Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Reading and Phonics

Best Phonics Book for Kids (2026): 5 Picks by Reading Level

Five phonics picks for early readers, from a 12-book box set to a 29-reader pack, compared by listed reading age, grade level and print length.

Best Phonics Book for Kids (2026): 5 Picks by Reading Level

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

Choosing the best phonics book for kids starts with the reader: a child who is just matching letters to sounds needs a different book than a child who already reads short sentences. This list compares phonics picks by what each Amazon listing states about reading age, grade level, print length and format, for a parent or teacher buying for a single early reader.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Phonics Power by Liberts
    Best Overall Phonics Power by Liberts: Twelve phonics readers in one box for ages 3 to 7 Check price on Amazon
  • Kindergarten Workbook by Pike
    Best Workbook for Practice Kindergarten Workbook by Pike: 278 pages of phonics, sight words and handwriting practice Check price on Amazon
  • Little Critter Phonics by Mayer
    Best for Vowel Sounds Little Critter Phonics by Mayer: Little Critter stories that feature short and long vowel sounds Check price on Amazon
  • Fancy Nancy Phonics by O'Connor
    Best Mini-Book Set Fancy Nancy Phonics by O’Connor: Twelve Fancy Nancy mini-books for preschool to grade 3 readers Check price on Amazon
  • Meet the Phonics Readers
    Best Easy Reader Pack Meet the Phonics Readers: 29 short readers with 3 to 4 letter words in a carrying case Check price on Amazon

The picks

Phonics Power by Liberts

Phonics Power by Liberts

Jennifer Liberts9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Twelve phonics readers in one box, each built around a specific phonics concept, for a child the description says is ages 3 to 7.

Pros

  • Twelve readers in one box, so the set is a single purchase
  • Each book is built around a specific phonics concept, per the description
  • Grade level Preschool to 2 and the reading age of 3 to 6 years agree

Cons

  • Reading age is marked as from customers, not stated by the publisher
  • Built around Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles characters, which not every child will want
  • Print length of 144 pages covers all 12 books, so each book's length is not stated
Kindergarten Workbook by Pike

Kindergarten Workbook by Pike

Katy Pike9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 278-page workbook for ages 4 to 6 covering phonics, sight words, handwriting and comprehension, for a kindergartner or a homeschool family.

Pros

  • Covers phonics, sight words, handwriting and reading comprehension in one volume
  • Includes a yearly planner to help track progress, per the description
  • Reading age of 4 to 6 years is stated without a customer mark

Cons

  • Description links it to lessons 1 to 60 of the online Reading Eggs program, which the listing does not detail
  • Grade level is not given in the listing details, only the title says Kindergarten
  • The listing does not state whether an answer key is included
Little Critter Phonics by Mayer

Little Critter Phonics by Mayer

Mercer Mayer9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 12-book box set of Little Critter stories that the description says feature short and long vowel sounds, for an early reader who likes the character.

Pros

  • The description says the stories feature short and long vowel sounds
  • Twelve books in one box, per the listing
  • The description says a phonics expert reviewed the stories, a claim from the publisher

Cons

  • Title says Ages 4-8, while the listed reading age is 3 to 6 years, marked as from customers
  • Print length is stated as 12 pages for the whole 12-book set, so the length per book is unclear
  • Grade level appears as Preschool to Kindergarten in one field and as an unfinished Preschool - in another
Fancy Nancy Phonics by O'Connor

Fancy Nancy Phonics by O'Connor

Jane O'Connor9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Twelve Fancy Nancy mini-books with full-color illustrations, for a preschool or kindergarten reader who likes a lively character.

Pros

  • Twelve mini-books in one set, per the listing
  • Full-color illustrations, as the description states
  • Reading age and grade level are both stated and roughly agree

Cons

  • Title says Ages 4-8, while the listed reading age is 4 to 6 years
  • Print length is stated as 12 pages for the whole set, so the length per book is unclear
  • Description presents it as a supplement for activity books, not a full course
Meet the Phonics Readers

Meet the Phonics Readers

Preschool Prep Company9.2/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A set of 29 short easy readers with 3 to 4 letter words in a carrying case, for a child at the very start of letter sounds.

