Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Thrillers and Mystery

Best Horror Books Series (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five horror book series compared by format, length, series position and reading age, from a middle-grade box set to classic Stephen King novels.

Best Horror Books Series (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

The best horror books series come in many shapes: single-volume complete sets, multi-book box sets and openers that start a longer run. We compared five horror series, plus five more options, by format, page count, series position and reading age, so you can pick the shape that fits your shelf.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Fazbear Frights by Cawthon
    Best Overall Fazbear Frights by Cawthon: Four FNAF story collections in one box, 1984 pages Check price on Amazon
  • Three Novels Box Set by King
    Best Classic Set Three Novels Box Set by King: Carrie, ‘Salem’s Lot and The Shining in one box Check price on Amazon
  • Butterfly Garden by Hutchison
    Best Series Starter Butterfly Garden by Hutchison: Book 1 of 4 thriller series, 286 pages Check price on Amazon
  • Moves the Dead by Kingfisher
    Best Gothic Read Moves the Dead by Kingfisher: Poe Usher reimagining, Book 1 of 3, 176 pages Check price on Amazon
  • The Mindf*ck Series by Abby
    Longest Read The Mindf*ck Series by Abby: Entire revenge series in one 638-page volume Check price on Amazon

The picks

Fazbear Frights by Cawthon

Fazbear Frights by Cawthon

Scott Cawthon9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Four Five Nights at Freddy's short-story collections in one 1,984-page box set, aimed at middle-grade and teen horror fans, with a listed reading age of 9+ years.

Pros

  • Four complete story collections in one box, 1,984 pages total
  • Reading age of 9+ years and grade level 7 and up stated on the listing
  • Original tales from the Five Nights at Freddy's creator, per the description

Cons

  • Reading age of 9+ sits below grade level 7 and up, so match the book to the reader
  • Reading age is marked as from customers, not stated by the publisher
  • Dark horror content across all four collections: preview for a younger reader
Three Novels Box Set by King

Three Novels Box Set by King

Stephen King9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Three early Stephen King horror novels, Carrie, 'Salem's Lot and The Shining, in one box set from Vintage, for readers who want the classics in one purchase.

Pros

  • Three full novels in one box set
  • 2019 Vintage box set edition, clearly stated
  • Three different horror setups: a tormented teen, an evil town and a sinister hotel

Cons

  • No page count is stated for the set
  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • The descriptions state violent scenes, so check before gifting to a young reader
Butterfly Garden by Hutchison

Butterfly Garden by Hutchison

Dot Hutchison9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Book 1 of a 4-book thriller series about a survivor's account of a kidnapper's garden, 286 pages, aimed at adult thriller readers.

Pros

  • Book 1 of 4, so it starts the series at the beginning
  • 286-page single volume from a 2016 Thomas and Mercer edition
  • The premise suits readers who like FBI-procedural thrillers

Cons

  • The description states kidnapping and brutal violence: for adult readers only
  • No reading age or grade level is stated on the listing
  • Only the first of four books: readers who finish it will want the next three
Moves the Dead by Kingfisher

Moves the Dead by Kingfisher

T Kingfisher9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 176-page reimagining of Poe's The Fall of the House of Usher with fungal horror and a haunted lake, Book 1 of the 3-book Sworn Soldier series.

Pros

  • Book 1 of 3, so it opens the Sworn Soldier series at the start
  • 176 pages, the shortest read here: a one-sitting gothic story
  • 2023 reprint edition from Tor Trade, the newest edition in the group

Cons

  • At 176 pages it is much shorter than the other picks
  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • The description names nightmares, possessed wildlife and strange voices: a dark read
The Mindf*ck Series by Abby

The Mindf*ck Series by Abby

S.T. Abby9.3/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

The entire revenge series collected in one 638-page volume, aimed strictly at adult readers of dark thrillers.

