Best Middle Grade Dragon Books (2026): 5 Picks for Kids
Five middle grade dragon books compared by stated reading age, grade level and page count, from eight-book sets to single-volume epics.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
If your reader cannot get enough of the best middle grade dragon books, this list gathers five picks compared through each listing’s title, author, reading age, grade level, print length and description. From eight-book training sets to single-volume epics, most picks put dragons at the center, and we flag the one fairy-tale set that does not, so you can match the book to the reader.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Dragon Masters Set by Scholastic: Eight dragon books in one set, all about training dragons. Check price on Amazon
Best Box Set Land of Stories Set by Colfer: Six-book fairy-tale set, 2896 pages, grade 3 to 7. Check price on Amazon
Best New Series Flameborn by Urvi: Dragon epic, Book 1 of 10, published May 2024. Check price on Amazon
Best for Young Readers Roar of the Thunder Dragon by West: Early chapter dragon book, 96 pages, grade 1 to 3. Check price on Amazon
Best Short Read Flight of the Moon Dragon by West: Early chapter dragon book, 96 pages, grade 2 to 3. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dragon Masters Set by Scholastic | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Land of Stories Set by Colfer | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Flameborn by Urvi | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Roar of the Thunder Dragon by West | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Flight of the Moon Dragon by West | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Dragon Masters Set by Scholastic
Eight books about kids training dragons, Books 1 to 8; for series readers who want a long run.
Pros
- All eight books center on dragons, the strongest topic match here.
- The description lists each book's dragon quest, from the Earth Dragon to the Thunder Dragon.
- One purchase covers Books 1 to 8, with no need to hunt volumes separately.
Cons
- The listing states no reading age, grade level or page count.
- Books 6 and 8 of this set also appear as separate picks on this list.
- Eight books is a big commitment for a reader who only wants to try the series.

Land of Stories Set by Colfer
A six-book fairy-tale gift set; for fantasy fans, though its description names no dragons.
Pros
- The listing states 2896 pages across six books, the most reading here.
- Listing gives grade level 3 to 7 and reading age 8+ years, marked as from customers.
- The gift edition collects the complete series in one paperback set.
Cons
- The description names fairy-tale characters but no dragons, a weak fit for this list.
- At 2896 pages it is a heavy commitment for a younger reader.
- The October 16, 2018 publication date is the oldest stated here.

Flameborn by Urvi
Book 1 of 10 about a girl with dragon blood hiding among tyrannical dragons; for epic fantasy fans.
Pros
- Dragons rule the world of the story, a direct fit for the keyword.
- The listing names it Book 1 of 10, so series fans know the saga continues.
- The May 30, 2024 publication date is the newest stated here.
Cons
- The listing states no page count, so the length of the read is unclear.
- The reading age of 10 to 17 years runs past the middle grade band.
- As Book 1 of an ongoing 10-book series, the story is not complete.

Roar of the Thunder Dragon by West
Book 8 of 33 about rescuing a kidnapped baby Lightning Dragon; for young chapter book readers.
Pros
- The listing states 96 pages with illustrations on every page, per the Branches line.
- Listing gives grade level 1 to 3 and reading age 6 to 8 years, marked as from customers.
- Book 8 of 33 gives series fans a later adventure with familiar characters.
Cons
- Grade level 1 to 3 sits below the middle grade band; check fit for older readers.
- As Book 8 of 33, new readers may want to start with Book 1.
- This book also appears inside the eight-book Dragon Masters set on this list.

Flight of the Moon Dragon by West
Book 6 of 33 about saving the prime Dragon Stone; for young chapter book readers.
Pros
- The listing states 96 pages with illustrations on every page, per the Branches line.
- Listing gives grade level 2 to 3 and reading age 6 to 8 years, marked as from customers.
- The puzzle-driven plot suits readers who like mysteries with their dragons.
Cons
- Grade level 2 to 3 sits below the middle grade band; check fit for older readers.
- As Book 6 of 33, new readers may want to start with Book 1.
- This book also appears inside the eight-book Dragon Masters set on this list.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Song of the Poison Dragon by WestA Branches dragon book, Book 5 of 33, at a stated 96 pages.Check on Amazon
The Void Dragons by ReintgenA 464-page space fantasy with dragons, listed for grade 5 to 6.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Reading age or grade | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dragon Masters Set by Scholastic | 9.6/10 | Scholastic Inc. | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Land of Stories Set by Colfer | 9.5/10 | Chris Colfer | 2896 | 8+ (from customers) / grade 3 to 7 | View on Amazon |
| Flameborn by Urvi | 9.5/10 | Pedro Urvi | Not stated | 10 to 17 | View on Amazon |
| Roar of the Thunder Dragon by West | 9.5/10 | Tracey West | 96 | 6 to 8 (from customers) / grade 1 to 3 | View on Amazon |
| Flight of the Moon Dragon by West | 9.5/10 | Tracey West | 96 | 6 to 8 (from customers) / grade 2 to 3 | View on Amazon |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level. Three of the five listings state a reading age and three state a grade level; the eight-book Dragon Masters set states neither. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dragon Masters Set by Scholastic | 9.6 | 33 | 19 | 22 | 0 |
| Land of Stories Set by Colfer | 9.5 | 14 | 21 | 22 | 9 |
| Flameborn by Urvi | 9.5 | 32 | 16 | 15 | 5 |
| Roar of the Thunder Dragon by West | 9.5 | 30 | 19 | 16 | 4 |
| Flight of the Moon Dragon by West | 9.5 | 30 | 18 | 16 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best middle grade dragon books
Match the reading level to the reader
The two Tracey West books list grade levels 1 to 3 and 2 to 3 with a reading age of 6 to 8 years, marked as from customers, which suits newly independent readers. The Land of Stories set lists grade 3 to 7 with a reading age of 8+ years, while Flameborn lists a reading age of 10 to 17 years. For more level-matched choices, browse all middle grade books and the fantasy books for middle grade list.
Set or single volume
The Dragon Masters set collects Books 1 to 8 and the Land of Stories set collects six books, so both suit a reader who wants a long series. Flameborn is Book 1 of 10, and the two Tracey West books are Books 6 and 8 of 33, so series fans should check which book comes first.
Before you buy
- Check the series position: the Tracey West books are Books 6 and 8 of 33, and both also appear inside the eight-book set.
- Match the level: the Dragon Masters books list grades 1 to 3 and 2 to 3, below the middle grade band.
- Note the odd one out: the Land of Stories set is fairy-tale fantasy with no dragons named in its description.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which dragon book is best for a new reader?
Flight of the Moon Dragon or Roar of the Thunder Dragon: both list 96 pages with a reading age of 6 to 8 years, marked as from customers, in the Branches early chapter line.
Are these books part of a series?
All five connect to a series: the Dragon Masters set holds Books 1 to 8, Flameborn is Book 1 of 10, the two West books are Books 6 and 8 of 33, and the Land of Stories set collects all six books of its series.
Which pick has the most reading?
The Land of Stories set, at a stated 2896 pages across six books. The Dragon Masters set holds eight books, but its listing states no page count.
Related lists
See every middle grade list and all kids and teens lists.
More lists: dragon books for 12 year olds, YA fantasy books with dragons and books for reluctant readers.