Best Novels for Kids in English (2026): 5 Picks Compared
Five novels for kids compared by listed reading age, grade level, page count and series, from a graphic novel to a classic retold for young readers.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
A parent or teacher looking for the best novels for kids in english usually knows the reader’s age but not the reading level. This list compares the reading age, grade level, page count and series position each listing publishes, and says who should skip each book.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall One Crazy Summer by Williams-Garcia: Historical fiction about three sisters, Book 1 of 3, grades 3 to 7 Check price on Amazon
Best Graphic Novel New Kid by Craft: Graphic novel about starting a new school, 256 pages, grades 3 to 7 Check price on Amazon
Best Series Starter First Cat in Space by Barnett: Graphic novel series, Book 1 of 4, 320 pages, grades 3 to 7 Check price on Amazon
Best Classic Retelling Alice in Wonderland by Wonder House: Abridged Carroll classic with illustrations and chapter review questions Check price on Amazon
Best Holiday Read Magic in the Mountains by Milburn: Christmas read-aloud, Book 1 of 4, reading age 7 to 10 from customers Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | One Crazy Summer by Williams-Garcia | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 2 | New Kid by Craft | 9.6/10 | Buy |
| 3 | First Cat in Space by Barnett | 9.6/10 | Buy |
| 4 | Alice in Wonderland by Wonder House | 9.5/10 | Buy |
| 5 | Magic in the Mountains by Milburn | 9.4/10 | Buy |

One Crazy Summer by Williams-Garcia
Suits a reader who likes historical fiction about sisters; skip it if the reader wants a fantasy series.
Pros
- Grade level 3 to 7 and a reading age of 9 to 11 years, marked as from customers
- Set in Oakland in 1968, with three sisters at the center, per the description
- The listing states it won the Scott O'Dell Award and the Coretta Scott King Award
Cons
- Book 1 of 3, so the story continues in later books
- The description mentions a mother who left the sisters years earlier and a Black Panthers day camp, themes to preview
- The reading age is marked as from customers, not stated by the publisher

New Kid by Craft
Suits a reader who enjoys graphic novels about school and friendship; skip it if the reader wants text-only fiction.
Pros
- Graphic novel format with 256 pages suits readers who prefer comics-style pages
- School setting about fitting in, with friendship at the center, per the description
- The listing states it won the Newbery Medal and the Coretta Scott King Author Award
Cons
- The reading age is marked as from customers, and grade level 3 to 7 is a wide band
- The description centers on race and class differences at school, a topic families may want to discuss
- No series position is stated, though the description mentions a companion title

First Cat in Space by Barnett
Suits a reader who likes funny, action-packed graphic novels in a series; skip it if the reader wants text-only fiction.
Pros
- Book 1 of 4 gives a clear starting point for a series
- 320 pages in graphic novel form make a sizable read for a series fan
- The publisher's copy calls it fun and action-packed, a marketing claim
Cons
- The title says ages 8 to 12, but the reading age is 7 to 10, so check the fit
- The reading age is marked as from customers, not stated by the publisher
- Listed as a reprint, so confirm the publication date before buying

Alice in Wonderland by Wonder House
Suits a reader who wants a shortened, illustrated classic with review questions; skip it if the reader wants Carroll's full text.
Pros
- Includes chapter-wise review questions and a glossary of difficult words, per the description
- Simple language and illustrations, the description says, make the classic easier to read
- The description says the hardbound format suits repeated reading and library shelves
Cons
- Abridged, so it is a shortened retelling of Lewis Carroll's story
- The listing does not state whether an answer key is included or sold separately
- Reading age 8 to 12, but the description says ages 7 to 12, so the listing gives two age ranges

Magic in the Mountains by Milburn
Suits a family reading aloud over the holidays or a series fan; skip it if the reader wants a story for any season.
Pros
- Book 1 of 4, and the description says more journeys follow for readers who want to continue
- The description presents it as a Christmas read-aloud for the whole family
- 176 pages, and the description calls it a complete holiday adventure
Cons
- Grade level is not stated, so the customer-marked reading age is the only level listed
- The Christmas setting makes it most natural for the holiday season
- The description mentions a character taken prisoner and dark forces, so families may want to preview the tension
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Pages | Reading age or grade | Series | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| One Crazy Summer by Williams-Garcia | 9.7/10 | 240 | 9 to 11 years, from customers; grade 3 to 7 | Book 1 of 3 | Check price |
| New Kid by Craft | 9.6/10 | 256 | 9 to 12 years, from customers; grade 3 to 7 | Not stated | Check price |
| First Cat in Space by Barnett | 9.6/10 | 320 | 7 to 10 years, from customers; grade 3 to 7 | Book 1 of 4 | Check price |
| Alice in Wonderland by Wonder House | 9.5/10 | 192 | 8 to 12 years; grade 3 to 7 | Not stated | Check price |
| Magic in the Mountains by Milburn | 9.4/10 | 176 | 7 to 10 years, from customers; grade not stated | Book 1 of 4 | Check price |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 17 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level. Most picks list both a reading age and a grade level, and Magic in the Mountains lists only a reading age. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| One Crazy Summer by Williams-Garcia | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 9 |
| New Kid by Craft | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 9 |
| First Cat in Space by Barnett | 9.6 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 9 |
| Alice in Wonderland by Wonder House | 9.5 | 27 | 18 | 18 | 9 |
| Magic in the Mountains by Milburn | 9.4 | 23 | 16 | 18 | 7 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best novels for kids in english
Start with the reading level
Check grade level and reading age together on each listing. Page count matters too: One Crazy Summer runs 240 pages and New Kid runs 256, so compare length with how much the reader is ready to finish.
Choose a series starter or a standalone
The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza and One Crazy Summer are listed as Book 1, so the story continues in later books. For a reader who prefers fantasy, see our fantasy books list.
Check the age before you buy
Amazon marks most reading ages as from customers, so treat them as a guide rather than a publisher recommendation. For a reader still building stamina, the picture books list has shorter reads.
Before you buy
- Confirm the edition: One Crazy Summer and The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza are both listed as reprints.
- Buy Book 1 first when the listing shows Book 1 of a series.
- Check the answer key: the Alice listing does not state whether one is included or sold separately.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where should a reader start a series?
Start with Book 1. The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza is listed as Book 1 of 4, and One Crazy Summer as Book 1 of 3.
What age does One Crazy Summer suit?
The listing gives a reading age of 9 to 11 years, marked as from customers, and grade level 3 to 7.
Does the Alice book include an answer key?
The listing does not state whether an answer key is included or sold separately. It does include chapter-wise review questions.
Related lists
See every middle grade list and all kids and teens lists.
More lists: mystery novels, graphic novels, novels for 5th graders and novels for middle schoolers.