Best Picture Books for Remembrance Day (2026): 4 Compared
Four picture books for remembrance day compared by age range, theme and length, ranked by score for families and classrooms.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
In early November, when the poppies appear on lapels and classrooms pause to remember, the best picture books for remembrance day are the ones that explain why we remember in words a child can hold. We compared four books by age range, theme and length, all from the listings.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Top Pick The Poppy Lady: The red poppy story, ages 7 to 11 Check price on Amazon
Solemn Pick Twenty-One Steps: Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, ages 8 to 11 Check price on Amazon
Stories Pick The Marigold Road: Twelve Day of the Dead stories, ages 8 and up Check price on Amazon
Photo Pick Mexico’s Day of the Dead: 240-page Day of the Dead celebration Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Poppy Lady | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 2 | Twenty-One Steps | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 3 | The Marigold Road | 9.6/10 | Buy |
| 4 | Mexico’s Day of the Dead | 9.5/10 | Buy |
Pros
- Directly about the remembrance poppy
- Ages 7 to 11, grade 2 to 5
- Illustrated, 40 pages
Cons
- 2012, the oldest here
- US-focused story
- No audio format is stated
Pros
- Tomb of the Unknown Soldier story
- Ages 8 to 11, grade 2 to 5
- Illustrated by Matt Tavares
Cons
- 32 pages, the shortest here
- Solemn tone throughout
- US-focused story
Pros
- Twelve stories with tradition notes
- Ages 8 and up, 150 pages
- 2026, the newest here
Cons
- Day of the Dead, not Remembrance Day
- Longer than picture-book length
- Independently published
Pros
- Stunning on-location photography
- DIY projects with step-by-step photos
- 2025, recent and high-end
Cons
- No reading age is stated
- 240 pages, not a picture book
- Day of the Dead, not Remembrance Day
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Honoring VeteransVeterans Day picture book, ages 4 to 8.Check on Amazon
Honor FlightVeterans memorials book, ages 7 to 10.Check on Amazon
The Little Red FlowerRemembrance Day story, 28 pages.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Pages | Ages | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Poppy Lady | 9.7/10 | 40 | 7-11 | 2012 | Check price |
| Twenty-One Steps | 9.7/10 | 32 | 8-11 | 2021 | Check price |
| The Marigold Road | 9.6/10 | 150 | 8+ | 2026 | Check price |
| Mexico’s Day of the Dead | 9.5/10 | 240 | Not stated | 2025 | Check price |
Details are as listed by the publisher, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs story, craft, value, age fit and availability. For remembrance books, age fit reflects the stated reading age; three of the four list one. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Poppy Lady | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
| Twenty-One Steps | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 20 | n/a |
| The Marigold Road | 9.6 | 28 | 19 | 19 | n/a |
| Mexico’s Day of the Dead | 9.5 | 26 | 18 | 18 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best picture books for remembrance day
Veterans or Day of the Dead
The Poppy Lady tells how Moina Belle Michael made the red poppy the symbol for veterans, and Twenty-One Steps honors the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. The Marigold Road and Mexico’s Day of the Dead celebrate Día de los Muertos, Mexico’s remembrance holiday. Pick the veteran books for Remembrance Day itself; pick the Day of the Dead books for November 1 and 2.
Age and length
The Poppy Lady lists ages 7 to 11 at 40 pages; Twenty-One Steps ages 8 to 11 at 32 pages. The Marigold Road lists ages 8 and up at 150 pages of stories. Mexico’s Day of the Dead is a 240-page photo book with no stated reading age, better for older readers and adults.
A glance at the four books
| Book | Pages | Ages | Theme |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Poppy Lady | 40 | 7-11 | Remembrance poppy |
| Twenty-One Steps | 32 | 8-11 | Tomb of the Unknown Soldier |
| The Marigold Road | 150 | 8+ | Day of the Dead stories |
| Mexico’s Day of the Dead | 240 | Not stated | Day of the Dead photos |
What each one teaches
The Poppy Lady teaches the poppy symbol’s origin. Twenty-One Steps teaches the Tomb Guards’ vigil. The Marigold Road teaches Day of the Dead traditions through twelve stories, each with a note on the real custom. Mexico’s Day of the Dead teaches through photography and artisan portraits.
Before you buy
- Check the format: hardcover, paperback and ebook editions differ by listing.
- Match the holiday: Remembrance Day books for November 11, Day of the Dead books for November 1 and 2.
- Compare the reading age with the child’s age, and read the description for themes.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which book explains the remembrance poppy?
The Poppy Lady tells how Moina Belle Michael established the red poppy as the symbol to honor soldiers.
Which book is about the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier?
Twenty-One Steps follows the sentinel guards at Arlington National Cemetery, ages 8 to 11.
Are the Day of the Dead books for Remembrance Day?
They celebrate Día de los Muertos on November 1 and 2, a different remembrance tradition from November 11.
Related lists
See every picture book list and all kids and teens lists.
More lists: picture books for second graders, picture books for spring, picture books.



