Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Fantasy and Romantasy

Best Fantasy Series That Are Finished (2026): 5 Compared

Five finished fantasy series compared by completion status, series length, page count and edition, for readers who want the whole arc.

Best Fantasy Series That Are Finished (2026): 5 Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

The best fantasy series that are finished let you start book one knowing the ending already exists. We compared five finished fantasy series by completion status, series length, page count and edition, using only what each listing publishes.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Defenders of Myth by Gisman

Defenders of Myth by Gisman

Michael Gisman9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Book 1 of a completed four-book epic fantasy series, 325 pages, published July 19, 2021.

Pros

  • Completed four-book series stated
  • 325 pages
  • Book 1 of 4 clearly labeled

Cons

  • No reading age stated
  • 2021 publication
  • First book only; the rest sold separately
Gardens of the Moon by Erikson

Gardens of the Moon by Erikson

Steven Erikson9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Book 1 of 10 in the Malazan Book of the Fallen, first edition published June 1, 2004 by Tor.

Pros

  • Book 1 of 10 in a complete epic series
  • First edition from Tor
  • Panoramic-scale epic fantasy per the listing

Cons

  • No reading age stated
  • 2004 publication
  • No page count stated
Chronicles of Dragon

Chronicles of Dragon

Craig Halloran9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Books 1 through 5 of a complete 20-book dragon fantasy series, published January 24, 2016.

Pros

  • Books 1-5 in one edition of a complete 20-book series
  • 2016 publication
  • Sword and sorcery adventure per the listing

Cons

  • No reading age stated
  • Author sales claims in the description cannot be checked from specs
  • Long series commitment
Rise of Legends by Edmundson

Rise of Legends by Edmundson

Jamie Edmundson9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A collection of six epic fantasy novels by three authors, published February 12, 2024.

Pros

  • Six novels in one collection
  • Three authors, six realms per the listing
  • 2024 publication, the newest here

Cons

  • No reading age stated
  • No page count stated
  • Collection, not a single series arc
The Book That Wouldn't Burn by Lawrence

The Book That Wouldn't Burn by Lawrence

Mark Lawrence9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

For readers who like library fantasy with mysteries across worlds.

Pros

  • Library setting, distinctive premise
  • Book 1 of 3, The Library Trilogy
  • 2023 publication

Cons

  • No reading age stated
  • No page count stated
  • Violence (blood, burned cities) in the description

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Series Pages Amazon
Defenders of Myth by Gisman 9.7/10 Michael Gisman Book 1 of 4, complete 325 View on Amazon
Gardens of the Moon by Erikson 9.6/10 Steven Erikson Book 1 of 10 Not stated View on Amazon
Chronicles of Dragon 9.6/10 Craig Halloran Books 1-5 of 20 Not stated View on Amazon
Rise of Legends by Edmundson 9.5/10 Jamie Edmundson and others 6 novels Not stated View on Amazon
Book That Wouldn’t Burn 9.5/10 Mark Lawrence Not stated Not stated

Book details as published on each listing, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, and value. None of the five list a reading age, so fit here means a clearly stated finished series. The completed four-book series leads; the title-only pick ranks last.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Defenders of Myth by Gisman 9.7 32 21 19 n/a
Gardens of the Moon by Erikson 9.6 30 20 19 n/a
Chronicles of Dragon 9.6 29 20 19 n/a
Rise of Legends by Edmundson 9.5 27 19 18 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best fantasy series that are finished

Check that finished means finished

Look for the words the listing actually uses. Defenders of Myth states a completed four-book series, the Chronicles of Dragon edition covers Books 1 through 5 of a complete 20-book series, and Gardens of the Moon is labeled Book 1 of 10. A label like “Book 1 of 4” tells you where you stand. See our best fantasy series with dragons for more creature-led epics.

Count the commitment

A finished series can mean four books or twenty. The Defenders of Myth set asks for four books, the Malazan run asks for ten, and the Chronicles of Dragon spans twenty across its special editions. Pick the length that matches your shelf and your stamina. See our best fantasy series world building for the deep-immersion end of the shelf.

Before you buy

  • Check the series label: Book 1 of 4, Book 1 of 10, Books 1 through 5.
  • Check the page count where stated: only the Gisman pick lists one, at 325 pages.
  • Check the edition: first edition, special edition or collection changes what you hold.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Malazan series finished?

The listing presents Gardens of the Moon as Book 1 of 10 in The Malazan Book of the Fallen.

How many books are in Defenders of Myth?

A completed four-book series; this listing is Book 1 of 4.

What does the Chronicles of Dragon edition include?

Series 1, Books 1 through 5, part of a complete 20-book series.

Defenders of Myth by Gisman
Still deciding? Our top pickDefenders of Myth by Gisman
Check price on Amazon

See every fantasy book list and all fiction lists.

More lists: fantasy series with dragons, fantasy world building, fantasy series to start, fantasy books.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Fantasy Series Shows in Books?

    Five fantasy books with series-show energy compared by series position, page count and premise, from a TV cookbook to urban fantasy.

  2. What is the best Fantasy Series Since 2000?

    Five fantasy series published since 2000 compared by completeness, format and what each listing states, with every figure from the product listings.

  3. What is the best Fantasy Series Similar to ACOTAR?

    Five romantasy and epic series compared by series standing, stated page counts, and what each listing publishes, from complete box sets to fresh Book 1s.

  4. What are the best Fantasy Series to Stream?

    Five fantasy series compared by series standing, stated page counts, and what each listing publishes, from epic quests to romantasy.