Pros

  • 29 easy readers in one set, with a carrying case that has a plastic handle
  • Short stories with 3 to 4 letter words, as the listing states
  • The listing describes the stories as fun to read, a publisher claim

Cons

  • No page count, reading age, grade level or publication date is stated
  • The listing gives only a few bullet lines, so contents cannot be checked in detail
  • 3 to 4 letter words may feel too simple for a child who already reads sentences

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Biscuit: MORE 12-Book Phonics FunBiscuit: MORE 12-Book Phonics FunSuits emergent readers ages 4 to 8 who are learning phonics through short stories.Check on Amazon
  • DK Super Phonics My Big BookDK Super Phonics My Big BookSuits children aged 4 to 7 learning letter sounds and blending practice.Check on Amazon
  • Complete Learn to Read ProgramComplete Learn to Read ProgramSuits kids with dyslexia who can practice at home with guided phonics lessons.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Reading age or grade Published Amazon
Phonics Power by Liberts 9.7/10 144 pages 3 to 6 years, from customers; Preschool to 2 2015 Check price
Kindergarten Workbook by Pike 9.7/10 278 pages 4 to 6 years; grade not stated 2018 Check price
Little Critter Phonics by Mayer 9.7/10 12 pages as listed 3 to 6 years, from customers; Preschool to Kindergarten 2012 Check price
Fancy Nancy Phonics by O’Connor 9.6/10 12 pages as listed 4 to 6 years, from customers; Preschool to 3 2013
Meet the Phonics Readers 9.2/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Most picks list a reading age and most give a grade level in the listing details. The last pick gives neither, and it ranks last. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Phonics Power by Liberts 9.7 30 21 21 9
Kindergarten Workbook by Pike 9.7 29 22 21 7
Little Critter Phonics by Mayer 9.7 30 19 20 9
Fancy Nancy Phonics by O’Connor 9.6 29 19 20 9
Meet the Phonics Readers 9.2 23 11 20 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best phonics book for kids

Match the sound stage, not just the age

A child who is still learning letter sounds does better with short, repeated words, such as the 3 to 4 letter words in the easy reader pack. A child who decodes simple sentences can move to the Phonics Power readers, each built around a specific phonics concept according to the description.

Choose a reader set or a workbook

A boxed set gives a child stories to read on their own, while a workbook adds lessons, practice pages and handwriting. Browse the reading phonics workbooks list to compare more practice formats before you buy.

Check the age range against the reader

Where a listing marks the reading age as from customers, use it as a rough guide for your own child. If you are buying for a younger child, also see our best phonics book for toddlers list.

Before you buy

  • Check the reading age and grade level on the listing against the reader’s current level, since most picks mark the reading age as from customers.
  • For a box set, confirm the page count, since the Little Critter and Fancy Nancy listings state 12 pages for 12 books.
  • For a workbook, check for an answer key; the Kindergarten workbook listing does not state whether one is included.

Frequently Asked Questions

What reading level does the Phonics Power set list?

The listing gives grade level Preschool to 2 and a reading age of 3 to 6 years, marked as from customers. It describes 12 readers in the box.

Does the Kindergarten workbook include an answer key?

The listing does not state whether an answer key is included, so check the listing before you buy.

Is a 2012 phonics set still a good choice?

The Little Critter listing gives a publication date of September 11, 2012, and does not point to a newer edition. Compare its listed reading age with your child’s reading before you buy.

Phonics Power by Liberts
Still deciding? Our top pickPhonics Power by Liberts
Check price on Amazon

See every Reading and Phonics list and all Workbooks and Homeschool lists.

More lists: phonics workbooks, phonics books for kindergarten, workbooks for phonics and books for kids.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Spelling Workbooks for Kids?

    Spelling workbooks for kids compared by listed grade level, reading age, page count and answer key, from first grade to sixth grade.

  2. What are the best Reading Workbooks for Kindergarten?

    Five reading workbooks for kindergarten compared by listed reading age, grade level and contents, from phonics drills to decodable passages.

  3. What is the best Grammar Workbook for Elementary Students?

    Four grammar workbooks for grades 1, 2 and 5, compared by listed grade level, reading age, page count, answer key and edition, so you can match…

  4. What is the best Spelling Workbook for 4th Grade?

    Spelling workbooks for fourth graders compared by listed grade level, reading age, page count, answer key, edition and practice style.