Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Business and Money

Best Picture Books for Narrative Writing (2026): 4 Compared

Four picture books for narrative writing compared: pages, age range and awards ranked for young writers.

Best Picture Books for Narrative Writing (2026): 4 Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

The best picture books for narrative writing give young writers wordless stories and strong pictures to narrate. We compared four picture books by pages, age, edition and awards, using only what each listing publishes.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Lion and Mouse

Lion and Mouse

Jerry Pinkney9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Caldecott Medal Winner, 40 pages, 2-5 years, Preschool-3.

Pros

  • 40 pages, per the listing
  • Caldecott Medal, per the listing
  • 2-5 years, per the listing
  • Preschool-3, per the listing

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 2-5 years, young
  • Wordless
  • One story
Flashlight

Flashlight

Lizi Boyd9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Wordless picture book, 40 pages, 2-5 years, 2014, Junior Library Guild.

Pros

  • 40 pages, per the listing
  • 2014 edition
  • 2-5 years, per the listing
  • Junior Library Guild, per the listing

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Wordless
  • 2-5 years, young
  • 2014 edition
Shape Stories

Shape Stories

Amanda Shackelford9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Growing Writers, 43 pages, 4-5 years, 2025.

Pros

  • 43 pages, the longest
  • 2025, the newest
  • 4-5 years, per the listing
  • Growing Writers, per the listing

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 4-5 years, narrow
  • Writing focus
  • New series
Pancakes

Pancakes

Tomie dePaola9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A wordless story about cooking and perseverance, 32 pages, 2-4 years, 2018.

Pros

  • 32 pages, per the listing
  • 2018 edition
  • 2-4 years, per the listing
  • Wordless story, per the listing

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 32 pages, the shortest
  • 2-4 years, young
  • Wordless

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Starting a SentenceStarting a SentenceFor sentences, Shackelford's Growing Writers.Check on Amazon
  • 52 Picture Writing Prompts52 Picture Writing PromptsFor prompts, Scribe and Dot's starters.Check on Amazon
  • Writing Irresistible Picture BooksWriting Irresistible Picture BooksFor craft, Mary Kole's guide.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Age Edition Warranty Amazon
Lion and Mouse 9.8/10 40 2-5 Caldecott Not stated View on Amazon
Flashlight 9.7/10 40 2-5 2014 Not stated View on Amazon
Shape Stories 9.7/10 43 4-5 2025 Not stated View on Amazon
Pancakes 9.6/10 32 2-4 2018 Not stated View on Amazon

Book details as published on each listing, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, and value. The Lion and the Mouse leads with 40 pages and a Caldecott Medal. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Lion and Mouse 9.8 33 22 21 n/a
Flashlight 9.7 32 22 20 n/a
Shape Stories 9.7 30 21 20 n/a
Pancakes 9.6 29 20 20 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best picture books for narrative writing

Wordless or text

The Lion and the Mouse, Flashlight and Pancakes are wordless; Shape Stories is a Growing Writers book. Wordless books let young writers tell the story. See our best picture books for persuasive writing for persuasive picks.

Length and age

Shape Stories runs 43 pages for 4-5 years; the Lion and the Mouse and Flashlight 40 pages for 2-5 years; Pancakes 32 pages for 2-4 years. Shape Stories is the newest at 2025. See our best picture books for older students for older students.

Book Pages Age Edition
Lion and Mouse 40 2-5 Caldecott
Flashlight 40 2-5 2014
Shape Stories 43 4-5 2025
Pancakes 32 2-4 2018

Awards

The Lion and the Mouse won the Caldecott Medal; Flashlight is a Junior Library Guild selection. See our best picture books for older readers for older readers.

Before you buy

  • Print lengths are stated for all four.
  • Ages range from 2-4 years to 4-5 years.
  • Three are wordless; one is a writing book.
  • Match the book to the writer’s age.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which won an award?

The Lion and the Mouse won the Caldecott Medal.

Which is the newest?

Shape Stories from 2025.

Which are wordless?

The Lion and the Mouse, Flashlight and Pancakes.

Which is the longest?

Shape Stories at 43 pages.

Lion and Mouse
Still deciding? Our top pickLion and Mouse
Check price on Amazon

See every picture books list and all reading guides lists.

More lists: picture books for persuasive writing, picture books for older students and picture books for older readers.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Finance Books for Trading?

    Four finance books for trading are compared here on author standing, edition and focus, with every single figure taken from the listings.

  2. What are the best Finance Books for Traders?

    Best finance books for traders, compared across five picks: psychology classics, interview collections and technical guides, with pages and dates.

  3. What are the best Personal Finance Books for Twenty Somethings?

    Four personal finance books for twenty-somethings compared on audience fit, practicality, length and credentials, details from the listings.

  4. What are the best Personal Finance Books for Teens Early Twenties?

    Four personal finance books for teens and young adults compared on stated reading age, page count, publication date and what each description says.