Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Picture Books

Best Picture Books for Storytelling: 5 Compared

Five picture books compared by fit and reading age, from a dyslexia-friendly storybook for ages 4 to 7 to guides on how pictures tell stories.

Best Picture Books for Storytelling: 5 Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

The best picture books for storytelling work two ways: some are stories to read aloud, others teach how stories get told in pictures. We compared five books by fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Picture This by Bang
    Top pick Picture This by Bang: 12 principles of how pictures work, ages 12 and up, 152 pages Check price on Amazon
  • Aaron Slater, Illustrator by Beaty
    Best storybook Aaron Slater, Illustrator by Beaty: Dyslexia-friendly picture book about telling stories, ages 4 to 7 Check price on Amazon
  • Children's Picturebooks by Salisbury
    Best craft guide Children’s Picturebooks by Salisbury: 200-page guide with 15 illustrator case studies, 2nd edition Check price on Amazon
  • How to Be a Children's Book Illustrator
    Best illustrator guide How to Be a Children’s Book Illustrator: 232-page guide to visual narrative techniques Check price on Amazon
  • Design Is Storytelling by Lupton
    Best design pick Design Is Storytelling by Lupton: 159-page playbook on storytelling in design Check price on Amazon

The picks

Picture This by Bang

Picture This by Bang

Molly Bang9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Molly Bang's 12 principles of how pictures tell stories, for readers 12 and up.

Pros

  • Reading age 12 years and up, grade level 7 and up
  • 12 principles of visual perception, per the listing
  • 152 pages, revised and expanded 2016 edition

Cons

  • Ages 12 and up, not for small children
  • Art theory, not a storybook
  • Dense ideas for casual readers
Aaron Slater, Illustrator by Beaty

Aaron Slater, Illustrator by Beaty

Andrea Beaty9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A dyslexia-friendly picture book about a boy who tells stories through art, for ages 4 to 7.

Pros

  • Reading age 4 to 7 years, marked as from customers, and grade level Kindergarten to 2
  • Dyslexia-friendly font, per the listing
  • Book 5 of 7 in the Questioneers picture books

Cons

  • 40 pages, a single story
  • Part of a series, best with the others
  • 2021 edition
Children's Picturebooks by Salisbury

Children's Picturebooks by Salisbury

Martin Salisbury9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 200-page craft guide with 15 illustrator case studies, for aspiring picture book makers.

Pros

  • 15 new case studies from well-known illustrators, per the listing
  • 200 pages, 2nd edition from Laurence King Publishing
  • Covers the publishing process end to end

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • For makers, not for reading aloud
  • 2020 edition
How to Be a Children's Book Illustrator

How to Be a Children's Book Illustrator

3dtotal Publishing9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 232-page guide to visual narrative techniques, for illustrators learning the craft.

Pros

  • 232 pages from 3DTotal Publishing, 2021
  • Covers composition, color and symbolism for narrative
  • Multiple illustrators share techniques

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • For illustrators, not young readers
  • Gift format, premium price point implied
Design Is Storytelling by Lupton

Design Is Storytelling by Lupton

Ellen Lupton9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 159-page playbook on narrative in design, for designers who tell stories visually.

Pros

  • 159 pages from Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
  • Dozens of tools for narrative arcs, per the listing
  • 1st edition, 2017

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • Design-focused, not children's books
  • 2017 edition

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Pancakes for BreakfastPancakes for BreakfastFor wordless storytelling, ages 4 to 8, 32 pages.Check on Amazon
  • FrankencrayonFrankencrayonFor funny storytelling, ages 4 to 8, 40 pages.Check on Amazon
  • I Am a StoryI Am a StoryFor storytelling through history, ages 4 to 8, 40 pages.Check on Amazon
  • Usha and the Big DiggerUsha and the Big DiggerFor math storytelling, ages 2 to 6, 32 pages.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or grade Series Amazon
Picture This by Bang 9.7/10 Molly Bang 152 12+ / 7+ Standalone Check price
Aaron Slater, Illustrator by Beaty 9.7/10 Andrea Beaty 40 4-7 / K-2 Book 5 of 7 Check price
Children’s Picturebooks by Salisbury 9.6/10 Martin Salisbury 200 Not stated Standalone
How to Be a Children’s Book Illustrator 9.6/10 3dtotal Publishing 232 Not stated Standalone
Design Is Storytelling by Lupton 9.5/10 Ellen Lupton 159 Not stated Standalone Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 19 October 2026. Two of the five state a reading age or grade level.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Aaron Slater, Illustrator states a reading age of 4 to 7 years, marked as from customers, with grade level Kindergarten to 2; Picture This states 12 years and up with grade level 7 and up. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Picture This by Bang 9.7 33 21 20 8
Aaron Slater, Illustrator by Beaty 9.7 30 20 20 8
Children’s Picturebooks by Salisbury 9.6 33 21 20 0
How to Be a Children’s Book Illustrator 9.6 32 21 20 0
Design Is Storytelling by Lupton 9.5 28 20 19 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best picture books for storytelling

Story to read or craft to learn

Aaron Slater is a storybook about storytelling, made for reading aloud to ages 4 to 7. The other four are guides: Bang on how pictures work, Salisbury and 3dtotal on making picture books, Lupton on narrative in design. Pick the shelf that matches the reader. For read-aloud picks, see picture books for kindergarten read-aloud.

Match the reading age

Aaron Slater states ages 4 to 7; Picture This states 12 and up. The craft guides state no age, which means they suit teens and adults learning the trade. Buying for a classroom? Browse picture books for teachers.

Wordless counts too

Pancakes for Breakfast in the more options tells its story with no words at all, which makes it a strong storytelling prompt for young readers. Wordless books let the child narrate, which is storytelling practice in itself.

Before you buy

  • Check the age: Aaron Slater is 4 to 7, Picture This is 12 and up.
  • Series readers: Aaron Slater is Book 5 of 7 in the Questioneers picture books.
  • Craft guides assume an adult or teen reader; they are not read-aloud books.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which book is best for reading aloud?

Aaron Slater, Illustrator: a 40-page storybook with a dyslexia-friendly font, for ages 4 to 7.

Which book teaches visual storytelling?

Picture This by Molly Bang covers 12 principles of how pictures work, for ages 12 and up; the Salisbury and 3dtotal guides cover the craft.

Is there a wordless option?

Pancakes for Breakfast in the more options is a wordless picture book classic, 32 pages for ages 4 to 8.

Picture This by Bang
Still deciding? Our top pickPicture This by Bang
Check price on Amazon

See every picture books list and all kids and teens books lists.

More lists: children’s fantasy picture books, picture books for teaching vocabulary.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Picture Books for Starting School?

    Five picture books for starting school compared by reading age, grade level, page count and theme, from first-day jitters to early readers.

  2. What are the best Picture Books for Toddler Storytime?

    Five picture books for toddler storytime compared by listed reading age, grade level, print length and contents, with three more board books.

  3. What are the best Picture Books for Teachers?

    Five picture books for teachers compared by reading age, grade level and fit, from thank-you letters to first-day-of-school courage.

  4. What are the best Picture Books for Theme?

    Four picture books on an autumn theme compared by reading age, grade level, page count and publication date, so you can pick the right read-aloud.