Best Finance Book for Retirees (2026): 5 Compared
Five books compared by length, style and focus, from a full guide to a 100-page plain-English primer for older readers today.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Finding the best finance book for retirees depends on the reader: some want a full guide, and others want a short primer. We compared five books by length, publisher, edition and focus, using only what each listing publishes.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission on purchases made through links on this page. It does not change what we recommend or how we score. See our Affiliate Disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Retirement Guide for 50+: 336 pages, updated for 2025, by Suze Orman. Check price on Amazon
Best Lessons How to Retire: 20 lessons on money and life by Christine Benz. Check price on Amazon
Best Income Retirement Money Secrets: 262 pages on income independence by Selengut. Check price on Amazon
Best Short Can I Retire?: 123 pages in plain English by Mike Piper. Check price on Amazon
Best Habits 9 Habits of Happy Retirees: 134 pages on habits by Sarah Barry. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Retirement Guide for 50+ | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | How to Retire | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Retirement Money Secrets | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Can I Retire? | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | 9 Habits of Happy Retirees | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- Revised and updated for 2025
- 336 pages, a full guide
- Hay House publisher
Cons
- Long read at 336 pages
- US rules focus
- Not a short primer
Pros
- 20 lessons from thought leaders
- Money and quality of life
- Reading age 18+ stated
Cons
- Long read at 336 pages
- 2024 edition, not 2025
- Not a short primer
Pros
- Income focus, not market value
- 262 pages, a solid read
- Award winner stated
Cons
- Income focus only
- 2023 edition, older
- No reading age stated
Pros
- 123 pages, the shortest here
- Plain English, no jargon
- Covers Social Security and taxes
Cons
- Brief, not a deep read
- 2023 edition, older
- No reading age stated
Pros
- Habits focus, not just money
- 134 pages, a quick read
- 2024 edition
Cons
- Not a finance guide
- Brief on numbers
- No reading age stated
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Retirement Planning GuidebookA 389 page guide by Wade Pfau.Check on Amazon
Income for LifeA 170 page guide to creating income.Check on Amazon
The Forever PaycheckA 384 page strategy by Jean Chatzky.Check on Amazon
Financial Planning Made EasyA 132 page plain-English guide.Check on Amazon
The Retirement FormulaA 222 page guide by John Goldstein.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Reading age | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retirement Guide for 50+ | 9.7/10 | Suze Orman | 336 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| How to Retire | 9.7/10 | Christine Benz | 336 | 18 years and up | View on Amazon |
| Retirement Money Secrets | 9.7/10 | Steve Selengut | 262 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Can I Retire? | 9.6/10 | Mike Piper | 123 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| 9 Habits of Happy Retirees | 9.6/10 | Sarah Barry | 134 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Listing details are manufacturer stated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs story, craft, value, safety and warranty. None of these listings states a safety certification or a warranty term, so those scores are 0.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retirement Guide for 50+ | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | n/a |
| How to Retire | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 21 | n/a |
| Retirement Money Secrets | 9.7 | 29 | 20 | 21 | n/a |
| Can I Retire? | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | n/a |
| 9 Habits of Happy Retirees | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best finance book for retirees
Full guide vs short primer
The Orman and Benz books are 336 page full guides. The Selengut is 262 pages on income. The Barry is 134 pages on habits. The Piper is 123 pages in plain English.
Money vs life
The Orman, Selengut and Piper focus on money: Social Security, taxes and income. The Benz covers money and quality of life with 20 lessons. The Barry focuses on habits for a fulfilling retirement.
Freshness
The Orman book is revised and updated for 2025; the Benz is a 2024 edition; the Barry is a 2024 edition; the Selengut and Piper are 2023 editions.
Before you buy
- Match the book to the reader: full guide, income focus or habits.
- Check the edition: 2025 and 2024 editions are the freshest here.
- Short primers suit readers who want plain English.
- We have not read these books: picks come from listing facts.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is the longest?
The Orman and Benz list 336 pages; the Selengut lists 262 pages.
Which is the shortest?
The Piper lists 123 pages; the Barry lists 134 pages.
Which focuses on income?
The Selengut focuses on creating income from investments.
Which is the freshest?
The Orman is revised and updated for 2025.
Related lists
See every business books list and all nonfiction lists.
More picks: business books and personal finance for retirees.




