Best Fantasy Mini Series: 5 Picks Compared
Five fantasy mini series picks compared by series fit, contents, edition and reading age.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
A rainy weekend with nothing to read is the moment most fantasy fans start hunting for a new series. The best fantasy mini series are the ones you can start and finish without a fifty-book commitment: a tight arc, a complete story, or a short run that does not demand years of your life. We compared five fantasy books and series starters by fit for the reader, contents and edition, value and stated reading age, using only what each listing publishes.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Claim The Fallen 1: Book 1 of 7 LitRPG fantasy series, clean entry point Check price on Amazon
Best Mini Children of the Forest: 32-page mini edition, reading age 2 to 6 years Check price on Amazon
Best YA A Witch in Darkness: Book 2 of 5, 294 pages, urban fantasy academy Check price on Amazon
Best TV Tie-in Supernatural Mini Guide: 304-page mini guide to the Supernatural series Check price on Amazon
Best Art Book The Art and Making of Arcane: 224-page art compendium for Arcane fans Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Claim The Fallen 1 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Children of the Forest | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | A Witch in Darkness | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Supernatural Mini Guide | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | The Art and Making of Arcane | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Claim The Fallen 1
Book 1 of 7 in a LitRPG fantasy series about a second chance and skill-stealing progression.
Pros
- Book 1 of 7, clean entry
- LitRPG progression fantasy
- Published June 2026
Cons
- Book 1 only; series ongoing
- No page count stated
- No reading age stated

Children of the Forest
A 32-page mini edition of Elsa Beskow's classic children's fantasy, for ages 2 to 6.
Pros
- Mini gift edition
- Reading age 2 to 6 stated
- Classic story
Cons
- 32 pages only
- For young children
- No warranty stated
Pros
- Book 2 of 5 series
- 294 pages
- YA urban fantasy
Cons
- Not a series starter
- No reading age stated
- No warranty stated

Supernatural Mini Guide
A 304-page miniature guide to the Supernatural TV series, with photos and season details.
Pros
- 304 pages, full color
- Covers all seasons
- Pocket mini format
Cons
- TV companion, not a novel
- No reading age stated
- Published 2018

The Art and Making of Arcane
A 224-page art compendium behind the Arcane animated series, with concept art and interviews.
Pros
- 224 pages, concept art
- Interviews with creators
- In-world extras
Cons
- Art book, not a novel
- For Arcane fans only
- No reading age stated
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
The Sun Egg: Mini Edition28-page mini edition, reading age 3 to 5 yearsCheck on Amazon
Solstice Day Gifts36-page Emperor's Edge short storyCheck on Amazon
The Story of the Snow Children32-page mini edition, reading age 3 to 6 yearsCheck on Amazon
Forging Worlds50-page mini guide to fantasy worldbuildingCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Fantasy Mini Series | Shelf Score | Format | Pages | Series | Reading Age | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claim The Fallen 1 | 9.6/10 | Kindle edition | Not stated | Book 1 of 7 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Children of the Forest | 9.5/10 | Mini edition | 32 | Standalone | 2 to 6 years | View on Amazon |
| A Witch in Darkness | 9.5/10 | Kindle edition | 294 | Book 2 of 5 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Supernatural Mini Guide | 9.4/10 | Mini book | 304 | Standalone | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| The Art and Making of Arcane | 9.4/10 | Hardcover | 224 | Standalone | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. One of the five lists a reading age.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. Only one pick lists a reading age: Children of the Forest at 2 to 6 years. None list a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claim The Fallen 1 | 9.6 | 33 | 21 | 21 | 0 |
| Children of the Forest | 9.5 | 23 | 20 | 19 | 7 |
| A Witch in Darkness | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 |
| Supernatural Mini Guide | 9.4 | 27 | 19 | 19 | 0 |
| The Art and Making of Arcane | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 18 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best fantasy mini series
Start at book one
For a series, always start at the beginning. Claim The Fallen is Book 1 of 7, making it a clean entry point for the LitRPG fantasy series. A Witch in Darkness is Book 2 of 5 in the Runic Magical Academy series, so it suits readers who already started the series, not newcomers. Check the series numbering in the listing before you buy.
Match the format to the reader
Two picks are mini-format books: Children of the Forest (32 pages, ages 2 to 6) and the Supernatural Mini Guide (304 pages, three-inch format). Mini books suit young readers or collectors; the full-length novels suit teens and adults. The Art and Making of Arcane is a 224-page art book for fans of the animated series, not a narrative to read straight through. See our fantasy books lists for more.
Check the reading age
Only Children of the Forest states a reading age: 2 to 6 years. The other four do not list an age, so use the description and page count as a guide. The LitRPG and YA academy books are written for teen and adult readers; the art book and TV guide are for fans of those series.
Before you buy
- Check the series number: Book 1 starts the story; Book 2 assumes you know it.
- Confirm the format: mini books are small gift editions, not full novels.
- Match the reading age to the reader; only one listing states an age.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where should I start the Claim The Fallen series?
At Book 1. The listing identifies Claim The Fallen 1 as Book 1 of 7 in the series.
What age is Children of the Forest for?
The listing states a reading age of 2 to 6 years. It is a 32-page mini edition.
Is A Witch in Darkness a standalone?
No. The listing identifies it as Book 2 of 5 in the Runic Magical Academy series.
Related lists
See every Fantasy and Romantasy list and all Fiction lists.
More lists: fiction books.
