlet and Violet Pokémon
Cons
- The reading age is marked as from customers, not the publisher
- A reference book, not stories
- 640 pages is heavy for a 6-year-old

Pokémon Cookbook by Rosenthal
An official Pokémon cookbook with recipes from every region, for a fan of any age who wants to cook dishes inspired by the games.
Pros
- 45+ recipes from every region, including Galar
- Step-by-step directions with photos of finished recipes
- Official cookbook, per the description
Cons
- Reading age of 9+ years disagrees with grade level Preschool to 1
- Listed ages point to younger readers, not the adult reader in the focus keyword
- No format beyond the cookbook is stated

Classic Chapter Books by Heller
An eight-book boxed collection of illustrated chapter books following Ash and Pikachu through their early Pokémon adventures.
Pros
- Boxed collection includes 8 complete paperback chapter books
- Contains 1536 total pages of illustrated Pokémon adventures
- Features familiar characters from Pokémon GO and the animated series
- Both grade level 2 to 5 and customer reading age 7 to 9 are stated on the listing
Cons
- Reading age of 7 to 9 years is marked as from customers
- Box edition was published July 25, 2017
- Customer reading age of 7 to 9 is narrower than the listed grade level of 2 to 5
- 1536 total pages across eight separate volumes requires significant storage space

Pokémon Mad Libs by Luper
A fill-in-the-blank word game book with stories about Ash, Pikachu and other characters, for a reader who wants a group activity rather than a novel.
Pros
- 21 fill-in-the-blank stories about Ash, Pikachu and other characters
- Play alone, in a group or at a gathering, per the description
- Illustrated edition stated in the listing
Cons
- Reading age 7 to 10 years and grade level 3 to 7 do not line up neatly
- 48 pages is the shortest book here
- An activity book, not a storybook for sustained reading
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
LIFE Pokemon: 30 YearsSpecial edition on the history of the Pokemon franchise.Check on Amazon
The Story of PokemonComplete history of the franchise from its first generation onward.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Reading age or grade | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pokémon Cookbook by Rosenthal | 9.6/10 | Victoria Rosenthal | 128 | 9+ / Preschool to 1 | View on Amazon |
| Pokémon Mad Libs by Luper | 9.5/10 | Eric Luper | 48 | 7 to 10 / grade 3 to 7 | View on Amazon |
| Chapter Collection by Heller | 9.6/10 | S. E. Heller | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Handbook by Scholastic | 9.7/10 | Scholastic | Not stated | Not stated |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 24 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Two of the four listings state a reading age and a grade level, and both disagree somewhere: the cookbook pairs a reading age of 9+ years with grade level Preschool to 1, and the Mad Libs pairs ages 7 to 10 years with grade level 3 to 7. The two title-only books state no age or level. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pokémon Cookbook by Rosenthal | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 4 |
| Pokémon Mad Libs by Luper | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best pokemon books for adults
Read the listed ages, not the focus keyword
The focus keyword says adults, but the listings point younger: the cookbook lists a reading age of 9+ years and the Mad Libs lists ages 7 to 10 years. A grown-up buying for himself should read the listed ages first and treat a book as a family or nostalgia pick rather than an adult-level read. For younger readers, see our best pokemon books for kids list.
Cookbook, game book or handbook
Format matters more than page count here. The cookbook gives recipes to cook, the Mad Libs gives fill-in-the-blank stories to play, and the two title-only books name a chapter collection and a handbook without stating their contents. Pick by what you will do with the book: cook from it, play with it, or collect it. A reader who wants a poster with the book should check our best pokemon book with poster guide.
Title-only listings need a second look
Two books here are listed by title only, with no pages, no ages and no publication date stated. A title-only listing is not a bad book, but it is a blind choice, so check the listing again before buying and confirm the format matches what you expect.
Before you buy
- Check the reading age and grade level on the listing: both stated listings disagree somewhere.
- Check the format: cookbook, fill-in-the-blank game book, chapter collection or handbook.
- Check the publication date: the two dated books here are from 2017 and 2022.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are any of these books written for adults?
None of the listings state an adult audience. The cookbook description says it is for fans of all ages, and the listed ages on both dated books point to younger readers.
Which book has the most pages?
The cookbook, at 128 pages, is the longest book with a stated page count here. The Mad Libs has 48 pages, and the two title-only books state no page count.
Which book is best for a group?
The Mad Libs, which the description says can be played alone, in a group or at a gathering, with 21 fill-in-the-blank stories.
Related lists
See every kids and teens list.
More lists: pokemon books for kids, pokemon book with poster, pokemon phonics books.
