Best Origami Book with Paper Included (2026): 5 Compared
Five origami books and kits compared by fit, contents, edition, value and stated age, for folders who want paper in the box.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
A good origami kit starts with paper in the box and clear steps, and the best origami book with paper included is the one that matches the folder’s level and gives enough sheets to practise. We compared five origami books and kits by fit for the folder, contents and edition, value and stated age or level, using only what each listing states.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Origami Extravaganza by Tuttle: Kit with 38 projects and 162 sheets of origami paper Check price on Amazon
Best for Beginners Beginners Kit by LaFosse: Beginner kit with 19 projects, 62 sheets and DVD edition Check price on Amazon
Best Big Book Origami Book by Larousse: 256 pages with 20 projects and paper in the back Check price on Amazon
Best Simple Start Easy Origami by Montroll: 32 simple projects with step-by-step instructions Check price on Amazon
Best Visual Guide Simple Origami by Klam: 50 projects with visual steps and difficulty ratings Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Origami Extravaganza by Tuttle | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Beginners Kit by LaFosse | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Origami Book by Larousse | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Easy Origami by Montroll | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Simple Origami by Klam | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Origami Extravaganza by Tuttle
A kit with a book, 38 projects and 162 sheets of origami paper, suited to beginners and advanced folders alike.
Pros
- 162 sheets of origami paper included
- 38 fun projects from flowers to containers
- Step-by-step instructions with diagrams
Cons
- Description says a 96-page booklet while the spec table gives 108 pages
- Reading age marked as from customers only
- Older edition dated October 1, 2000

Beginners Kit by LaFosse
A beginner kit with a book, 19 projects and 62 sheets of origami paper, suited to beginners and children.
Pros
- 62 sheets of durable origami paper included
- 19 projects selected for beginners
- Step-by-step kit from known origami designers
Cons
- Book and kit with DVD edition from December 2, 2014
- No grade level is stated
- Fewer projects than the Extravaganza kit at 19

Origami Book by Larousse
A 256-page book with 20 projects and over 90 pages of craft paper in the back, suited to folders who want one all-in-one book.
Pros
- Over 90 pages of patterned craft paper included
- 20 projects with step-by-step diagrams
- Longest book here at 256 pages
Cons
- No reading age or grade level stated
- First edition dated June 9, 2020
- Paper is pages in the back, not loose sheets

Easy Origami by Montroll
A collection of 32 simple projects with step-by-step instructions, suited to beginner hobbyists who already have paper.
Pros
- 32 simple projects for beginners
- Clearly illustrated step-by-step instructions
- Short book at 48 pages for a quick start
Cons
- No paper included is stated in the listing
- No reading age or grade level stated
- Older edition dated October 5, 1992

Simple Origami by Klam
A collection of over 50 elegant traditional projects with visual steps, suited to experts and beginners who already have paper.
Pros
- Over 50 traditional projects in one book
- Visual step-by-step method with difficulty ratings
- Projects ordered from simplest to most complex
Cons
- No paper included is stated in the listing
- No reading age or grade level stated
- No kit format is stated, book only
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Origami Challenge KitFor kids 8 to 12 wanting 30 projects and 90 paper sheets.Check on Amazon
Fun with OrigamiFor young and old wanting 17 projects with origami paper.Check on Amazon
Origami Paper in a BoxFor folders wanting 200 sheets in rainbow patterns.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Projects | Paper included | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Origami Extravaganza by Tuttle | 9.7/10 | Tuttle Studio | 108 pages | 38 projects | 162 sheets | October 1, 2000 | View on Amazon |
| Beginners Kit by LaFosse | 9.7/10 | Michael G. LaFosse | 168 pages | 19 projects | 62 sheets | December 2, 2014 | View on Amazon |
| Origami Book by Larousse | 9.5/10 | Larousse | 256 pages | 20 projects | 90+ pages of paper | June 9, 2020 | View on Amazon |
| Easy Origami by Montroll | 9.4/10 | John Montroll | 48 pages | 32 projects | Not stated | October 5, 1992 | View on Amazon |
| Simple Origami by Klam | 9.4/10 | Adeline Klam | 224 pages | 50 projects | Not stated | December 6, 2022 | View on Amazon |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed age or level where one is given. Two of the five picks state a reading age or grade level, and the others state none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Origami Extravaganza by Tuttle | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 9 |
| Beginners Kit by LaFosse | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 7 |
| Origami Book by Larousse | 9.5 | 29 | 22 | 20 | 0 |
| Easy Origami by Montroll | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 0 |
| Simple Origami by Klam | 9.4 | 24 | 20 | 19 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best origami book with paper included
Paper in the box
Paper included is the point of this list, so check the sheet count first. The Origami Extravaganza kit gives 162 sheets of origami paper with 38 projects, the Beginners Kit gives 62 sheets with 19 projects, and the Larousse book gives over 90 pages of craft paper in the back with 20 projects. The Easy Origami and Simple Origami listings state no paper included.
Beginner or advanced
Level decides whether the projects frustrate or delight. The Beginners Kit and the Easy Origami book are for beginners, with step-by-step instructions, while the Extravaganza kit suits both beginners and advanced folders. The Simple Origami book orders its 50 projects from the simplest to the most complex, with a difficulty rating for each. See best lego book with minifigure for another kit-with-extras list, and best watercolor workbook with paints for a workbook with supplies.
Book or kit
Format matters for storage and gifting. The Extravaganza and Beginners Kit listings are book-and-kit editions with paper in the box, while the other three listings are books, with paper stated only for the Larousse book.
Before you buy
- Check the edition and publication date on the listing, since the Extravaganza kit is a book-and-kit edition from October 1, 2000 and the Beginners Kit is from December 2, 2014.
- Check whether paper is stated as included, since the Easy Origami and Simple Origami listings state no paper included.
- Check the stated age or level against the folder, since the Extravaganza kit gives a reading age of 7+ years, marked as from customers.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Origami Extravaganza kit gives 162 sheets, more than the Larousse book at over 90 pages of paper and the Beginners Kit at 62 sheets.
The Beginners Kit is for origami beginners, and the Easy Origami book gives 32 simple projects for the beginner hobbyist.
No. The Extravaganza kit, the Beginners Kit and the Larousse book state paper included, while the Easy Origami and Simple Origami listings state no paper included.
Related lists
No. The Extravaganza kit, the Beginners Kit and the Larousse book state paper included, while the Easy Origami and Simple Origami listings state no paper included.
Related lists
See every nonfiction books list.
More lists: lego book with minifigure, watercolor workbook with paints and workbook with stickers.