Pros

  • The entire series in one 638-page volume
  • 638 pages, the second-longest page count here
  • A 2019 paperback edition, clearly stated

Cons

  • The description states graphic content, adult language and sexual content: adults only
  • The description warns some triggers could disturb sensitive readers
  • A dark romance-thriller more than a straight horror series, so it fits the list loosely

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Flowers in the Attic Saga by AndrewsFlowers in the Attic Saga by AndrewsFive-book boxed set; reading age 14 and upCheck on Amazon
  • Word Cloud Horror CollectionWord Cloud Horror CollectionSix classic horror volumes in one set, reading age 18 and upCheck on Amazon
  • Frankenstein Series by KoontzFrankenstein Series by KoontzComplete five-book Frankenstein series setCheck on Amazon
  • Raised by CaummisarRaised by CaummisarTen-book extreme horror collection, 758 pagesCheck on Amazon
  • Ghosts of the Silent HillsGhosts of the Silent HillsTrue-haunting ghost stories; reading age 12 to 14Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or grade Series Amazon
Fazbear Frights by Cawthon 9.7/10 Scott Cawthon 1984 9+ / grade 7 and up 4 collections in 1 box Check price
Three Novels Box Set by King 9.5/10 Stephen King Not stated Not stated 3 novels in 1 box set Check price
Butterfly Garden by Hutchison 9.4/10 Dot Hutchison 286 Not stated Book 1 of 4 Check price
Moves the Dead by Kingfisher 9.4/10 T Kingfisher 176 Not stated Book 1 of 3 Check price
The Mindf*ck Series by Abby 9.3/10 S.T. Abby 638 Not stated Complete series in 1 book Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 18 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Only one of the five picks states a reading age and grade level; the rest state none, so that part of their score is zero. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Fazbear Frights by Cawthon 9.7 30 21 21 5
Three Novels Box Set by King 9.5 29 19 20 0
Butterfly Garden by Hutchison 9.4 27 19 18 0
Moves the Dead by Kingfisher 9.4 28 18 16 0
The Mindf*ck Series by Abby 9.3 21 19 19 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best horror books series

Box set or single volumes

Two picks arrive as box sets: the Fazbear Frights four-book box (1,984 pages) and the Stephen King three-novel box set. Box sets keep the whole run together in one listing. Single volumes like The Butterfly Garden let you try Book 1 before committing to the series.

Check the reading age first

Only the Fazbear Frights listing states a reading age (9+ years, from customers) and grade level (7 and up), and the two numbers do not fully agree. The Mindf*ck Series and The Butterfly Garden state mature content with no age guidance. For younger horror fans, see our best horror books for kids.

Start at Book 1

The Butterfly Garden and What Moves the Dead both open their series at Book 1, which is where a new reader should start. The Mindf*ck Series collects the whole run in one volume. For shorter standalone scares, see our best horror books with a twist.

Before you buy

  • Check the format: two picks are multi-book box sets and one collects a whole series in a single volume.
  • Only one listing states a reading age; read the description for mature themes before buying.
  • Confirm the series position: start with Book 1 unless the pick collects the whole series.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which series here is complete in one purchase?

The Mindf*ck Series collects the entire run in one 638-page volume, and the Fazbear Frights box set holds the first four collections. The Butterfly Garden and What Moves the Dead are openers with later books sold separately.

Which pick suits a younger reader?

The Fazbear Frights box set: the listing gives a reading age of 9+ years, marked as from customers, and grade level 7 and up. The other four listings state no reading age.

Which pick is the shortest read?

What Moves the Dead at 176 pages, a single-sitting gothic story. The longest is the Fazbear Frights box set at 1,984 pages.

Fazbear Frights by Cawthon
Still deciding? Our top pickFazbear Frights by Cawthon
Check price on Amazon

See every Thriller and Mystery list and all Fiction lists.

More lists: horror books for Halloween, mystery horror novels, horror books with a twist.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Horror Books Since 2000?

    Five horror-adjacent books published since 2000 compared by pages, series and scope, from ghost stories to haunted adventures and war histories.

  2. What is the best Horror Books Short?

    Five short horror books compared by length, story count, edition and awards. From a 108-page novella to a story collection.

  3. What are the best Horror Books Under 250 Pages?

    Four horror novels compared by stated page count, premise, reading age and publication date, for readers who want a short scare.

  4. What are the best Horror Novels Under 200 Pages?

    Five horror novels compared by page count, premise and publication date, from 220-page folk horror to longer classics for a weekend of scares.