Best Horror Books about Cults (2026): 5 Scary Picks
Five horror books about cults compared by what each listing states: page count, publication date and description, from folk horror to extreme gore.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
If you are hunting for the best horror books about cults, this list gathers five picks compared through each listing’s title, author, publication date, print length and description. Every pick centers on a cult or cult-like following, from folk horror to extreme gore.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall It’s Not a Cult by Batey: Folk horror cult story, 320 pages, published October 2025. Check price on Amazon
Most Extreme Cult by Ericmore: A 99-page novella about a brutal cult, with a plain trigger warning. Check price on Amazon
Best Slow Burn The Window by Gloom: A cult mystery built on grief, loss and mounting dread. Check price on Amazon
Bloodiest Pick Death Cult by Schiecke: A desert road trip into a cannibal cult’s ghost town. Check price on Amazon
Also Consider Seed by Ahlborn: Title-only listing kept for readers browsing the author. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Seed | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | It's Not a Cult by Batey | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Cult by Ericmore | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | The Window by Gloom | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Death Cult by Schiecke | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 250 pages stated
- Ages 16 and up stated
- Southern gothic stated
Cons
- 2012 edition
- Demon themes
- Short, 250 pages

It's Not a Cult by Batey
A band's invented gods draw a real, dangerous following; for folk horror fans.
Pros
- The cult premise grows from a band's fictional gods gaining real followers.
- Listing states 320 pages from Raven Books, published October 23, 2025.
- Music scene energy and mounting dread suit eerie-over-explicit readers.
Cons
- Description names a violent gig incident some readers will want to know.
- Cult starts as a fan following; secret-society seekers may look elsewhere.
- No reading age or grade level is stated, so fit for a younger reader is hard to judge.
Pros
- A cult run by an octogenarian matriarch: the most direct premise here.
- Listing states 99 pages, a short commitment for a quick scare.
- Publication date of August 26, 2020 stated; edition is easy to identify.
Cons
- Description issues a trigger warning for just about everything.
- At 99 pages the briefest read here; some readers will want more.
- No reading age or grade level stated; younger-reader fit is hard to judge.
Pros
- Description names the Family cult as the mystery's engine, fitting the keyword.
- Publication date of October 29, 2020 stated; edition is easy to confirm.
- Slow burn pacing suits readers who like suspense building to a frightening close.
Cons
- Premise runs through addiction, grief and blood; some readers will want to know.
- Listing states no page count; the length of the read is unclear.
- No reading age or grade level stated; younger-reader fit is hard to judge.
Pros
- A cannibal death cult sits at the plot's center, matching the keyword directly.
- Publication date of July 9, 2024 stated, the most recent dated pick.
- The Death Cult Series tag means fans can seek more books under the series name.
Cons
- Description warns of graphic gore and violence; for bloody horror readers only.
- Listing states no page count; the length of the read is unclear.
- No reading age or grade level stated; younger-reader fit is hard to judge.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
A Family of Killers by MooreHorror at a family-run inn; listing reading age is 14 to 18 years.Check on Amazon
Cults of Death and Madness by HaasA Lovecraftian trilogy opener about blood-sacrifice cults.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| It’s Not a Cult by Batey | 9.6/10 | Joey Batey | 320 | October 23, 2025 | |
| Cult by Ericmore | 9.5/10 | Ash Ericmore | 99 | August 26, 2020 | View on Amazon |
| The Window by Gloom | 9.5/10 | Thomas Gloom | Not stated | October 29, 2020 | View on Amazon |
| Death Cult by Schiecke | 9.5/10 | Janelle Schiecke | Not stated | July 9, 2024 | View on Amazon |
| Seed by Ahlborn | 9.7/10 | Ania Ahlborn | Not stated | Not stated |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level. None of the five listings states a reading age or grade level, so that part scores zero throughout. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| It’s Not a Cult by Batey | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 19 | n/a |
| Cult by Ericmore | 9.5 | 32 | 18 | 15 | n/a |
| The Window by Gloom | 9.5 | 30 | 15 | 16 | n/a |
| Death Cult by Schiecke | 9.5 | 30 | 15 | 15 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best horror books about cults
Match the scare level to the reader
The five books land on different points of the horror spectrum. Cult by Ash Ericmore carries a trigger warning for just about everything, while It’s Not a Cult by Joey Batey leans on folk horror dread around a band. Browse all thriller and mystery books and the ghost horror books list to compare moods.
Check the length the listing states
Print length runs from 99 pages on Cult by Ash Ericmore to 320 pages on It’s Not a Cult by Joey Batey; two listings state no page count. A quick scare suits a shorter evening, while the longer novel asks for more nights. the longer novel asks for more nights.
Before you buy
- Confirm the edition: dated listings here run from August 26, 2020 to October 23, 2025.
- Check the series: Death Cult carries a series name, so confirm which book comes first.
- Read the description for themes: these cult premises touch on violence, grief and graphic gore.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which cult horror book should I start with?
It’s Not a Cult by Joey Batey, whose listing states 320 pages from Raven Books. For a shorter start, Cult by Ash Ericmore states 99 pages, with a trigger warning.
Are these books appropriate for teens?
No listing states a reading age or grade level, so read each description first. Cult and Death Cult describe graphic violence, and one related listing gives a reading age of 14 to 18 years.
Which pick is the briefest read?
Cult by Ash Ericmore, at a stated 99 pages.
Related lists
See every thrillers and mystery list and all fiction lists.
More lists: witch horror books, memoirs about cults, quick horror books and horror with romance.



